Author: Laura Lee Guhrke

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Posted May 25, 2018 by Rowena in Giveaways, Reviews | 12 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am in graduation mode right now and haven’t read a word this week other than my to-do list. I wish I could continue reading Claimed by Rebecca Zanetti because it’s so good. I really am loving this series.

Holly: I’m visiting Casee this week, so my reading time has been limited. I finished the Warrior Chronicles by K.F Breene. Invasion, Siege and Overtaken were the final three. I enjoyed the series as a whole. I really needed the kickass women vibe this week. After that I read Melt for You by J.T. Geissinger, the second book in the Slow Burn series. The heroine annoyed me toward the end, but it was a pretty good read overall. I loved the hero. I liked the first book, Burn for You, a bit better, and in fact reread it after I finished Melt for You.

Rowena: I’m on vacation this week so I was busy getting ready for my trip to really pick anything up. I did manage to finish Speakeasy by Sarina Bowen, which I really enjoyed. I’ve been seeing a bunch of people not loving the book or the hero, Alec but me? I freaking loved them both. Alec wasn’t the easiest hero to love but I did grow to love him and was completely sold on his love for May. I thought he proved himself to be a wonderful match for her. I loved seeing him grow up and not be so stubborn when it came to making his dreams come true. You really see the growth in his character so I really didn’t understand why people disliked him so much. May was May, I loved her too and really enjoyed seeing her come into her own. Her love for Alec warmed my heart and seeing them together made me happy. I couldn’t have asked for a better romance for them.

Right now, I’m finishing up Making Up by Lucy Parker which is another fabulous addition to Parker’s London Celebrities series and after this, I’ll be jumping into I Flipping Love You by Helena Hunting. Lots of great reading hours coming my way, woot!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Dear Lady Truelove #2
Also in this series: The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove #2), The Truth About Love and Dukes (Dear Lady Truelove, #1), The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Dear Lady Truelove,

I am a girl of noble family, but I am painfully shy, especially in my encounters with those of the opposite sex . . .

For Clara Deverill, standing in for the real Lady Truelove means dispensing advice on problems she herself has never managed to overcome. There’s nothing for it but to retreat to a tearoom and hope inspiration strikes between scones. It doesn’t—until Clara overhears a rake waxing eloquent on the art of “honorable” jilting. The cad may look like an Adonis, but he’s about to find himself on the wrong side of Lady Truelove.

Rex Galbraith is an heir with no plans to produce a spare. He flirts with the minimum number of eligible young ladies to humor his matchmaking aunt, but Clara is the first to ever catch his roving eye. When he realizes that Clara—as Lady Truelove—has used his advice as newspaper fodder, he’s infuriated. But when he’s forced into a secret alliance with her, he realizes he’s got a much bigger problem—because Clara is upending everything Rex thought he knew about women—and about himself. . . .

What Are You Reading: The Trouble with True Love by Laura Lee Gurhke

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: The Trouble with True Love by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted March 7, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Trouble with True Love by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Rowena
The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Dear Lady Truelove #2
Also in this series: The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove #2), The Truth About Love and Dukes (Dear Lady Truelove, #1), The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Dear Lady Truelove,

I am a girl of noble family, but I am painfully shy, especially in my encounters with those of the opposite sex . . .

For Clara Deverill, standing in for the real Lady Truelove means dispensing advice on problems she herself has never managed to overcome. There’s nothing for it but to retreat to a tearoom and hope inspiration strikes between scones. It doesn’t—until Clara overhears a rake waxing eloquent on the art of “honorable” jilting. The cad may look like an Adonis, but he’s about to find himself on the wrong side of Lady Truelove.

Rex Galbraith is an heir with no plans to produce a spare. He flirts with the minimum number of eligible young ladies to humor his matchmaking aunt, but Clara is the first to ever catch his roving eye. When he realizes that Clara—as Lady Truelove—has used his advice as newspaper fodder, he’s infuriated. But when he’s forced into a secret alliance with her, he realizes he’s got a much bigger problem—because Clara is upending everything Rex thought he knew about women—and about himself. . . .

The Trouble with True Love is the second book in Laura Lee Guhrke’s Dear Lady Truelove series and as much as I enjoyed the first book, I enjoyed this book far more.

With Clara’s sister on her honeymoon with her new husband, Clara is left in charge of the family business. Everything was okay until her sister extended her honeymoon and Clara was on her own for the actual running of the newspaper. All of the content that Irene made sure was finished and ready to go has been published and new content is needed and Clara is in a pickle because she has no experience with any of that. When she’s trying to figure out what to do about a new Lady Truelove article, she overhears a conversation that gets her all riled up and just like that, she’s got an idea for her article.

Rex, Lord Galbraith, is his father’s heir but he’s got no plans to ever marry or sire any children so true love? It’s not for him. When a private conversation he has with one of his good friends is published in the Dear Lady Truelove column, Rex is pissed. Putting two and two together, he figures out exactly who is behind the Lady Truelove column and wastes no time calling her out on her shit. It doesn’t matter that she is the first woman to ever catch his attention and hold it. It doesn’t matter that he is attracted to her like he’s never been attracted to someone before. What matters is that she put her nose in the middle of something that is none of her business and ruined his friend’s life because of that.

Lady Clara isn’t surprised that Lord Galbraith figured out where he knew her from but she is freaking out that he is threatening to expose the truth behind Lady Truelove and she’ll do whatever it takes to get him to agree not to do that. When Rex finds himself working for Lady Clara, nobody is more surprised than he is but destiny awaits him and he can do nothing but soldier on.

I really liked this book. From beginning to end, I was wrapped up in Rex and Clara’s romance. I loved seeing them go from not liking each other at all to missing each other when they were apart. Seeing Clara blossom under Rex’s care and advice was pretty great too…and seeing Rex come to care for Clara?? swoon I loved seeing him fight his feelings until it was too late. He was sunk and gah, the way that he goes about trying to win Clara back? Gah, I’m such a sucker for this stuff. So good.

Laura Lee Guhrke is really impressing me with this series and I’m super thrilled to continue. I’m curious to know if Jonathan will come back and get his own story…I’ve got my fingers crossed. This was a great romance with a wonderful cast of characters and a main couple that were too cute for words. I definitely recommend.

Dear Lady Truelove Series

4.25 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Truth about Love and Dukes by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted March 6, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Truth about Love and Dukes by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Rowena
The Truth About Love and Dukes (Dear Lady Truelove, #1) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Dear Lady Truelove #1
Also in this series: The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove #2), The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2), The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: March 28th 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Dear Lady Truelove . . . I have fallen in love, truly and completely in love, for the first time. The man whom I hold in such passionate regard, however, is not of my station. He is a painter, a brilliant artist. Needless to say, my family would not approve . . .

Henry, Duke of Torquil, wouldn’t be caught reading the wildly popular “Dear Lady Truelove” column, but when its advice causes his mother to embark on a scandalous elopement, an outraged Henry decides the author of this tripe must be stopped before she can ruin any more lives. Though Lady Truelove’s identity is a closely guarded secret, Henry has reason to suspect the publisher of the notorious column, beautiful and provoking Irene Deverill, is also its author.

For Irene, it’s easy to advise others to surrender to passion, but when she meets the Duke of Torquil, she soon learns that passion comes at a price. When one impulsive, spur-of-the-moment kiss pulls her into a scorching affair with Henry, it could destroy her beloved newspaper, her career, and her independence. But in the duke’s arms, surrender is so, so sweet . . .

It’s been quite a while since I’ve read a romance by Laura Lee Guhrke but when I saw this book, I wanted it. The whole blurb just sounded like something I would enjoy so when my book club chose it as our first book of the year, I was stoked. The Truth about Love and Dukes is the first book in the Dear Lady Truelove series and it introduces a bunch of characters that I have to come to love and can’t wait to get to know them more.

Irene Hastings is a newspaper publisher who has worked her butt off to bring the family business back to making a profit. Her father is an alcoholic and ran the family business into the ground so when her older brother was thrown out of their home and the business, it was up to her to save the family from ruin and it was in those desperate times that Society Snippets was invented. Along with Society Snippets, which is a gossip column, Lady Truelove’s advice column was also brought to life. Lady Truelove has been dispersing love advice to readers and the current Duke of Torquil is not at all happy with the latest advice that Lady Truelove has given.

Henry Cavanaugh, the Duke of Torquil has got a lot going on. He looks after his family and that is a full-time job because everyone lives with him. His two unmarried sisters, his brother in law and two nephews, his other brother and his wife…and his Mom. His Mom hasn’t been around much lately because she’s taking some art lessons from an Italian artist and though people are speculating about her relationship with the artist, Henry doesn’t put too much stock into it until his family brings Lady Truelove’s advice column and he sees that the woman asking for advice can only be his mother and the advice that Lady Truelove gives is abominable for his mother but also for his family.

When Henry and Irene meet for the first time, I was on one hand delighted with Irene’s forward thinking and her strong will to do what is right by her readers and for her newspaper. I liked that she didn’t bow to anyone, no matter what rank they held. On the other hand, I was completely appalled with Henry’s attitude and the way that he tended to think and act on behalf of everyone in his family. Like, he didn’t trust them to make decisions for themselves.

The more that I read about Henry and why he was the way that he was, the more that I understood and while I still didn’t like it, I learned to like him. He comes a long way over the course of the book and getting to know both him and Irene was a lot of fun. I loved what they brought out in each other. I loved seeing them with their families and I really came to love the two of them together.

I will say that the beginning of the story was slow for me. It took me a while to get into it and I think that was because I wanted to strangle Henry almost from the very beginning. It took me a week of starting and stopping the book before I was finally able to push through and finish it. I’m so glad that I finished it but that slow beginning wasn’t fun. Other than the slow beginning though, this is a solid romance. The middle and ending more than made up for the beginning so all in all, it wasn’t so bad.

Dear Lady Truelove Series

Grade: 3.75 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Trouble with True Love by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted January 24, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Trouble with True Love by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Tracy
The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove #2) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Series: Dear Lady Truelove #2
Also in this series: The Truth About Love and Dukes (Dear Lady Truelove, #1), The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2), The Trouble with True Love (Dear Lady Truelove, #2)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 30th 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

Dear Lady Truelove,

I am a girl of noble family, but I am painfully shy, especially in my encounters with those of the opposite sex . . .

For Clara Deverill, standing in for the real Lady Truelove means dispensing advice on problems she herself has never managed to overcome. There’s nothing for it but to retreat to a tearoom and hope inspiration strikes between scones. It doesn’t—until Clara overhears a rake waxing eloquent on the art of “honorable” jilting. The cad may look like an Adonis, but he’s about to find himself on the wrong side of Lady Truelove.

Rex Galbraith is an heir with no plans to produce a spare. He flirts with the minimum number of eligible young ladies to humor his matchmaking aunt, but Clara is the first to ever catch his roving eye. When he realizes that Clara—as Lady Truelove—has used his advice as newspaper fodder, he’s infuriated. But when he’s forced into a secret alliance with her, he realizes he’s got a much bigger problem—because Clara is upending everything Rex thought he knew about women—and about himself. . . .

Clara is in a pickle. Her sister runs the family’s newspaper and their most popular feature is an advice column called Dear Lady Truelove. Clara’s sister Irene is the one who answers all of the letters. When Irene left on her honeymoon she left enough material for the time she’d be gone. Unfortunately for Clara, Irene and her new husband have decided to extend their trip. Clara has to write advice to someone and she has no idea what to write because the author of the letter could be her! She’s in the same boat as the person in need of advice. She heads to a tea shop to concentrate and instead hears a man giving his friend advice on how to avoid marriage. Clara takes notes and prints almost everything he said in the Dear Lady Truelove column.

When Rex Galbraith finds out what has happened he’s understandably very angry. He confronts Clara and she eventually tells him about the column and then has a brilliant idea – have Galbraith write the column while Irene is away! He does it for a fee but this puts the two of them close together on a regular basis.

Rex has absolutely no interest in marriage – ever! When he meets Clara, however, he finds that while he normally avoids innocent women, he’s impossibly attracted to her. He can’t keep himself away – even after their pretend courtship disintegrates.

This was such a cute story. I loved how Rex just couldn’t keep himself away from Clara. She wasn’t incredibly beautiful, until she smiled that is, and then his world tilted on its axis. I loved that! I appreciated that he was always completely truthful to Clara about his plans for the future and that they could still be friends.

The end of the book was a good one and I found the HEA very satisfying. This story has friendship, love, family and sexy times – a great combination that became a really great romance.

Dear Lady Truelove Series

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Lightning Review: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke

Posted October 10, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Lightning Review: Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee GuhrkeReviewer: Holly
Trouble at the Wedding (Abandoned at the Altar, #3) by Laura Lee Guhrke
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: December 27th 2011
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Annabel is about to marry the perfect man…

The last thing Miss Annabel Wheaton desires is true love. She learned the hard way that love makes a woman foolish and only leads to heartache. That’s why she agreed to marry an earl who needs her money. He’s got a pedigree and a country estate, and he won’t ever break her heart. There’s only one problem…

Christian isn’t about to let her marry that pompous prig…

Christian Du Quesne, Duke of Scarborough, thinks this stubborn heiress is about to make the biggest mistake of her life, and he’s determined to stop her. Tempting beautiful women is Christian’s forte, after all. When her family offers him a nice sum of money to stop the wedding, he’s happy to accept. Falling in love with Annabel wasn’t supposed to be part of the bargain…

Trouble at the Wedding by Laura Lee Guhrke is book 3 in the Abandoned at the Alter series. I didn’t read the other books in this series. I don’t feel I missed anything by reading out of order.

I enjoyed the setting and unconventional heroine. With the flood of regencies on the market, its refreshing to read about something different. This was a quick read for me. I enjoyed both Annabel and Christian. She’s an heiress with a fiance she know she’ll never love..something she’s quite happy about. Unfortunately, Christian knows she’s making a huge mistake marrying the pig she affianced to, so he sets about trying to convince her she’s wrong.

Ghurke writes fun, fast-paced historials. I really enjoyed the setting, the characters and the sweet romance.

3.5 out of 5

The series:

Book CoverBook CoverBook Cover

This book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,