Author: Lora Leigh

Throwback Thursday Review: Navarro’s Promise by Lora Leigh

Posted February 8, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Navarro’s Promise by Lora LeighReviewer: Tracy
Navarro's Promise by Lora Leigh
Series: Breeds #24
Also in this series: The Magical Christmas Cat, Bengal's Heart
Published by Penguin Group (USA)
Publication Date: April 5th 2011
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 310
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

In the wolf breed novel, NAVARRO’S PROMISE, Mica Toler’s best friend is the wolf/coyote hybrid breed, Cassie Sinclair. And now Mica is being drawn into her world in ways she had prayed she never would be when the charming wolf breed Navarro makes good on the promise he made her on a dark, explosive night.

The Breeds guaranteed that no harm would come to Micah Toler but they never allowed for her sensual fascination with Navarro Blaine. Aloof, cool, and mysterious, he draws her in as no man ever has. But Micah never wanted this. She had her own dreams, her own desires, and being stalked and seduced by a wolf breed wasn’t part of that plan.

Now she knows her life is in danger. What Navarro knows is that she’s his mate and that the breeding and training that created him is being peeled away in his desperation to claim a woman that refuses to be claimed.

He has her body. She craves his touch. And as the breeds converge the past will rise up to haunt Navarro in ways he never expected.

***Every Thursday in 2018 we will be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books.

This review was originally posted on April 18, 2011.

Mica has had a fascination with Navarro since she was 16 but she has tried to stay away from him as much as she could. Now she’s older and can’t seem to keep her eyes off of Navarro but she knows that she doesn’t want to be mated to an uber-possessive Breed. After a shared kiss Mica knows that Navarro isn’t her mate. When her life is in danger and Navarro is her keeper things get heated and they both decide to give in to their sexual tension because they know that they aren’t mated…or are they?

Yep, they are but since Navarro was raised with recessed breed genes his animal is far enough down that he can resist the temptation of the mating heat. But what is his neglect doing to Mica? She admits she’s been in love with the stubborn breed for years but where does that leave her when Navarro can resist the heat as well as the love she wants from him?

Being the 24th book in a series you’d think that the author had shown you all of the ways that the mating heat could be different – but Leigh had me going with this one. I was pretty shocked that Navarro could deny the mating heat symptoms in himself and deny his mate – except in certain circumstances.

The story itself was pretty good although there were quite a few editing issues with the book. Character names that were put in the wrong spots was a big one as well as a confusing issue near the end of the book where it looked like an entire scene was left out.. They were in a hall kissing up against a steel wall and then they’d just finished sex and were in bed – 4 stories about where they were. I think I flipped pages back and forth for a good few minutes trying to figure out what I’d missed. lol

The romance itself was thin in this one, imho. Leigh always writes a good story and great sex scenes but while the main characters were busy trying to deal with the mating heat issues the romance fell by the wayside. It was all wrapped together in Navarro’s emotions – if he let himself love then the mating would commence – but they spent so little time together when they weren’t having sex, and when they weren’t arguing, that it was hard for me to see how they could love each other.

Besides the romance we got to hear a little bit more about other characters that we’d read about in previous books and things that were going on with the evil villains of the story so far. A few other questions were brought to the surface as well and I’m intrigued to see how they’ll flush themselves out.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Bengal’s Heart by Lora Leigh

Posted August 6, 2009 by Book Binge Guest Blogger in Reviews | 10 Comments

Guest Review: Bengal’s Heart by Lora LeighReviewer: Tracy
Bengal's Heart by Lora Leigh
Series: Breeds #20
Also in this series: The Magical Christmas Cat, Navarro's Promise
Published by Berkley, Penguin
Publication Date: August 4, 2009
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Reporter Cassa Hawkins has always supported Breed rights—especially in light of a specimen like Cabal St. Laurents, the epitome of the male animal. But when the Breeds are incriminated in a series of violent murders, it’s left to Cassa and Cabal to discover the truth before they become prey.

It’s been 11 years since Cassa had an unwitting hand in the destruction of a Breed lab that Cabal St. Laurents was held. Cabal was the only survivor and let Cassa know in no uncertain terms that he “owned” her. Now Cassa is receiving pictures and letters via email of the deaths of the group of men who were known to hunt and kill Breeds. Cassa is determined to get the real story here, but she’s also determined to do so in a way that doesn’t make the Breeds get any bad PR – not an easy thing to do.

Cabal is in the small town to find the killer as well, but not for any television story. But Cabal’s not all that excited about seeing Cassa there as he wants her gone. Cabal knows that Cassa is his mate and has since the first moment he saw her, but he’s unwilling to claim her as he doesn’t want her put into any type of danger. Eventually that thinking falls to the wayside and Cabal claims his mate. Now he’s just gotta keep her out of danger.

So Cassa and Cabal are mates. Cabal’s known from day 1 and Cassa, due to a strange action when she first saw Cabal, knows it as well. Cassa wants to be claimed but Cabal but she fears her independence will be taken away from her if she gives in. This led to some interesting interaction between the two.

I can’t say it’s un-typical of the Breed books to have the h/h fighting/arguing one minute and then doing the horizontal mambo the next but it just seemed to be that there was an overload in this book. Cabal and Cassa are both so damned independent and stubborn! But, as in all the books they learn to deal with each other and it was done in such a way that it was believable for me, which is always nice.

The suspense side of the story was good as well and we find out some info about a few unique Breeds and Cabal that were heretofore unmentioned – that made for an interesting read.

I have to say I was a little disappointed when Jonas’s mate was revealed and it was kind of done nonchalantly. I guess I’ve been waiting to find out who was going to be able to handle that man for so long that I was underwhelmed when it was told in such a ho-hum manner. Hopefully Jonas’s book, which is up next, will be better than the reveal.

Rating 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Nauti Intentions by Lora Leigh

Posted April 21, 2009 by Book Binge Guest Blogger in Reviews | 6 Comments

Guest Review: Nauti Intentions by Lora LeighReviewer: Tracy
Nauti Intentions by Lora Leigh
Series: Nauti Boys #4
Published by Berkley, Penguin
Publication Date: April 7, 2009
Genres: Erotica
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

 

All Janey Mackay wants is to put her painful past behind her. It’s time for her to be her own woman, but her big brother, Natches, is still overprotective. And he isn’t the only one…

Since he saw Janey MacKay taking a dip in her bikini, Major Alex Jansen has had to quell the fire she ignites in him. Even touching her would mean death at the hands of the MacKay men. Until now, the girl of his dreams—-and red-hot fantasies-—has lived in a vacuum of affection, shying away from the danger she thinks men represent. Alex sets out to prove her wrong, with lingering–sometimes torturously slow–caresses.

Everyone thinks Janey’s safe now, with her abusers dead. But when someone starts leaving spine chilling notes, Alex won’t rest until she’s completely safe. And completely his-—body and soul…

Janey Mackay is finally able to live free. Her abusive father and psycho aunt are out of the picture and she wants to live. She’s taken over the restaurant that her father tried to run into the ground and she’s determined to make something of it.

Alex Jansen wants Janey. No getting around it. He’s put his desires off for the past 6 years and he’s not taking no for an answer. When a stalker sets their eye on Janey all of his protective instincts kick in.

I thought this was a pretty good book. It has the typical Lora Leigh Alpha Male in it…and we almost get overload with the Alpha’s since all of the Mackay men are overprotective of Natches’ little sister. But despite the overload of testosterone, I thought it was an entertaining read. I didn’t figure out “whodunit” until the end which was good. And of course you always have that Lora Leigh smoking hot sex scenes.

At first I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about the book with Alex being 37 and Janey being 23 years old, but it worked. I truly didn’t feel like there was a huge age gap. I think the trauma of Janey’s childhood made her grow up fast and she was mature for her age.

I read the first two books in this series but for some reason skipped book 3 Nauti Dreams. Even having not read that book I didn’t feel like I was lost when I picked up book 4.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Book CoverBook CoverBook CoverBook Cover

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Anthology – The Magical Christmas Cat

Posted September 29, 2008 by Holly in Reviews | 15 Comments

Review: Anthology – The Magical Christmas CatReviewer: Holly
The Magical Christmas Cat by Lora Leigh, Erin McCarthy, Nalini Singh, Linda Winstead Jones
Series: Breeds #17, Psy/Changeling #3.5, Murphy Sisters #2
Also in this series: Bengal's Heart, Navarro's Promise, Caressed By Ice, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Slave to Sensation (Psy/Changeling #1), Heart of Obsidian, Shield of Winter, Shield of Winter, Visions of Heat, Mine to Possess, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Mine to Possess, Hostage to Pleasure, Hostage to Pleasure, Shards of Hope, Shards of Hope, Heart of Obsidian, Caressed By Ice, Branded by Fire, Blaze of Memory, Play of Passion, Allegiance of Honor, Kiss of Snow, Tangle of Need, Shield of Winter, Shards of Hope, Allegiance of Honor, Allegiance of Honor, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Wild Embrace, Silver Silence, Silver Silence, Tangle of Need
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: 2008
Genres: Fiction, Anthologies (multiple authors)
Pages: 372
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Put a little meow in their stocking this year with these tales of Christmas and felines-from beloved bestselling authors!
New York Times bestselling author Lora Leigh and top-selling authors Nalini Singh, Erin McCarthy, and Linda Winstead Jones have a special gift for readers this year: heartwarming holiday stories featuring passionate romance, paranormal adventure, and a distinctly alluring feline touch. With four new stories-including one featuring Lora Leigh's genetically altered Feline Breeds-this is a collection packed with more surprises than Christmas morning, and more chills than the snowiest winter night...

 

I haven’t really been in the mood for paranormals at all lately, but I love Nalini Singh, and after her guest visit recently I decided I really wanted to read her entry in this anthology. As always, I was very impressed with her novella. But much to my surprise, I was equally impressed with the other three. It isn’t often that all the entires in an anthology work for me, but this is one of the few.

STROKE OF ENTICEMENT by Nalini Singh

I love the Psy/Changeling series. Just absolutely adore it! Singh has created an amazing world that’s easy to fall into. Even though this was a short story, it was still an excellent representation of the series.

When Zach is called to school because his nephew has gotten up to some mischief, he isn’t expecting to meet his mate, but that’s exactly what he finds in the young boy’s teacher, Annie. Annie, a human, has been sheltered by her mother after she suffers an injury in an accident as a child. Now that she’s gained some independence, she isn’t anxious to give that up for anyone, especially a man. But both man and leopard are determined to have her, and neither are willing to give up until they get what they want.

Zach is fun, caring and willing to do whatever it takes to make Annie see that he’s the one for her. Annie is a sweet woman who only wants to live her life on her own terms. She has a slight disability – leftover from a train accident she had in her youth – and struggles to be accepted as a whole woman. I liked that she didn’t let her injury stop her from living, and she also didn’t let her insecurities from it rule her life.

With wonderfully drawn characters and the storyline moves right along, I highly recommend it. Honestly? It made me want a Leopard Changeling of my own.

4.5 out of 5

CHRISTMAS BREE
by Erin McCarthy

This novella is an entry in McCarthy’s Ohio’s Most Haunted Town series, which includes Heiress for Hire, one of my favorite contemps. For those of you who have read Charlotte’s Web, the novella in An Enchanted Season, an anthology that came out last year, you’re already acquainted with the Murphy sisters, who are witches. If you haven’t read Charlotte’s Web, I don’t think it will hurt you to read this story first.

Bree is surprised, and dismayed, when her sister predicts she’s going to meet a man in a pink shirt. She isn’t interested in having a man at all, but especially not one that wears pink. She’s shocked, however, when her sister’s prediction comes true and the pink shirt guy turns out to be none other than Ian Stone, her friend Amanda’s attorney and the man she’s been dreaming about – literally – for almost a year. They’re polar opposites and Ian is nothing like the men she usually dates.

Ian hasn’t been able to stop thinking about Bree since he met her in his office 9 months ago, and the fact that she’s been starring in his most erotic dreams since then isn’t helping things along. When a client of his shows an interest in Bree’s house, Ian figures it’s the perfect excuse to visit Bree and see if she’s everything he remembers. But neither are prepared for the strength of their attraction for one another, or for the deeper feelings they stir in each other.

This was really cute. I liked that though Ian and Bree weren’t looking for a relationship, they both acknowledged their attraction to each other and didn’t pretend like it was there. Bree was kind of prickly in the beginning, but it wasn’t long before she warmed up. Ian seemed kind of stuffy, but it wasn’t long before we saw the passionate man he tried to bury underneath all that starch.

I think the best part about this story is the intimacy of the characters. Little things Ian would do for Bree, or vice verse, that showed they really cared for each other. I did start to get annoyed with Bree toward the end of the novel for her reaction to something Ian says, but McCarthy was able to turn it around for me.

4 out of 5

SWEET DREAMS
by Linda Winstead Jones

I believe this story is connected in some way to an existing series Winstead Jones has written, but her website isn’t very helpful and I’m not positive. This novella had a darker theme than the others. In this case, the magical cat in question was the villain.

Ruby receives a gift from a secret admirer at a neighbor’s holiday party – a beautifully carved jade cat. But once she brings it home, strange things start happening to her. She has vivid nightmares of a large cat stealing her souls, the statue seems to follow her where ever she goes and the walls themselves seem to purr menacingly. Her sexy neighbor Zane also starts spending more time with her, and she finds herself leaning on him more and more the crazier things seem to get. But is Zane everything he appears to be, or is he part of the growing threat against her?

I really liked this story. It was kind of nice to have a break and delve into something a little darker in this novella. Ruby owns a bakery and isn’t interested in having a relationship at all. She’s perfectly content to run her shop and live alone. I liked that. Too often we see heroines who SAY they’re content to be alone, but deep inside they’re really longing for someone.

Zane was an excellent counterpart for Ruby. He has a job to do and his attraction to her is getting in the way of it. He was chivalrous and noble, but his motives were somewhat suspect. It was great how even we as readers weren’t sure which side his loyalties fell on. The story was kind of creepy and dark, but there were moments of levity as well.

4 out of 5

CHRISTMAS HEAT
by Lora Leigh

This novella is part of Leigh’s Breeds series. To be honest, I don’t really care fro the series as a whole. I only read about half of the first book before setting it down. The concept behind it never really appealed to me. So I wasn’t expecting much from this novella. I have to say, I really enjoyed it.

Librarian Haley McQuire overhears a plot against the Breeds at a holiday party and notifies Noble Chavin, a sexy feline she’s been attracted to for sometime. While she waits for the offenders to stand trial so she can testify, Noble keeps a close watch on her. But when her truck is blown up and her feline bodyguard is killed, Noble realizes he’s going to have to take the matter of safety into his own hands. He also can no longer deny that she’s his mate.

This is definitely the hottest of the four stories. The sexual chemistry between Noble and Haley fairly singed the pages. Haley wasn’t a limp dishrag heroine. She had guts and she stood up for what she knew was right. Noble was overprotective and certainly an alpha of the first order, but he still respected Haley and didn’t try to take over her life. There was some humor in the story, especially once all the Breeds descend on Haley to protect her, with some really cute results.

I found myself intrigued enough by the concept behind their mating that I might go back and try the series again from the beginning.

4.5 out of 5

Each story in this collection offers something different and unique. All of them were fun, fresh and sexy. I highly recommend this collection, whether you’re existing fans of the authors or completely new to them.

This book is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Review: Anthology – a Wish, a Kiss, a Dream by Shiloh Walker, Mary Wine and Lora Leigh

Posted May 28, 2008 by Holly in Reviews | 8 Comments

Review: Anthology – a Wish, a Kiss, a Dream by Shiloh Walker, Mary Wine and Lora LeighReviewer: Holly
A Wish, a Kiss, a Dream by Lora Leigh, Shiloh Walker, Mary Wine
Series: Cowboys and Captives,
Published by Ellora's Cave
Publication Date: 2005-08
Genres: Fiction, Anthologies (multiple authors), Erotica
Pages: 239
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

DJINN’S WISH: by Shiloh Walker

When Tamric chose to become Djinn, he never imagined that he would be trapped in service to a magical mirror for thousands of years, granting one wish to each woman who holds it.

Tam is ready to do anything to obtain his freedom when he meets the human who will make him burn with a hunger he had long ago forgotten and yearn for a love unlike any he has ever imagined.

For her he will give up his freedom, his dreams, his everything. Just to see her joy – before he disappears from her life forever.

PAYING UP: by Mary Wine

Christina Faulkner made a bet and now she owed him a kiss. If she’s lucky, he’s forgotten all about it. Shane Jacobs didn’t just want the bet paid. He wanted a whole lot more.

But once passion touches its targets, desire transforms simple contact into mesmerizing obsession.

And Christina is about to discover that Shane hasn’t forgotten her. In fact, he’s coming back to claim what is his. All of it.

COWBOY AND THE THIEF: by Lora Leigh

The owner of the ancient Irish Torque will always be an Irish lass. The wearer, the lover of her heart and soul.

It’s Angel Manning’s legacy and has sparked dreams of an unknown lover who would fill her nights with heat, her heart with joy.

But when her father sells the Torque to Jack Riley against her wishes, destiny and fate are put in motion. She’ll get it back if she has to steal it. But Jack catches her, and he’s not giving it up without a fight.

Sometimes when I’m in a reading funk, an anthology, short story or erotica will help me get out of it. With that in mind, I picked this one up the other day and really enjoyed it.

Cowboy & the Thief By Lora Leigh

The owner of the ancient Irish Torque will always be an Irish lass. The wearer, the lover of her heart and soul. It’s Angel Manning’s legacy and has sparked dreams of an unknown lover who would fill her nights with heat, her heart with joy.

But when her father sells the Torque to Jack Riley against her wishes, destiny and fate are put in motion. She’ll get it back if she has to steal it. But Jack catches her, and he’s not giving it up without a fight.

I’m not a huge fan of Lora Leigh. I’ve enjoyed some of her novels, but she isn’t an auto-buy for me and I’ve never felt the need to glom her. I did really enjoy this story, though.

Angel was a good heroine, tough and able to think for herself, without being stupid. She doesn’t take any crap from Jack and only stays with him because she wanted to. And she was honest with him right from the beginning, telling him she didn’t want to give him her heart, because he’d just break it.

Jack is one of Leigh’s typical alpha heroes – domineering, controlling and somewhat of a jackass. I have to admire his inventiveness in getting Angel to stay with him, and his prowess in the bedroom. I was less impressed with his constant denial of his feelings, but in the end he was redeemed for me when he admitted everything he’d done had been for Angel.

This is probably one of the better Lora Leigh stories I’ve ever read.

4.0 out of 5

Djinn’s Wish By Shiloh Walker

When Tamric chose to become Djinn, he never imagined that he would be trapped in service to a magickal mirror for thousands of years, granting one wish to each woman who holds it.

Tam is ready to do anything to obtain his freedom when he meets the human who will make him burn with a hunger he had long ago forgotten and yearn for a love unlike any he has ever imagined.

For her he will give up his freedom, his dreams, his everything. Just to see her joy—before he disappears from her life forever.

I’ve seen Shiloh Walker being reviewed on various blogs (almost always favorably), but this is the first I’ve read by her. I have several of her books TBR, but I haven’t been in the mood for a paranormal in ages, so I haven’t read any of them. I’m kind of sad about that now, however, because this was an excellent story and my favorite of the collection.

This was a beautifully touching love story. Tam has been a Djinn for centuries, and has become jaded and cynical about the human race. So when his mirror is given to Katlin Dixon, he doesn’t expect much more than he received from everyone else..she’ll make a wish, he’ll give her a kiss granting it, and then he’ll be sent on to the next person.

Kaitlin Dixon was is pretty cynical herself. Just after finding out her husband and best friend were having an affair, she was in a car accident and lost her eyesight. Three years later, she’s become a recluse and hardly leaves her apartment. Since she can’t see, she has no idea Tam is in the mirror, and therefore doesn’t know he can grant her a wish.

Tam sees this as the perfect opportunity to be set free. If the owner of his mirror gives it to him before making a wish, or wishes him free of it, he’ll be able set free and return to his land for all eternity. Since Kat doesn’t know he came from the mirror, he devises a plan to get her to give it to him: He’ll pretend to be her new next door neighbor and get her to gift the mirror to him.

But there’s a problem…the more he gets to know Kat, the more he wants her happiness. Even if it costs him his freedom.

Walker does an amazing job writing both Tam and Kat as believable characters who have both suffered from things that happened in their past. Kat was an especially interesting character. Watching her come out of her shell and discovering life was beautifully done.

I found their love story to be wonderfully well drawn. I was completely wrapped up in it. It’s not often that I can say this, but the story was perfect as it was. I can’t even say I wish it had been longer, because everything was so perfectly executed I didn’t feel that anything was missing at all. I never do this, but I’m going to give it a:

5 out of 5

It was that well done. I’ll be digging through my TBR pile for more Shiloh Walker novels ASAP.

Dream – Paying Up By Mary Wine

Christina Faulkner made a bet and now she owed him a kiss. If she’s lucky, he’s forgotten all about it. Shane Jacobs didn’t just want the bet paid. He wanted a whole lot more.

But once passion touches its targets, desire transforms simple contact into mesmerizing obsession.

And Christina is about to discover that Shane hasn’t forgotten her. In fact, he’s coming back to claim what is his. All of it.

This was my least favorite of the three. There’s a note on EC’s website that says this is the 3rd book in Wine’s Dream Series, but it can be read as a standalone. That’s a lie. I was just confused throughout the entire story. You know how you walk into a conversation halfway through and you stand there feeling like an idiot because you have no idea what’s going on? Yeah, that’s how I felt about this story.

Christina and Shane met during some previous book and apparently shared an attraction for one another. But Shane sent Christina home after she’d been shot four times and she hasn’t seen him in two months. Then all of a sudden he shows back up in her life and decides he wants to sleep with her. She tries to fight her attraction to him, but can’t and they end up in bed together.

I didn’t connect with either of these characters. Christina is trying to pick up the pieces of her life after being kidnapped and shot, but seems to just be floating in limbo, waiting for something to happen. She didn’t really inspire anything from me, one way or the other. Perhaps if I’d read the first two books in this series I’d feel differently, but as it stands she was just a “blah” character for me.

Shane mostly just annoyed me. He stayed away from Christina because he thought she’d be better off without him, but then all of a sudden, because his brother said Christina was sexy, he decides he wants to be with her? Ugh. Then he treats her like a child and talks to her like she’s an idiot. I wasn’t impressed.

There is a really adorable scene at the end, though, so I’m going to give this one a:

2.75 out of 5

I’m thinking my grade would probably be higher if I’d read the other books in the series. Then again, the hero just annoyed me, so maybe not.

Overall a pretty good anthology and one I’d recommend. Especially the Shiloh Walker and Lora Leigh installments.

Total Grade: 4.0 out of 5

This book is available from Ellora’s Cave. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,