Author: Laura Lee Guhrke

Lightning Review: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted October 10, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Holly
Trouble at the Wedding (Abandoned at the Altar, #3) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Published by Avon
Publication Date: December 27th 2011
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Annabel is about to marry the perfect man…

The last thing Miss Annabel Wheaton desires is true love. She learned the hard way that love makes a woman foolish and only leads to heartache. That’s why she agreed to marry an earl who needs her money. He’s got a pedigree and a country estate, and he won’t ever break her heart. There’s only one problem…

Christian isn’t about to let her marry that pompous prig…

Christian Du Quesne, Duke of Scarborough, thinks this stubborn heiress is about to make the biggest mistake of her life, and he’s determined to stop her. Tempting beautiful women is Christian’s forte, after all. When her family offers him a nice sum of money to stop the wedding, he’s happy to accept. Falling in love with Annabel wasn’t supposed to be part of the bargain…

Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke is book 3 in the Abandoned at the Alter series. I didn’t read the other books in this series. I don’t feel I missed anything by reading out of order.

I enjoyed the setting and unconventional heroine. With the flood of regencies on the market, its refreshing to read about something different. This was a quick read for me. I enjoyed both Annabel and Christian. She’s an heiress with a fiance she know she’ll never love..something she’s quite happy about. Unfortunately, Christian knows she’s making a huge mistake marrying the pig she affianced to, so he sets about trying to convince her she’s wrong.

Ghurke writes fun, fast-paced historials. I really enjoyed the setting, the characters and the sweet romance.

3.5 out of 5

The series:

Book CoverBook CoverBook Cover

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: No Mistress of Mine by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted August 29, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: No Mistress of Mine by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Rowena
No Mistress of Mine by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: An American Heiress in London #4
Published by Avon
Publication Date: August 30th 2016
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

USA Today bestselling author Laura Lee Guhrke is back with the latest in her dazzling An American Heiress in London series, in which a reformed rogue finds all his honorable resolutions tested by the only woman who ever broke his heart...

After spending his youth as one of the wildest rakes in the ton, Lord Denys Somerton has devoted the past six years to putting his past behind him. He is determined to fulfill his duties, find a suitable wife, and start a family, but that plan changes when Lola Valentine—the red-haired temptress from his past—returns to London, sparking the same irresistible desires that almost ruined his life once before.

Lola is a woman with no romantic illusions. She knew love would never be enough for a British lord and an American girl from the wrong side of the tracks. For Denys’s sake, she walked away from him and the glittering life he offered. But when an unexpected inheritance brings her back to London, Lola discovers the passion between them is as hot as ever. Can they vanquish it, or will it burn out of control again and destroy them both?

No Mistress of Mine is the fourth installment in the American Heiress in London Series by Laura Lee Guhrke and IMO, it’s another fabulous addition to this series.

Lola is back in London on a mission. When she inherits half of a theater that is half owned by her ex-lovers family, she knows that it’s going to be tough going trying to get Denys to let her in on the business side of things since the previous owner didn’t really take a vested interest in the business. She’s determined not to be that kind of owner because she has goals and dreams that being part owner of a theater can make easier and she’s determined to make a go of it.

Denys cannot believe that Lola is back in London. He hasn’t seen her since she dumped him over for Henry, his business partner who had a better offer than he did. He offered her marriage. To take care of her but she didn’t want him. Instead, she chose to become Henry’s mistress over his wife. It’s been years and while Denys thought he was over being pissed off about it, turns out, he was wrong. He’s still thoroughly pissed off at Lola for her betrayal and abandonment. So when she shows up in London again after Henry’s death and he finds out that she’s taken over Henry’s half of the theater, he’s livid. He didn’t ask for this. He doesn’t want this. He wants to be the responsible gentleman that he’s become in the years since Lola left him and with every minute that he spends in her company, old feelings resurface and so do old secrets.

But like I always say (as does Selena Gomez)…

I will admit that in the beginning, I spent a little bit frustrated with how mad Denys was and how unreasonable he was being where Lola was concerned. I guess it’s been a while since the last book where all the drama went down (I forgot about all of that) and eventually, Denys comes around. I was glad that he didn’t take his sweet ol’ time getting to that place where he could be reasonable and see things from Lola’s side. I loved seeing the two of them try to find their new normal and I came to admire the hell out of Lola.

Lola was strong and she was everything that I want in a strong heroine. She’s smart and she’s strong but she’s not a bitch or to stupid to live. She had all of the right characteristics to make you empathize with her and love her.

Denys really came full circle for me because while he frustrated me in the beginning, I loved the hell out of him in the end. He made me swoon into a puddle of love for him when he stood up for Lola and when he just loved her. I’m grinning like a schoolgirl remembering him and his love for Lola. He couldn’t help himself.

Overall, this was a wonderfully written historical romance that had me wrapped up in feels. I enjoyed it quite a bit so I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: With Seduction in Mind by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted November 12, 2009 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: With Seduction in Mind by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Holly
With Seduction in Mind by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Girl Bachelors #4
Also in this series: And Then He Kissed Her, The Wicked Ways of a Duke
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: August 25th 2009
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Her proposition . . .
London Society is harsh for a young woman with no family connections who has to work for a living. But when Daisy Merrick is sacked from yet another job, the feisty and outspoken miss comes up with a plan that could give her a future beyond her wildest dreams. There's only one problem. Her success depends on a man, the most infuriating, impossible, immovable man she's ever met. His resolution . . .
Sebastian Grant, Earl of Avermore, is England's most infamous author. Known for his notorious reputation, he is more interested in play than work, and has no intention of cooperating when Daisy shows up on his doorstep with a mad plan. The provoking, fire-haired beauty stirs his senses beyond belief, and Sebastian knows he has only one way to stop her. Seduction.

 

I enjoy LLG’s writing style. I really liked parts of this book, but something about the seduction of the heroine bothered me. I can’t quite put my finger on what. It might have something to do with me being a prude over a woman losing her virginity outside of marriage in a historical. I need to contemplate for a bit before deciding.

That aside, I enjoyed the setting and the basic premise. I like that LLG tends to write characters outside of the norm. In this case the hero is an Earl, …more I enjoy LLG’s writing style. I’ve read all but one of the previous books in this series and I was anxious to finally get to Daisy.

I really liked parts of this book, but something about the seduction of the heroine bothered me. I can’t quite put my finger on what. It might have something to do with me being a prude over a woman losing her virginity outside of marriage in a historical. I need to contemplate that.

That aside, I enjoyed the setting and the basic premise. I like that LLG tends to write characters outside of the norm. In this case the hero is an Earl, but also a writer. That’s refreshing.

I liked Sebastian’s character. He’s been suffering from writer’s block for years and he’s all but given up on finishing another book. His frustration when Daisy pushes him to write came across well and I really did feel for him. I like that Guhrke gave us a reason for his writer’s block.

Daisy was fun and feisty, and I really like that she didn’t back down just because society expected her to. Watching her and Sebastian verbally spar was great fun. I think one of the reasons I liked her was her willingness to admit when she was wrong, but still persevere. She kept going even when things got tough. I really admired that about her.

It was good to see the other Girl-Bachelors again. I like that the women formed a strong friendship and Guhrke really showcases it. Overall a good read. If you’re looking for something light and quick, this is a definite winner.
4 out of 5

The series:

Book CoverBook CoverBook CoverBook Cover

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: The Wicked Ways of a Duke by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted November 5, 2009 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: The Wicked Ways of a Duke by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Holly
The Wicked Ways of a Duke by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Girl Bachelors #2
Also in this series: And Then He Kissed Her, With Seduction in Mind
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: October 13th 2009
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

She thought she was the luckiest woman in London . . .
Surviving on a seamstress' income and a steady stream of fantasies, Prudence Bosworth has always longed for love and romance. Then she inherits a fortune from the father she's never seen, with the stipulation that she wed in one year. Prudence is determined to marry for true love, and after seeing firsthand the splendid chivalry of a certain duke, only one man will do . . .
Rhys de Winter, the Duke of St. Cyres, hides his cynicism behind a quick wit and an even quicker smile. He must marry an heiress, and as luck would have it, the pretty little seamstress-turned-heiress is exactly what he needs. But he never expected to fall for Prudence, and when his shocking deception is revealed, he will stop at nothing to win her back . . . even if it means renouncing every last one of his wicked ways.

 

The Wicked Ways of a Duke is the second book in Laura Lee Guhrke’s Girl-Bachelor series, which is based around four working-class women who call themselves girl-bachelors. I read and enjoyed the first book, And Then He Kissed Her, so I was looking forward to carrying on with the series.

I had some issues – namely that the heroine had major self-image issues and the author kept referring to her as “plump” when she was described as anything but. In this case the author actually gave the heroine’s measurements and they’re pretty much spot-on with mine. I take offense to being called “plump”, which I most certainly am not (and even if I were, that’s an offensive word, IMO). Also, the hero was a complete ass for the first 1/2-3/4 of the book.

However, the author really turned it around for me. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed both characters at the end, and how glad I was to see them fall in love. I almost put the book down because of my frustrations, but I’m glad I finished it.

Prudence was a down-to-earth kind of girl who wanted to be a dreamer. She was a realist about her situation and did her best to stay focused on the here and now, but she couldn’t help daydreaming about a better life and someone to share it with. I really liked her.

St. Cyres was a complete ass for the first half of the book. Prudence thinks he’s a true gentleman who cares for her, and he plays her and manipulates her without even a pinch of his conscience. He needs to marry an heiress and that’s all that matters to him. At first I was really put off by him, but as the story progressed I really warmed up to him. Although he doesn’t want to admit it, we as the reader can see him falling in love with her. Because he was such an ass, watching him fall was sweet indeed. Plus it helped that Prudence didn’t make it easy for him.

The story got off to a rocky start, but I’m glad I hung in there and kept reading. Annoyances aside, this was a cute story.

3.75 out of 5

The series:

Book CoverBook CoverBook CoverBook Cover

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: And Then He Kissed Her by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted June 25, 2007 by Holly in Reviews | 9 Comments

Review: And Then He Kissed Her by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Holly
And Then He Kissed Her by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Girl Bachelors #1
Also in this series: The Wicked Ways of a Duke, With Seduction in Mind
Published by Harper Collins
Publication Date: October 13th 2009
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Supremely sensible Emmaline Dove wishes to share her etiquette expertise with London’s readers, and as secretary to Viscount Marlowe, Emma knows she’s in the perfect position to make her dreams come true. Marlowe might be a rake with a preference for cancan dancers and an aversion to matrimony, but he is also the city’s leading publisher, and Emma is convinced he’s her best chance to see her work in print…until she discovers the lying scoundrel has been rejecting her manuscripts without ever reading a single page!

As a publisher, Harry finds reading etiquette books akin to slow, painful torture. Besides, he can’t believe his proper secretary has the passion to write anything worth reading. Then she has the nerve to call him a liar, and even resigns without notice, leaving his business in uproar and his honor in question. Harry decides it’s time to teach Miss Dove a few things that aren’t proper. But when he kisses her, he discovers that his former secretary has more passion and fire than he ever imagined, for one luscious taste of her lips only leaves him hungry for more…

 

I haven’t really been in the mood for a historical in ages, but Kris had a review of this book up and it sounded nice, so I decided to pick it up.

Emma is a girl-bachelor and secretary to Harry, Viscount Marlowe. She’s been writing etiquette novels with the hope of being published by him, but he keeps rejecting her manuscripts. When Harry let’s it slip that he hasn’t actually read any of Emma’s works, she gets extremely angry and resigns her position with him – without notice – and starts writing a column for one of Harry’s competitors. Harry, left in a lurch at the sudden departure of his invaluable secretary, hunts her down to offer her job back to her. Something he feels is quite gracious. Emma refuses.

Through a series of events, however, Emma ends up writing for Harry once again and they both battle their mutual attraction for one another.

Emma was a wonderful heroine. She was a bit stodgy, but she was also a woman who knew her own mind. I really liked that she didn’t fancy herself in love with Harry like so many other women and that she was very practical. She was aware of her strengths and weaknesses, and was willing to admit when she was wrong or had made a bad judgment call. She was a breath of fresh air for a romance heroine.

Harry was also very enjoyable. Though he was somewhat predictable, I truly enjoyed watching him come around and realize what a gem Emma was. He was forced to face some hard truths about himself, and he did it with aplomb. Although it wasn’t as easy for him as it was for Emma, he, too, admitted when he was wrong. It was totally refreshing.

I seem to be following a pattern here, but one of the things that worked best for me with this story was that the focus stayed on Emma and Harry. We met several secondary characters – Emma’s roommates and Harry’s sisters – but they didn’t detract from the main protagonists HEA.

Although the story was rather simple, a bit predictable and somewhat fluffy, it was truly enjoyable.

3.75 out of 5

This book is available from Avon. You can purchase it here.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,