Author: Lexi Blake

Sunday Spotlight: Order of Protection by Lexi Blake

Posted June 3, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 2 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

It is no secret around here that I like love adore Lexi Blake and every single thing that she writes. I should thank Rowena for introducing me to Lexi. It was reading her review of Ruthless that hooked me. After reading her review, I picked up Ruthless and haven’t looked back. Reading the Lawless series then turned me onto her Masters and Mercenaries series. I’m not generally a fan of BDSM, but this series is written so tastefully that it’s impossible not to love it. Her characters are so real.

Given how much I adore Lexi, imagine my excitement when I read about Order of Protection and her new Courting Justice series. We’re talking about bouncing in my seat, jumping for joy excitement. When I read the synopsis, I was even more excited. If I wasn’t so lame when it comes to reading, I would have already read and reviewed this book for you guys. As is stands, I haven’t read it yet. If any of you have read it, please share! Did you like it? Did you not like it?

Sunday Spotlight: Order of Protection by Lexi BlakeOrder of Protection by Lexi Blake
Series: Courting Justice #1
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: June 5, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 336
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

A sexy and suspenseful new contemporary romance from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake where love and law entwine for a conviction of the heart.

To high-end defense attorney Henry Garrison, Win Hughes is a woman he met during one of the most trying times of his life. She's soft and warm, and he finds solace in their brief relationship. But Win has a secret. She's actually Taylor Winston-Hughes—born to one of the wealthiest families in the country, orphaned as a child by a tragic accident. Win moves in the wealthiest circles, but her lavish lifestyle hides her pain.

When her best friend is murdered in the midst of a glittering New York gala, Win's charged with the crime, and the only person in the world she wants to see is Henry.

Henry is shocked at the true identity of his lover, but he can't reject the case. This trial could take his new firm into the stratosphere. Still, he's not getting burned by Win again. And yet every turn brings them closer together.

As the case takes a wild turn and Win's entire life is upended, she must look to the people she's closest to in order to find a killer. And Henry must decide between making his case and saving the woman he loves...

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

This was a dream. A nightmare. She would wake up and be back in the little bungalow on the island. She would turn over and Henry would kiss her and make love to her and she would be all right. This time she would do what she should have. She would tell him she didn’t want to leave him. She would ask him to rethink his plans to stay in touch. They could spend weekends together. She would explain her situation and that she could afford to fly into New York whenever she wanted to.

If only she would wake up.

“Ms. Winston-Hughes, I asked you a question. If you don’t want to talk right now, I can take you to a cell. I think you’ll find a lot of lovely people to talk to in there. We can take this up again in the morning after you’ve had some time to think about cooperating.”

She hadn’t been in a cell yet. Somehow she didn’t think it would be a pleasant experience.

“I want to talk to my lawyer. I need a lawyer,” she forced the words out. She was making a mistake by talking to the police by herself. They didn’t believe her. They wanted her to confess to something she hadn’t done.

She had to try to come out of this fog and start thinking.

His chair slid back, but before he could get a hand on her, the door came open.

“Detective, step back. My client asked for a lawyer. Unless you want to give me a reason to go to a judge tonight, I suggest you step away and allow my client to speak with her attorneys.”
She gasped because she’d met this man before. David. Henry’s partner. Why was he here? He was a big presence as he pressed through the door. Even though it was long after midnight, he was wearing a tuxedo, though he’d pulled the tie loose.

He looked like he’d come from a party. Had he been there?

Nothing made sense. Her head hurt so much.

The detective sighed and shook his head, looking back to her. “He can’t save you. Admit what happened. This is going to go better for you if you leave the lawyers out. Tell us what you did and maybe, just maybe, we can make a deal. You let a few days go by and there won’t be a deal to be had.”

A familiar voice caught her attention. “Detective, you’ve made your point clear. Now allow me to make mine. My client has invoked her right to counsel. Leave the room and turn off any cameras or devices you have recording. Understand if I find out you’ve violated attorney/client privilege, that I will have your job and your pension. Do I make myself clear?”
Henry. Oh, god, Henry was here and her whole soul seemed to come back to life. Henry was here. He’d come to help her. He was dressed in a perfectly tailored suit and looked like power and authority and safety.

He was here.

The detective sneered Henry’s way. “Yeah, I get it. You need to understand that he can’t save you. Once this evidence is processed, you’ll be going to jail, little girl. You’re going there tonight because no judge in the world is going to save you. Your privilege is over.”

“Could we get the handcuffs off her?” David asked. “She’s not running and she’s not violent.”

“The dead body in her bedroom tells me something different, Counselor,” the detective replied.

“I would like to be alone with my client, detective,” Henry said, his teeth clenched.

She couldn’t take her eyes off him. He was so big and strong. When he’d held her, she’d been safe and now he was here. She felt terrible, but it was okay because Henry was here and everything was going to be all right.

The detective turned and walked to the door. “You don’t have all night. She’s not going anywhere. There won’t be a bail hearing for a while, so prepare your client for a nice long weekend. She’s going to do well in the holding pen. Or hell, maybe we’ll move her for a few days. Let her see how the other half lives.”
The door closed behind him and she was left alone with him.

“Henry?”

He turned to her, his eyes cold as ice. His suit was designer, custom fit to his strong body. The shoes he was wearing had to cost a thousand dollars a pair. This wasn’t the laid back, beach boy she remembered. This man was a professional. “Please call me Mr. Garrison. I’ll call you Miss Winston-Hughes, unless you prefer Taylor. No? Excellent. Miss Winston-Hughes, your uncle has hired my firm to represent you in this case. Do you understand the charges against you?”

Courting Justice

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: June 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Lexi Blake

Lexi Blake

WEBSITE || FACEBOOK || TWITTER || PINTEREST

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

Her first novel, Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage, Book 1, was a collaboration with New York Times bestselling author Shayla Black. There are five more books available in the series: Their Virgin’s Secret, Their Virgin Concubine, Their Virgin Princess, Their Virgin Hostage, and Their Virgin Secretary. The next book in the series, Their Virgin Mistress, is releasing this April.

In addition to the Masters of Ménage series, she is the author of the Masters and Mercenaries series. There are eight full-length novels and four novellas available now, with more coming in 2015.

In 2013, Lexi also began releasing her urban fantasy series, Thieves. The first five are available now, with Ripper, a spin-off to the series, coming in 2015.


Tagged: , , ,

Review: Revenge by Lexi Blake

Posted June 20, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Revenge by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Rowena
Revenge by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #3
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction, Revenge
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: June 20th 2017
Pages: 352
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Passion and danger collide in the latest contemporary romance featuring the Lawless siblings—from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.

When Drew Lawless discovers a fatal flaw in his plan to avenge his parents’ deaths, he turns to the one woman he'd promised he wouldn't touch. He offers her a deal, one that will bring her into his investigation, his life, and his bed.

Investigative reporter Shelby Gates never dreamed how twisted the case would become—or how fascinated she would be with Drew. Every day they spend together binds them. And every night brings her closer to realizing he might be the man for her.

As Drew's feelings for Shelby grow, so does the danger. From the streets of Dallas to Austin’s high-tech business world, Drew and Shelby play a game begun twenty years before—a game they will win, or die trying.

Revenge is the third book in the Lawless series and it follows the eldest of the Lawless siblings, Andrew. Andrew Lawless is a super geek with vengeance in his heart. Nothing will stop him from protecting his siblings and when a new threat (introduced in the last book, Satisfaction) arises, he sets about trying to take the bad guy down.

Drews got a plan to bring the bad guy down without including his siblings. They’re happy and moving on with their lives so he feels that keeping them out of everything is for their own good. His plan brings Shelby Gates into his life and she changes everything. She was hired to do a job by Drew and that job included pretending to be his girlfriend. Drew, Drew, Drew…you know fake relationships never work out the way that they’re supposed to.

So the plan is to do as much undercover research on their target as possible and the only way that Drew can keep Shelby safe is by moving her into his home and watching over her himself, even though including her, puts her life in danger. None of that matters to Drew Lawless because he’s so focused on keeping his family safe that everyone else is collateral damage.

Drew was a punk ass jerk face for his original plan. He’s always been a freaking jerk but the amount of love he had for his family kind of mitigated my frustration with him. At his core, he’s a good guy but he didn’t know how to act around people. He could only focus on the problem at hand, not understanding all of the shit he was stirring everywhere else. He’s intentions were good and his heart was in the right place but he did some shady shit to get things done.

Shelby is probably my favorite heroine in this series. She is strong and independent but she was also caring. She cared and she loved deeply. She was also loyal to a fault because even when Drew didn’t deserve her loyalty, he had it.

Seeing these two come together and then be split apart and then come together again was fun. I loved that Drew’s outlook on certain things changed but he didn’t change too much that he was a stranger. I loved that Shelby fell in love with asshole Drew and made him want to be a better person for her and the family. Their romance was hot and sweet and everything that a romance should be. They were great characters apart who went through fire for each other. Their story wasn’t an easy story but it was action packed and fun to read.

It was good to see the Lawless siblings and meet a very unexpected and new character that I hope to see more of in a future book. I really liked the way that this story wrapped up and I loved seeing Drew meet his match in Shelby. She didn’t let him get away with being a shithead and he became such an awesome hero in the end. I always liked him, despite him being a total dick but it was good to see his character really grow and change. There’s a lot going on in this book, lots of stuff that blew up Drew’s world but I loved seeing the family gather round and help bring the bad guy down. I love that stuff.

Overall, this was a great addition to this series and Lexi Blake did a great job of wrapping things up. I was a happy camper and I definitely recommend this one.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Revenge by Lexi Blake

Posted June 19, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Revenge by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
Revenge by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #3
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction, Revenge
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: June 20th 2017
Pages: 368
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Passion and danger collide in the latest contemporary romance featuring the Lawless siblings--from New York Times bestselling author Lexi Blake.

When Drew Lawless discovers a fatal flaw in his plan to avenge his parents' deaths, he turns to the one woman he promised he wouldn't touch. He offers her a deal, one that will bring her into his investigation, his life, and his bed.

Investigative reporter Shelby Gates never dreamed how twisted the case would become--or how fascinated she would be with Drew. Every day they spend together binds them. And every night brings her closer to realizing he might be the man for her.

As Drew's feelings for Shelby grow, so does the danger. From the streets of Dallas to Austin's high-tech business world, Drew and Shelby play a game begun twenty years before--a game they will win, or die trying.

Drew Lawless. Hot geek. Total nerd. Hotness. Secret keeper. Falls for a reporter of all people. Rowena said she knew he would fall for a reporter. Me? I had no clue, but I’m clueless most of the time.

When he was fourteen years old, Drew saved his siblings from certain death. His parents were murdered then he and his brothers and sister were locked in their childhood home after someone started a fire. Drew got everyone out and made it his mission in life to get revenge on the people responsible for killing his parents and almost killing his siblings. It was only at the end of Satisfaction that he realized that he would be going after his own mother.

Drew brings in investigative reporter Shelby Gates. It was Shelby that uncovered that the woman they all thought died in the fire was his mother was in fact the woman his father was having an affair with. Drew is determined to keep the fact that his mother is alive from his siblings and is going to use Shelby to do it. By pretending to be his girlfriend, Drew is certain they can pull anything off. Drew promises to let her write a tell-all book, but never intends to let it see the light of day.

Shelby has been attracted to Drew since she first met him. There is a vulnerability about him that only she seems to see. She’s attracted to the geekiness that surrounds him and totally turned on by his sexiness. It’s a contrast that she can’t turn away from. In addition to all that, he needs her.

Drew and Shelby are perfect for each other. I adored them together. Shelby keeps Drew human. He so often goes into robot mode when he’s not dealing with his family. She also reminds him that he has needs too. He can’t give and give, he has to take as well. And she makes him realize that he can be selfish when it comes to her. But, oh boy. When he shuts down, he shuts down hard. Even Shelby has a hard time facing a closed-off Drew. Drew is used to betrayal and when he thinks someone betrays him, well, run.

I really loved the abrupt change in the story where the mom was alive. I thought it added a fresh new edge to the series. There was more blood (literally) added in this book and I thought it was a good way to go. My favorite book in this series is still Satisfaction, but Drew Lawless could never disappoint.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Satisfaction by Lexi Blake

Posted June 4, 2017 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 0 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be  raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

I’ve read all three books in this series and Satisfaction is my favorite. Bran is so damaged, but wants to be better for Carly. It’s a romance with a little bit of a mystery to it, which is just how I like my books lately. You can read my review of Satisfaction here and Rowena’s here.

Sunday Spotlight: Satisfaction by Lexi BlakeSatisfaction by Lexi Blake
Series: Lawless Series #2
Also in this series: Ruthless, Satisfaction, Revenge, Revenge
Published by Berkley Books
Publication Date: January 3rd 2017
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

The sizzling second novel in a sexy new contemporary romance series featuring the Lawless siblings from "New York Times "bestselling author Lexi Blake. Brandon Lawless is a man on a mission: obtain the information that will clear his father s name. He s willing to do whatever it takes even seduce his enemy s personal assistant, the beautiful and innocent Carly Hendricks. But with her beguiling smile and captivating intelligence, Brandon soon realizes he doesn t want to deceive Carly, he wants to win her over both in the boardroom and the bedroom. Then a twisted crime leaves Carly vulnerable and Brandon finds himself reeling. The stakes of his mission are now life or death Carly s life. And Brandon realizes he s lost his heart to an amazing woman and his plan must succeed, because the stakes are no longer just revenge, but a once in a lifetime love."

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Memorable Quotes

Carly won’t stand for Bran’s family making him feel bad. I loved that about her.

“You two should be ashamed of yourselves”.

Drew’s eyes went wide, but Hatch grinned.

“For what? You’re going to have to be more specific because I have a lot to be ashamed of, darlin’,” Hatch said, obviously amused.

Carly wagged a finger Hatch’s way, “You shouldn’t tease him. You might make him self-conscious and I happen to think he’s an excellent lover. He’s absolute the best I’ve ever had and he should be proud that he managed to make someone as delicate and ladylike as me scream that way. I won’t have you shaming him into a lesser performance. Am I understood?”

This is where I was first introduced to Ian Taggart. Oh how I love that man. He is who he is and everyone else can go to hell. Except his wife, Charlotte.

“How do you like your tea?”

“With a healthy splash of Scotch, and by healthy I mean skip the tea and bring a Scotch or beer. Seriously, I don’t drink tea, and this show of wealth, while impressive, doesn’t answer my question,” Taggart replied.

Bran just does it for me. He’s willing to do anything to keep Carly, even face his past.

“You said you were leaving.”

He stopped in close, towering over her, but the look on his face was soft. “I know I’d screwed up, Carly, and we had to make it look good for Patricia. I know I lost it and I apologize for how extreme it got, but you need to understand that I will not let anyone hurt you no matter what it costs me. I meant what I said. I love you.

The words warmed her, but they weren’t enough. “We can’t go on like this.”

He cupped her faec, tilting it up so she looked into his eyes. “I will see any therapist you want me to see. I will work on this. I’m going to do it with or without you. If you can’t be with me now, I’ll still go because I want to be the man you need me to be. I love you. You’re it for me and I’m going to talk to you about something that’s hard for me to talk about.”

Sniff.


Lawless Series

Giveaway: We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Lexi Blake
WEBSITE || FACEBOOK || TWITTER || PINTEREST

NY Times and USA Today bestselling author Lexi Blake lives in North Texas with her husband, three kids, and the laziest rescue dog in the world. She began writing at a young age, concentrating on plays and journalism. It wasn’t until she started writing romance and urban fantasy that she found the stories of her heart. She likes to find humor in the strangest places and believes in happy endings no matter how odd the couple, threesome, or foursome may seem.

Her first novel, Their Virgin Captive: Masters of Ménage, Book 1, was a collaboration with New York Times bestselling author Shayla Black. There are five more books available in the series: Their Virgin’s Secret, Their Virgin Concubine, Their Virgin Princess, Their Virgin Hostage, and Their Virgin Secretary. The next book in the series, Their Virgin Mistress, is releasing this April.

In addition to the Masters of Ménage series, she is the author of the Masters and Mercenaries series. There are eight full-length novels and four novellas available now, with more coming in 2015.

In 2013, Lexi also began releasing her urban fantasy series, Thieves. The first five are available now, with Ripper, a spin-off to the series, coming in 2015.


Tagged: , , ,

Review: A View to Thrill by Lexi Blake

Posted April 10, 2017 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: A View to Thrill by Lexi BlakeReviewer: Casee
A View to a Thrill by Lexi Blake
Series: Masters and Mercenaries #7
Also in this series: Love and Let Die, Dungeon Royale

Publication Date: August 19th 2014
Genres: Romantic Suspense
Pages: 394
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A Spy without a Country

Simon Weston grew up royal in a place where aristocracy still mattered. Serving Queen and country meant everything to him, until MI6 marked him as damaged goods and he left his home in disgrace. Ian Taggart showed him a better way to serve his fellow man and introduced him to Sanctum, a place to pursue his passion for Dominance and submission. Topping beautiful subs was a lovely distraction until he met Chelsea, and becoming her Master turned into Simon’s most important mission.

A Woman without Hope

Chelsea Dennis grew up a pawn to the Russian mob. Her father’s violent lessons taught her that monsters lurked inside every man and they should never be trusted. Hiding in the shadows, she became something that even the monsters would fear—an information broker who exposed their dirty secrets and toppled their empires. Everything changed when Simon Weston crossed her path. Valiant and faithful, he was everything she needed—and a risk she couldn’t afford to take.

A Force too Strong to Resist

When dark forces from her past threaten her newfound family at Sanctum, Chelsea must turn to Simon, the one man she can trust with her darkest secrets. Their only chance to survive lies in a mystery even Chelsea has been unable to solve. As they race to uncover the truth and stay one step ahead of the assassins on their heels, they will discover a love too powerful to deny. But to stop a killer, Simon just might have to sacrifice himself…
A Masters and Mercenaries Novel

I continue to love this series. Lexi Blake writes BDSM in a way that draws me in. It’s not over the top, not just about tying your lover up and spanking them. It’s about give and take, but mostly about giving. It’s really different from any other BDSM I’ve read.

I adored Simon. He was so British. So proper. Imagining him in the BDSM lifestyle was almost laughable. Just picturing him saying “bend over” with his accent made me laugh. Moving on…Simon has had a thing for Chelsea for quite some time. Unfortunately, she has quite a few hangups and can’t give Simon what he needs as a Dom. Simon has been made a fool of one too many times by Chelsea and in front of an audience. A man’s pride can only take so much before he gives up. That’s before she shows up on his doorstep asking for help.

When someone puts a bomb on her car, Chelsea doesn’t go to her sister. She goes to the only person that she trusts and that she knows will help her. He’s also the only man that has made her feel anything her entire adult life. Simon is everything she wants in a man, but her childhood has made her question everything about herself. She is self-conscious of her body, but Simon makes her feel beautiful.

Chelsea is known as the Information Broker. Someone wants to draw the Information Broker out and kill her. Simon is determined that is not going to happen. Chelsea has lived her entire adult life behind a keyboard and she feels powerful there. As she finds herself falling in love with Simon, she doesn’t know if she can give up being the Information Broker for him. Simon knows that Chelsea needs to feel needed and being the Information Broker gives her that. He also knows that it will eventually destroy her.

I didn’t like Chelsea at first, but she grew on me. She really ended up putting Simon first. In the previous books she was a real bitch. All she wanted to do was protect Simon in the end, no matter what the cost. She really came to love him and would do anything to be with him, including giving up what mattered most to her. Her character really turned around. Of course I loved Simon from beginning to end. The BIG MISUNDERSTANDING was annoying, but it was resolved quickly.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,