Author: Lexi Blake

Review: Dungeon Royale by Lexi Blake

Posted February 16, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Dungeon Royale by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Dungeon Royale by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries #6
Also in this series: Love and Let Die
Published by LLC
Publication Date: February 18th 2014
Genres: Romance, Romantic Suspense, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Broken by betrayal, one woman holds the secret to his redemption…

An agent broken

MI6 agent Damon Knight prided himself on always being in control. His missions were executed with cold, calculating precision. His club, The Garden, was run with an equally ordered and detached decadence. But his perfect world was shattered by one bullet, fired from the gun of his former partner. That betrayal almost cost him his life and ruined his career. His handlers want him to retire, threatening to revoke his license to kill if he doesn’t drop his obsession with a shadowy organization called The Collective. To earn their trust, he has to prove himself on a unique assignment with an equally unusual partner.

A woman tempted

Penelope Cash has spent her whole life wanting more. More passion. More adventure. But duty has forced her to live a quiet life. Her only excitement is watching the agents of MI6 as they save England and the world. Despite her training, she’s only an analyst. The closest she is allowed to danger and intrigue is in her dreams, which are often filled with one Damon Knight. But everything changes when the woman assigned to pose as Damon’s submissive on his latest mission is incapacitated. Penny is suddenly faced with a decision. Stay in her safe little world or risk her life and her heart for Queen and country.

An enemy revealed

With the McKay-Taggart team at their side, Damon and Penny hunt an international terrorist across the great cities of Northern Europe. Playing the part of her Master, Damon begins to learn that under Penny’s mousy exterior is a passionate submissive, one who just might lay claim to his cold heart. But when Damon’s true enemy is brought out of the shadows, it might be Penny who pays the ultimate price.

Another hit on the books for Lexi Blake! By now I’ve read almost every book in Blake’s Masters and Mercenaries series. Dungeon Royale is my favorite of the bunch. I don’t know why exactly, but I’m going to take a leap and say it’s all Damon Knight.

So Damon was shot by his double agent partner at the end of Love and Let Die. It happened right after he realized that Baz was the leak and he was working for The Collective. He fully expected to die, but was found just in time. Damon feels defeated and betrayed when he thinks of Baz; he can’t believe his partner of ten years was not only a traitor, but that he also tried to kill him.

When Damon returns to SIS (MI6) seven months later, he is told by his superior that he will have to take a desk job. The bullet went into his lungs and they had to remove a part of one so he would live. Damon doesn’t know what he will do if he’s not in the field and convinces Nigel to give him a chance to prove himself. What seems like an easy peasy mission turns into something more when The Collective is involved.

Penelope Cash has worked at SIS for years. She’s watched Damon from afar, but never approached him nor does she intend to. Still dealing with the loss of her mother, Penny has shut down. When Nigel and Damon call her in and tell her she’s needed on the mission, she is hesitant. It’s a BDSM cruise and she is far from the kind of girl that would get into that lifestyle. Or so she thought.

Are there really BDSM cruises? I just have to ask.

Damon handpicked Penelope because she was the only one that appealed to him. He soon realizes how perfectly innocent she is. He also realizes that Penelope is far from vanilla, she just doesn’t know it. Damon takes it upon himself to teach her that submitting is nothing to be ashamed of.

The BDSM of this series is really good. It’s all about meeting the needs of your partner, not one partner dominating the other anywhere but the bedroom. Damon was so damaged when this book started. It was fun watching him fall for Penelope. I really loved Penelope too. There is only one person that can handle Damon and that’s her. She just has to show him that he deserves to be loved.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

four-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , ,


Review: Love and Let Die by Lexi Blake

Posted February 14, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Love and Let Die by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Love and Let Die by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries #5
Also in this series: Dungeon Royale
Genres: Romance, Romantic Suspense, BDSM
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A Tragic Love Story Charlotte Dennis's mission was clear: distract and misdirect CIA operative Ian Taggart by any means necessary. If she failed, she would never see her sister again. With her training, it should have been simple, but after one night in Ian's arms, she knew that saving her sister would mean losing the man of her dreams. Ian was tracking a terrorist when he met the beautiful American daughter of a Russian mobster. His instincts told him Charlotte was trouble, but his body craved her like a drug and his heart would not be denied. She took his ring and his collar. For once he was truly happy. But as he closed in on his target, her betrayal cost him his mission while her sacrifice saved his life. As she died in his arms, Ian vowed he would never love again. A Dangerous Reunion For five years, Charlotte has thought of nothing but returning to her husband, her Master. Working in the shadows, she has devoted herself to earning a chance to reclaim her place in Ian's life. But forgiveness isn't a part of Ian's vocabulary. Nothing is more important to Ian Taggart than his new mission. But the information he needs is firmly in the hands of the woman who betrayed him. To catch his most dangerous prey, Ian will have to let Charlotte back into his life. As the hunt takes them to some of the world's most exotic locations, the danger grows and their passion reignites. Will Ian forgive his wayward submissive...or lose her again?

I picked up this book after I read Satisfaction. Ian Taggart was in the book and of course I had to read his book. I do have to say that I realized in the last several years, I’ve turned into a prude. I used to read BDSM, but I haven’t in quite sometime. When I read the blurb, it talked about Masters and collars and I knew I wouldn’t like it. What do I know? I loved this book!

When Charlotte Dennis shows up at his door, Ian Taggart can’t believe his eyes. After all, his wife died in his arms three years before. When she starts talking about why she betrayed him and almost got one of his friends killed, he is not unmoved. He loved his wife, but nothing she can say will make him take her back.

Charlotte had to protect her sister, Chelsea, from the Russian mob. When they were young, their mother was murdered by their father and taken back to Russia. Charlotte was forced to do anything her father asked, from assassinating someone to robbing banks…all so their father would leave Chelsea alone. To get herself and her sister away from Russia, she makes a deal with the devil. The last thing she expected was to fall in love with the man she was sent to distract.

Although he can never forgive her, Ian isn’t above using Charlotte. As for Charlotte, she will take Ian anyway she can get him as long as he loves her again. Together they track down the man responsible for sending Charlotte and Chelsea on the run.

The BDSM part didn’t bother me at all once I got through my initial prudish nature. It actually made the romance more romantic. Charlotte is an incredibly strong heroine. Reading about her submitting to Ian didn’t bother me at all. In fact it made the book better because she was so strong. I can’t recommend this book or this series enough.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Satisfaction by Lexi Blake

Posted February 13, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Satisfaction by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Satisfaction by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #2
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The sizzling second novel in a sexy new contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings from "New York Times "bestselling author Lexi Blake. Brandon Lawless is a man on a mission: obtain the information that will clear his father s name. He s willing to do whatever it takes even seduce his enemy s personal assistant, the beautiful and innocent Carly Hendricks. But with her beguiling smile and captivating intelligence, Brandon soon realizes he doesn t want to deceive Carly, he wants to win her over both in the boardroom and the bedroom. Then a twisted crime leaves Carly vulnerable and Brandon finds himself reeling. The stakes of his mission are now life or death Carly s life. And Brandon realizes he s lost his heart to an amazing woman and his plan must succeed, because the stakes are no longer just revenge, but a once in a lifetime love."

I absolutely loved this book. This is the best book I’ve read this year. I know it’s only been a month, but I couldn’t put this book down. Bran. Brandon. Bran. Bran. Bran. Bran. Oh how I love thee. I really thought I would want Drew’s book because he was so nerdy in a hot kind of way, but Bran really snuck up on me and just smacked me in the face.

Drew was supposed to be the one that went in and swooped Carly off her feet a la Riley and Ellie. Bran wasn’t so keen on that plan, so he went in before Drew could and laid it out straight. Patricia Cain murdered his parents, he and his siblings were taking her down, could she please help? Cue the misbelief. Not that Patricia Cain was innocent. Carly didn’t have blinders on when it came to her boss. She knew exactly what kind of woman she was. No, Carly thought that Bran was batshit crazy.

Carly was exactly the kind of woman that Bran was drawn to. A woman that needed help. Not to mention the hotness factor. Bran knows that his plan to lay it out for her was exactly right. Having Drew go in and manipulate her the way that Riley did to Ellie would never have worked out. This way, Bran could help her with her problems (which were many) and the Lawless siblings could take down Patricia Cain. If Bran could get some time with Carly between now and then, all the better.

When Carly leaves Bran, she still isn’t sure. That all changes when her ex-husband’s problems turn up on her doorstep quite literally. Suddenly she’s calling Bran and he’s sleeping on her couch. She’s agreed to help him and he’s pretending to be her boyfriend. Then they’re not pretending. Carly is falling in love with a man that might not know how to love her back. It’s readily apparent that Bran has issues that he refuses to acknowledge let alone discuss.

Bran had a serious case of PTSD stemming from his childhood. While the Lawless siblings are closer than most, they have more problems than most as well. Bran was left in foster care long after he should have been. Drew finally admits that it was easier for Bran to be left in the system while he was starting up 4L than to bring him home. He tells Bran that revenge came first. It was heartbreaking. Once that comes out in the open, it finally brings Bran some peace.

Carly and Bran are just perfect for each other. Carly has so little control in her life thanks to Patricia Cain that she grabs it where she can. Bran is glad to cede control to her in every place except for the bedroom. It works surprisingly well for them. I love it. Carly was a little insecure which got a little old, but Bran more than made up for it. He was so damaged, but he confronted it head on and that was refreshing. I loved him.

There was a twist at the end of the book that I didn’t see coming and I can’t wait until June!

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

four-half-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Review: Satisfaction by Lexi Blake

Posted February 10, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Satisfaction  by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Rowena
Satisfaction by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #2
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction
Published by Penguin, Berkley
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The sizzling second novel in a sexy new contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.

Brandon Lawless is a man on a mission: obtain the information that will clear his father’s name. He’s willing to do whatever it takes—even seduce his enemy’s personal assistant, the beautiful and innocent Carly Hendricks. But with her beguiling smile and captivating intelligence, Brandon soon realizes he doesn’t want to deceive Carly, he wants to win her over—both in the boardroom and the bedroom.

Then a twisted crime leaves Carly vulnerable and Brandon finds himself reeling. The stakes of his mission are now life or death—Carly’s life. And Brandon realizes he’s lost his heart to an amazing woman and his plan must succeed, because the stakes are no longer just revenge, but a once in a lifetime love.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Satisfaction is the second book in the Lawless series and it follows the youngest brother, Brandon as he journeys to that elusive happily ever after. A happy ending that he does not believe he deserves. When we first meet Brandon is the first book, Ruthless, he is a happy go lucky kind of guy until he gets into a fight and the brothers plus Hatch have to go and bail him out. You get a sense that of all the Lawless siblings, Riley and Bran are still dealing with issues from when they were in the foster care system.

Riley has trouble sleeping with the door open. It’s got to be locked and he has to sleep alone. Bran, Bran has nightmares about a night he’d rather forget. About a girl he cared about and couldn’t save.

Riley is the charming brother. Andrew is the vengeful brother. But Bran? Bran is the protective brother. He’s Captain Save a Hoe. You can find him at the strip club beating on guys that think strippers are their personal property. In the first book, Riley got in a lot of trouble because 1) he fell in love with his mark and 2) he lied through his buck teeth about everything under the sun. Bran is determined that they learn from their mistakes so when the next phase in their revenge plot calls for getting close to the personal assistant of the next person on their hit list, Bran sneaks in and steals Drew’s spotlight.

Carly Fisher is Patricia Cain’s personal assistant and overall grunt. Patricia Cain is next up on the Lawless siblings hit list. They need Carly’s assistance in getting close to Patricia so that they can take her down. Drew’s plan was to seduce Carly into letting him get close so that he use her to handle his business but Bran’s idea was to bring Carly into the plan. Make her an ally. Present her with the truth, with the facts and let her decide if she wants to help them. Drew is not a fan of Bran’s plan and he’s not a fan of allies.

Bran and Carly’s romance was sweet. I really enjoyed seeing them get to know each other and getting to know the both of them myself. They were great characters, and I loved Bran. I loved how honest he was, how hard he worked to take care of those he loved and I really loved how he went toe to toe with Drew. Drew has a tendency of being so narrow-minded that he can be hard to be around. His personality is very off-putting but for those that know him, that love him, they understand him. Bran is the opposite of Drew. He’s very easy to be around. He’s quick to smile. He’s loyal and even when he was being a dumbass, I loved him.

Carly was the newbie on the scene, so she had a lot of catching up to do on making me like her. I enjoyed her character as a whole but she did get on my nerves from time to time. Her reasoning drove me nuts but in her heart of hearts, she was a good person. I liked that she was smart, she was loyal to her sister and when she stopped letting her insecurities get to her, she was a great partner for Bran.

Overall, this was a great story with characters that rocked my socks and I’m really thirsty for Revenge, Drew’s book. I called his heroine right when we met her in this book. The ending for this book has me super anxious for the next one because I just know Drew is going to piss everyone off in the name of protecting his family and I just know it’s going to be good. I’m so here for it.

4 out of 5

four-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Ruthless by Lexi Blake

Posted August 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 7 Comments

Review: Ruthless by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Rowena
Ruthless by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #1
Also in this series: Satisfaction, Satisfaction
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: August 9th 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The first in a sexy contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.

The Lawless siblings are bound by vengeance. Riley, Drew, Brandon, and Mia believe the CEO of StratCast orchestrated their parents’ murder twenty years ago to steal their father’s software program. And there’s only one way Riley can find some solid evidence...   Heir to the StratCast legacy, Ellie Stratton hires a new attorney to handle a delicate business matter—and she’s shocked by her attraction to him.

Over the course of a few weeks, Riley becomes her lover, her friend, her everything. But when her life is threatened, Ellie discovers that Riley is more obsessed with settling an old score than in the love she thought they were building. And Riley must choose between a revenge he’s prepared for all his life and the woman he’s sure he can’t live without...

I’ve been seeing Lexi Blake books around a lot lately and I’ve wanted to try her stuff out but never got around to it or wasn’t in the mood to jump into a series already on Book 3 or whatever so when I read the blurb for this book, I wanted in. A bunch of siblings getting revenge on the people who murdered their parents and wrecked their lives? One of the siblings falling for one of the marks? Yeah, I’m totally in.

Riley Lawless was 12 years old when his parents were murdered. His life was ripped apart just like his family was and it took years before he was able to reunite with all of his siblings again and the need to avenge their parents has always been strong with him. It was what he grew up planning, wanting more than anything else. His part of the revenge was to get his law degree and learn all things about the justice system and be the lawyer that his siblings needed him to be.

It’s twenty years later and all of their plans are now in play. Riley is the family lawyer and is undercover as Riley Lang, the lawyer that was just hired by Ellie Stratton, the daughter of one of the guys that had a hand in his parents death. Everything was going according to plan until Riley falls for Ellie. Then things got really interesting, really fast.

Ellie is still reeling from the bomb that her father dropped on his deathbed and she’s making plans to try to fix as much of the mess her father left behind as she could and she’s got to do it on the down low because a lot of her plans stem on the buyout that she hired Riley Lang to help her with. She needs to buy her father’s partner, Steven Castallano out of his shares in the company to have control to do what she needs to do but things are moving slow on that front. Before she knows what’s what, she’s in a relationship with her newly hired hot lawyer and bombs are being dropped on her from every angle. Like I said, things got really interesting, really fast.

While I liked Riley and his siblings, I also really liked Ellie and didn’t like the secrets and the part about her being a pawn in their little revenge games. I thought Blake did a great job of pulling the emotional ties with Riley out because I could see him really struggle with being loyal to his family and the plans they set in motion but also the ties he made with Ellie once he got to know her.

The struggle that Riley goes through in this book went a long way in taking the sting out of my struggle with how fast the romance seemed. How fast Riley fell for Ellie. I guess I wanted a bit more out of that but I can’t deny that their romance was steamy and absolutely compelling.

I wasn’t too wild about the lengths that Riley went through to get his revenge but I can’t help but wonder if I’d do the exact same thing were I in his shoes. His family was counting on him and he didn’t want to let them down but his feelings for Ellie were clouding his judgement and the entire book was one dramatic event after the other but I liked it. I liked all of it. I’m interested in where this series is going so I’m definitely going to be reading the next book and I’m anxious for it.

Overall, this was a great first Lauren Blake book for me and I’m looking forward to more Lawless sibling goodness. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars

7 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,