Author: Kylie Scott

Guest Review: Trust by Kylie Scott

Posted July 25, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Trust by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Trust by Kylie Scott
Published by Kylie Scott
Publication Date: July 18th 2017
Genres: Young Adult
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Being young is all about the experiences: the first time you skip school, the first time you fall in love…the first time someone holds a gun to your head.

After being held hostage during a robbery at the local convenience store, seventeen-year-old Edie finds her attitude about life shattered. Unwilling to put up with the snobbery and bullying at her private school, she enrolls at the local public high school, crossing paths with John. The boy who risked his life to save hers.

While Edie’s beginning to run wild, however, John’s just starting to settle down. After years of partying and dealing drugs with his older brother, he’s going straight—getting to class on time, and thinking about the future.

An unlikely bond grows between the two as John keeps Edie out of trouble and helps her broaden her horizons. But when he helps her out with another first—losing her virginity—their friendship gets complicated.

Meanwhile, Edie and John are pulled back into the dangerous world they narrowly escaped. They were lucky to survive the first time, but this time they have more to lose—each other.

Edie is spending the night at her friend Georgia’s house and having a movie night during summer break. They’re in the middle of a Harry Potter marathon but end up driving across town at midnight to fill up on snacks.  Edie is dressed in pajamas but less revealing PJ’s than her friend so she heads into the Drop Stop to get the snacks.  Unfortunately for Edie she ends up in the middle of a robbery that leaves two dead.  One of the customers in the store starts talking to the robber and Edie starts to wonder if they’re together but she soon figures out that he’s trying to save their lives.  After a crazy standoff Edie and the talker, John, make it out of the store with their lives.

Obviously Edie’s not the same person coming out as she was when she went into the store that night.  Having a gun shoved into your mouth tends to make a person look at life differently.  Edie just wants to be left alone and refuses all interviews but her best friend…ex-best friend goes on camera and twists everything that Edie had told her about John and how he’d helped out the night of the robbery.  Edie is heartbroken.  When she gets back to her private school she starts to get teased but the resident bully – as she has been for the past three years – but she finds she’s not going to take it any longer.  After a horrible first day of school Edie ends up in the public school where she meets…John, her savior from the Drop Stop.

Everyone tells her to stay away from John as he’s the local pot dealer but John says he’s quite dealing and is trying to be a model citizen.  After the night at the Drop Stop and seeing what drugs can do to a person, John is determined to have a better life.  John tells Edie to stay away from him because she’ll look guilty for everything just by association. Edie doesn’t listen and soon the pair are inseparable.  Can the two learn to trust each other enough to take their relationship farther or will their past come back to get them in the end?

This was such a great story.  With the robbery scene happening right off the bat when the book begins it truly sucked me in.  Scott wrote the scene so very well and I was actually scared while reading it – on the edge of my seat waiting to see what happened.  It was good.

The remainder of the story was Edie and John trying to deal with their lives and falling in love after their ordeal.  It was a time of distrust for both of them and the way they dealt with their issues was worth reading about.  John was what was considered a bad boy but he really had a good heart and was a good guy in the end.  Edie needed John’s strength so that she could find her own in the end and she did,  in a big way.

The story is a good and a book I definitely recommend.

Though only a couple of places were mentioned about the town that the book took place in, it was cool as I used to live in that town in Northern California.  It was cool to read about that small but great town. 😊

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Twist by Kylie Scott

Posted April 19, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Twist by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Twist by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #2
Also in this series: Dirty, Dirty
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 11th 2017
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

When his younger brother loses interest in online dating, hot, bearded, bartender extraordinaire, Joe Collins, only intends to log into his account and shut it down. Until he reads about her.

Alex Parks is funny, friendly, and pretty much everything he's been looking for in a woman. And in no time at all they're emailing up a storm, telling each other their deepest darkest secrets... apart from the one that really matters.

And when it comes to love, serving it straight up works better than with a twist.

Alex Parks works from home in Seattle.  She signed up on an online dating site and has been emailing back and forth with a super-hot guy named Eric.  She’s knows it’s his birthday and that he’ll have a get-together with friends and family at Dive Bar, where he is part owner.  Alex hadn’t heard from Eric for a few weeks so decides to fly to Coeur d’Alene, Idaho to surprise him.  Eric’s incredibly surprised when she arrives because he has absolutely no idea who she is.  It turns out that Alex had been getting catfished by Eric’s brother, Joe.

Joe had helped Eric sign up for the dating site but Eric quickly lost interest.  Joe planned on shutting Eric’s account down but when he saw a message from Alex he answered her…as Eric.  Six months had gone by and Joe still hadn’t come clean about the fact that he wasn’t who he said he was.  When he sees Alex he’s more than freaked out that she’s in Dive Bar but truly wants to talk to he and get to know her.  She’s mad at both Joe for being an idiot and herself for falling for someone online.  Joe is persistent and doesn’t give up trying with Alex.  Eventually Alex decides to hear him out but instead of heading home to Seattle after their talk, she gets the flu.  She’s miserable but Joe is there to help her.  As the two get to know each other they become friends for real and then so much more.

This was a great book.  I really loved both Alex and Joe and together they made me laugh, a lot.  They worked together so well and played off each other’s strengths.  Alex was a snarky woman and I loved that.  The fact that Joe could not only keep up but give it back to her made me like them even more.

The friends to lovers aspect of the book was done well, I thought, especially in light of Joe’s catfishing.  Once they became lovers I thought nothing could break them apart but of course the author proved me wrong.  Fortunately they got their HEA and I was quite pleased with the outcome of the book.

If you haven’t read either Dirty or Twist, you really need to as they’re darned good books.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Oh, and this cover? Yum. 🙂

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted May 10, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Rowena
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Twist
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19, 2016
Genres: New Adult
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she'd marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong-maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

This is the first book in a new Dive Bar series by Kylie Scott and it was also my first book read by Scott. I’ve read nothing but good things about her Stage Dive series and I’ve been meaning to read those books but never got around to it. That didn’t stop me from jumping into this book and I’m glad that I did give this book a shot because it was an enjoyable read.

Lydia Greene thought she was marrying Chris but when she sees a video of her fiance getting down and dirty with his best man, she jumps the fence and hides out in the neighbors bathtub. She’s so lost in thought that she doesn’t hear anyone come into the house until the guy is in the bathroom, taking a leak and turning the shower on with her still in the tub.

Vaughan Hewson’s band broke up, he’s broke and he’s back in his hometown. He needs to hit the reset button, get a plan together and then make it happen. He was expecting to get some grief from his sister for not visiting often, for not keeping in contact but what he was not expecting was a woman sitting in his bathtub in a wedding dress. He also wasn’t expecting all the drama that would follow that woman on his first day home. But the woman needs someone in her corner and before Vaughan knows what’s what, he finds himself in her corner.

Nobody is more surprised than both Vaughan and Lydia at how quickly they get close. The chemistry between them sizzles and I found their romance completely charming.

Vaughan was a solid hero whose tattoos I wanted to lick at the same time that I wanted to hug him close and tell him that everything would work itself out. I loved the easy way that he was with Lydia but also with everyone in his circle of friends and his family. There’s a wealth of love between all of the characters in this series and I felt it. I’m pretty anxious to see who gets their story told next. I think it’s too soon for Nell and Pat (they are going to get their story told, right?) but I wouldn’t be mad about Eric getting his book next.

There’s a Mal sighting in this book and even though I don’t know who he is (haven’t read his book), I remember Holly reading and loving him so I’m pretty anxious to dig into his series. This was a great start to a new series and I enjoyed this book enough to be thirsty for the next book.

4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Dirty by Kylie Scott

Posted April 18, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Dirty by Kylie ScottReviewer: Tracy
Dirty by Kylie Scott
Series: Dive Bar #1
Also in this series: Dirty, Twist
Published by St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: April 19th 2016
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Love—on the rocks....

The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a brokenhearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that come with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to scream or cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together.

Just when this runaway bride has nowhere left to turn, a handsome stranger offers her a broad, muscular shoulder to cry on. Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessmen she's normally drawn to. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and is facing his own crossroads. But Lydia's already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong--maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?

Dirty is the first book in the Dive Bar series from bestselling author Kylie Scott.

Lydia is quite upset, to say the least, when she is getting ready to walk down the aisle, literally, and she’s sent a video showing her bridegroom having sex with his best man.  She makes an instant decision to run rather than face her fiance’s snobbish and judgmental family.  She heads out the back door, crosses the lawn and climbs over the back fence.  She finds the yard she’s fallen into has a house with an open window.  She climbs in – gets into the tub and cries her eyes out.  Yes, she’s distraught about the wedding but when she thinks about it there were clues to this and she ignored them.

A while later the homeowner, Vaughan Hewson, arrives and starts the shower.  When he pulls back the curtain and finds Lydia he’s shocked but handles it well.  After hearing her story he ends up taking care of her a bit and even eventually offers her a place to stay while she finds a place to stay.

Vaughan is recovering from a band tour that ended with his band breaking up.  He’s trying to get a new one back together so that he can continue his music career but needs the money from the sale of the house to support himself.  Lydia being a real estate agent helps him and they both end up helping his sister in her bar/restaurant, The Dive Bar. While Vaughan and Lydia are getting back on their feet their finding themselves crazy about each other but both with the thought that what they’ve started will end soon as she’ll be moving and he’ll be back in LA with a new band.  Neither of them are thrilled with that thought but they know that it will happen eventually.

Meanwhile, Nell, Vaughan’s sister, has her own share of problems.  She’s separated from her husband but he owns a third of The Dive Bar along with her friend Eric.  She wants to buy him out but doesn’t have the money.  She’s slept with the third owner, Eric, and that’s made both Vaughan and Nell’s husband, Pat (yes, they’re still technically married) pissed off. Then there’s co-worker and friend Joe who’s got something up his sleeve but we never find out what that is.

The story is fun and funny as well as heart-wrenching in places.  Vaughan’s parents had died and he had never come to terms with it all.  He was avoiding dealing with it emotionally as it was just too hard for him.  That was one of the things that Lydia helped him with and I loved seeing her bluntness with him about it.  It was what he needed to hear as everyone else had just beat around the bush and avoided the subject with him.

The relationship with Lydia and Vaughan happens very quickly.  Major life decisions are made on the basis of knowing each other for a week.  While you would think that it couldn’t happen – it really did – and Kylie Scott made me believe that it could.  The story ended with what most would say was an HEA but I liked to think of it more of a HFN with a definite HEA on the horizon.  The pair knew where they were going and planned it together but they knew that life wasn’t easy and there were be obstacles.  They just planned on tackling them together.

Dirty is a great book and while I did have a few questions about Lydia that were never answered, it didn’t take away from my overall enjoyment of the story.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Deep by Kylie Scott

Posted March 31, 2015 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Deep by Kylie ScottReviewer: Holly
Deep by Kylie Scott
Series: Stage Dive #4
Also in this series: Lick: Stage Dive 1, Lead: Stage Dive 3, Lick (Stage Dive #1), Play
Published by Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: March 31st 2015
Pages: 231
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Don't miss a beat with the fourth and final novel in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Stage Dive series from Kylie Scott.

Positive. With two little lines on a pregnancy test, everything in Lizzy Rollins' ordinary life is about to change forever. And all because of one big mistake in Vegas with Ben Nicholson, the irresistibly sexy bass player for Stage Dive. So what if Ben's the only man she's ever met who can make her feel completely safe, cherished, and out of control with desire at the same time? Lizzy knows the gorgeous rock star isn't looking for anything more permanent than a good time, no matter how much she wishes differently.

Ben knows Lizzy is off limits. Completely and utterly. She's his best friend's little sister now, and no matter how hot the chemistry is between them, no matter how sweet and sexy she is, he's not going to go there. But when Ben is forced to keep the one girl he's always had a weakness for out of trouble in Sin City, he quickly learns that what happens in Vegas, doesn't always stay there. Now he and Lizzie are connected in the deepest way possible . . . but will it lead to a connection of the heart?

I was really looking forward to Ben and Liz’s story after all the buildup in the previous books.

We first met Lizzie in Play, book two. Her sister, Anne, got into a relationship with Stage Dive’s drummer, Mal. Lizzie was immediately drawn to bass player Ben, but Mal warned Ben off her right away. Anne was worried about Ben’s reputation and didn’t want him anywhere near her sister. Ben tried to stay away from her, but Liz made it nearly impossible. She started texting him right away, and despite everything they formed a friendship. But still, he made it clear it couldn’t be anything else…until the night of her sister’s wedding, when he took her back to her hotel room and did delicious, dirty things to her.

After months of pushing, Liz was thrilled when Ben finally took her up on her offer. She’d come to know him quite well, and her feelings had deepened from a causal crush to something more. She thought he was finally ready to commit to being with her, to bring their relationship out in the open, until he disabused her of that notion first thing the next morning. So she does what any self-respecting woman who’s spent the last few months throwing herself at a man only to get rejected does – she threw him out of her room, sans pants, then proceeded to avoid him like the plague. Until a few months later, when they can’t avoid each other anymore. Amid tension from the band and a world tour, Liz and Ben need to work on finding a way to navigate the future together.

Liz’s crush on Ben and his avoidance made me think there was going to be a lot of tension in this book, and I was right. Unfortunately the buildup worked against it in a lot of ways. Ben’s fear of commitment and constant push/pull with Liz was frustrating. The final resolution especially worked against the story. Liz did all the giving, while Ben spent the majority of the book pushing her away. I wish their issues had been addressed in the end, rather than him making a grand gesture and her caving. They had a lot to work out between each other, yet we were to believe “I love you” made everything all right? I didn’t buy it.

That aside, there was quite a bit I liked. Liz was a fun, irreverent character who was easy to sympathize with. Though she was young (she turned 21 in the book), she knew what she wanted and didn’t let anyone treat her like a child.

His hands tensed on my shoulders, fingers rubbing. “I told you not to come in here.”
“I know.” I sniffed, then set my chin on his chest and gazed up adoringly at him. “But have you noticed how I actually make my own choices like a real live adult?”

Her relationship with her sister was well written. Their mother wasn’t much on being maternal, so they basically raised each other. Anne sacrificed a lot for Liz, and Liz took care of Anne as much as she could. They had a strong sibling bond that came across not just in their heart-to-hearts, but in their every day conversations.

“Huh.” The whites of Anne’s eyes were showing. “Good. This makes me think better of the bearded wonder.”
“Mm.” It was a step up from her calling him the Sperminator, at least.

I liked how she connected with other members of the band and their significant others. I didn’t like how she spent the majority of the book sitting in her room, watching t.v.. She needed to get out more and make friends outside the ladies of the band. Actually, I would have liked to see her have a life outside the band, period.

When Ben let his guard down, he was actually pretty funny and sweet. Unfortunately we didn’t see enough of that. It doesn’t help that the story is told in first-person from Liz’s POV. His relationship with his bandmates came across well and I liked how quick they were to call him out, and how quick he was to admit they were right, when he was being an ass.

Though I had some issues, I fell right into the story. Humor, angst, romance…this had it all. I wish it hadn’t ended the way it did, but I can’t deny it was an engrossing read.

3.5 out of 5

 

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,