Author: Julie Garwood

Retro Review: Shadow Music by Julie Garwood

Posted February 22, 2017 by Holly in Discussions, Reviews | 15 Comments

Retro Review: Shadow Music by Julie GarwoodReviewer: Holly
Shadow Music by Julie Garwood
Series: Highlands Lairds #3
Also in this series: Ransom
Published by Ballantine Books
Publication Date: 2008
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, General
Pages: 438
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-half-stars

Throughout her acclaimed writing career, Julie Garwood has captivated readers with characters who are compelling, daring, and bursting with life. Now one of the most popular novelists of our time proudly returns to her beloved historical romance roots–in a thrilling tale of love, murder, adventure, and mystery set against the haunting landscape of medieval Scotland.
For Princess Gabrielle of St. Biel, Scotland is a land of stunning vistas, wild chieftains, treacherous glens, and steep shadows–skullduggery, betrayal, and now murder. Prized for her exquisite beauty, the daughter of one of England’s most influential barons, Gabrielle is also a perfect bargaining chip for a king who needs peace in the Highlands: King John has arranged Gabrielle’s marriage to a good and gentle laird. But this marriage will never take place.
For Gabrielle, everything changes in one last burst of freedom–when she and her guards come upon a scene of unimaginable cruelty. With one shot from her bow and arrow, Gabrielle takes a life, saves a life, and begins a war.
Within days, the Highlands are aflame with passions as a battle royal flares between enemies old and new. Having come to Scotland to be married, Gabrielle is instead entangled in Highland intrigue. For two sadistic noblemen, underestimating Gabrielle’s bravery and prowess may prove fatal. But thanks to a secret Gabrielle possesses, Colm MacHugh, the most feared man in Scotland, finds a new cause for courage. Under his penetrating gaze, neither Gabrielle’s body nor heart is safe.
A gripping novel that delves into the heart of emotions–unyielding passions of love, hate, revenge, and raw desire–Shadow Music is magnificent gift from Julie Garwood and a crowning achievement in her amazing career.
From the Hardcover edition.

******As part of our 10 year anniversary celebration, we’ll be re-posting old reviews that make us cringe, laugh or sigh all over again.

Man, I love me some early Julie Garwood historicals. She lost me with her romantic suspense. I remember being so excited when she announced she was releasing a new historical. I’m still pretty disappointed it didn’t live up to my expectations. I wonder what would happen if I read it now? I might need to reread it and see if I still feel the same. 

This review was originally published January 8, 2008

This is less a review about this particular book and more my thoughts on the writing of Julie Garwood. Casee reviewed the book here. You can check that out for a plot summary and her thoughts, for they mostly mirrored mine.

Throughout her career, JG has remained a favorite of mine. Well, let me clarify. Prior to Killjoy she was a favorite of mine. Her historicals still call to me on occasion and I find myself picking them up at random, anxious to sink into an old, comfortable story, similar to how I might slip on my favorite sweats after a long day at work, or pop in a favorite DVD if I’ve had a particularly bad day.

But after Killjoy, not only did I think contemps were not her thing, I decided her writing itself deteriorated. The last novel I read by her was Slow Burn. While I enjoyed the basic premise behind it, I was sadly disappointed in the actual writing. Sentences were choppy, paragraphs seemed to bleed together, or go in odd directions that made no sense to me, dialogue was stilted, characters were half formed or one dimensional. I thought the plot was an awesome one, and had it been better fleshed out it had the potential to become her best written novel yet. But instead it fell far short.

After that, I decided not to read another of her contemps. I told myself, and others, that I’d buy her again if she went back to historicals, but otherwise I was done with her. I removed her from my auto-buy list and comforted myself with her old historicals, the ones that got me hooked on romance to begin with.

Then the announcement came. That yes, Julie Garwood, historical legend, would be returning to her roots. Love her older historicals or hate them, you can’t deny she’s a basic staple in romance. I was happy to hear she’d be returning, but somewhat apprehensive. Because although the moment I’d been waiting for had finally come, I was concerned about her actual writing style. The way she wove a story back when was unconventional perhaps, but still engaging. I didn’t think she’d be able to return to that, not after seeing evidence of her decline in her more recent novels.

I’m sad to say I was correct. She may have done quite a bit of head-hopping in her previous novels, but the focus remained on the two main protagonists. In this novel, however, she chose to write in a more narrative style than from one POV or another. So I was constantly pulled out of the story by her glossing over things, or seeming to sum things up. Very frustrating.

I’m also extremely unclear about how they H/H came to fall in love. There was hardly any interaction between the two, and what there was was disjointed and…once again, glossed over. There seemed to be no rhyme or reason to her writing. A chapter would start out from one POV or another, and then half-way through she’d jump into a narrative style, summing things up rather than allowing us as readers to follow the progress.

I suppose it would be like me starting a story, in which I use rich, colorful detail and much humor only to say, once you’re engaged and intrigued, “Blah blah, yada, yada, you get what I mean” and then just leave it at that. Frustrating, no?

There were some good parts. When the POV was written from either the hero or heroine, I was drawn into the story. Unfortunately, those parts were few and far between, and when they did happen, they didn’t last long. The basic premise was also a good one, and classic Garwood. Sadly, the point of the plot was lost somewhere in the muddle of switching from one writing style to another, the jumping between characters and places (i.e., from the Barons in England to the clans in the Highlands to the heroine to the hero to the guards of the heroine to her father back to the barons to the king of England, etc, etc) and the mass amount of inconsistencies presented.

A lot of the reviews I’ve read for this book said the Priests provided a lot of comic relief, but I didn’t really see that. Sure, there were some amusing parts, but I think I assumed they played a bigger part in the overall story (with actual read time, I mean) and that just didn’t seem to be the case.

I’m sure I’ll end up buying her next book (assuming she continues to write historicals), just to see if she somehow improves…hmm, or perhaps that’s not the right word. Regresses into her old writing habits? Goes back to being the Garwood I knew and loved? I’m not sure. I have a feeling I’m going to be sorely disappointed when (if) that time comes, however.

On a related note: Ange, The Romance Groupie, posted about this book on Saturday. I mentioned my disappointment in the overall writing in the comments, and she responded with this:

Actually, I’ve noticed that many of the popular authors appear to be going down in the quality department. I’m wondering if it’s the editors, publishers, etc. that are ruining it. It just seems strange that so many great authors have gone bad in the last year or so. Is it just me? Are you seeing this trend too?

I thought about it some, and yes, I have to agree. Some of my favorite authors have seriously declined in the last few years. Could it be because of the publishers or editors? Or is it just simply something with them personally?

Regardless, I’m disappointed.

Even though I said this was less a review and more my thoughts on JG’s writing as a whole, I’ll still rate the book:

2.5 out of 5

You can buy it here in hardback or in eBook format here. When I bought it from Books on Board, they were offering a $5 cash-back incentive, bringing the total book price down to $9.95. I’m not sure if they’re still offering the promotion, but you could email them to see.

two-half-stars

15 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Review: The Lion’s Lady by Julie Garwood

Posted October 15, 2014 by Holly in Reviews | 9 Comments

Review: The Lion’s Lady by Julie GarwoodReviewer: Holly
The Lion's Lady by Julie Garwood
Series: Crown Spies #1
Published by Pocket Books
Publication Date: March 1st 1991
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, General
Pages: 368
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Christina Bennett had taken London society by storm. The ravishing beauty guarded the secret of her mysterious past until the night Lyon, Marquis of Lyonwood, stole a searching, sensuous kiss. An arrogant nobleman with a pirate's passions, he tasted the wild fire smoldering beneath Christina's cool charm and swore to posess her... But the fiesty and defiant Christina would not be so easily conquered. Mistress of her heart and of her fortune, she resisted Lyon's sensuous caresses. She dared not surrender to his love...for then, she must also forsake her precious secret...and her promised destiny!

I forget how much I enjoy Garwood’s regency titles, especially The Lion’s Lady. This book is listed as book 1 in the Crown’s Spies series, but all of the books can be read as stand-alones. Aside from a brief mention of other characters, none of the books are related in any way.

More often than not it’s Garwood’s heroes who stand out for me, even though I tend to like her heroines. In this case, I really love Lyon, the hero, but I absolutely adore Christina, the heroine. She’s totally  unconventional. She was raised by Indians in the Black Hills of South Dakota, can use a knife better than many men, prefers to go barefoot and eats the leaves off bushes. She’s wonderful. Garwood tends to write heroines who are just a little too perfect, but Christina is so refreshing I hardly noticed.

Lyon is the perfect match for her. Though he starts out quite jaded and cynical, it isn’t long before he realizes what a gem Christina is. I especially love that he totally gets her. She kept thinking he wanted only the “civilized” version of herself, but he proves time and again that he loves all of her..even her wild, savage side. Especially her wild, savage side. I especially love how un-sheltered Christina is. She doesn’t shy away from “mating”, what she calls “mischief makers” (thieves and the like), tavern brawls or catty women. She’s sweet, but refuses to cower or take crap from anyone.

“She was such a sweet little thing. ‘Course, she did throw Louie overboard. Flipped him right over her shoulder, she did.

Couldn’t believe it—no, sir, couldn’t believe it. Louie had it coming, though. Why, he snuck up behind her and grabbed her. That’s when I seen the color of her hair. Real light yellow. She’d always been wearing that hood, even in the heat of the afternoons. Must have been mighty uncomfortable.”

“She threw a man overboard?” Bryan asked the question. He knew he shouldn’t interfere in Lyon’s questions, but he was too astonished by Mick’s casually given remark to keep silent. “Enough about the hood, man, tell me more about this girl.”

“Well, it were a good thing for Louie the wind weren’t up. We fished him out of the water without too much backache. He left the miss alone after that surprise. Come to think on it, most o’ the men did.”

There could have been a lot of angst or a dark theme to this book, but instead it’s a light read. There’s a lot of humor. Lyon’s confusion anytime Christina speaks in riddles, the customs she brought to England with her from the wild’s of the Dakotas, etc, made for a very entertaining read.

“Thank you for your assistance, Rhone. Lyon, what are you going to do about those men cluttering my walkway? And am I mistaken, or are there one or two in the back of the house as well?”

“There are two,” Lyon said. “I threw them out back.”

“They’ll wake up and crawl home,” Rhone advised. “Unless, of course, you—”

“I didn’t,” Lyon said.

“Didn’t what?” Christina asked.

“Kill them,” Rhone said.

“Rhone, don’t frighten her,” Lyon said.

“Goodness, I hope not. Think of the mess.” Christina sounded appalled, but for all the wrong reasons.

I think what stands out for me most in terms of the relationship is how quickly Lyon was willing to accept all of her. He saw her threaten his former paramour at knife-point, eat leaves from shrubs, throw a dagger with precision aim, and ride bareback and he didn’t flinch or cower. They were also surprisingly open with each other. There were no silly misunderstandings (aside from Christina worrying he wanted a princess, rather than her as she truly was), or long drawn-out obstacles because they didn’t talk to one another. Christina kept parts of her past hidden, but once she trusted Lyon she opened up fully. And he never expected her to be anything but what she was.

“Why don’t you like the people?” he asked. His voice had turned soft, soothing, Christina thought he really might be thinking she’d just lost her mind.

“I don’t like the way they act,” she announced. “The women take lovers after they’ve pledged themselves to a mate. They treat their old like discarded garbage. That is their most appalling flaw,” Christina said.

“The old should be honored, not ignored. And their children, Lyon. I hear about the little ones, but I’ve yet to see one. The mothers lock their children away in their schoolrooms. Don’t they understand the children are the heartbeat of the family? No, Lyon, I could not survive here.”

She paused to take a deep breath, then suddenly realized Lyon didn’t look very upset about her comments. “Why aren’t you angry?” she asked.

He grabbed her when she tried to step away from him again, wrapped his arms around her, and held her close to him. “First of all, I agree with most of what you’ve just said. Second, all during your irate protest you kept saying’they,’ not ‘you.’ You didn’t include me with the others, and as long as it’s the other English you dislike, that’s quite all right with me. You told me once you thought I was different. It’s why you’ve been drawn to me, isn’t it? It doesn’t really matter.” he added with a sigh. “You and I are both English. You can’t change that fact, Christina, just as you can’t change the fact that you belong to me now.”

The suspense plot featuring Christina’s father was pretty weak, but again, I love how Lyon and Christina deal with it together. The scenes where Christina interacts with Lyon’s family had me laughing out loud, and really served to make the story come alive.

This is a novel I’ve read again and again. It never fails to pull me in and lift my spirits. If you haven’t read it before, I suggest you pick up a copy now. You’re missing out on a sweet, wonderful tale.

4.75 out of 5

four-half-stars

9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,


Author Spotlight Review: Honor’s Splendour by Julie Garwood

Posted December 24, 2009 by Holly in Features, Reviews | 3 Comments

Author Spotlight Review: Honor’s Splendour by Julie GarwoodReviewer: Holly
Honor's Splendour by Julie Garwood
Published by Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: August 31st 2010
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Historical, General
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

This classic medieval romance from New York Times bestselling author Julie Garwood is a fan favorite—a beautiful lady needs rescue from a knight in shining armor, and gets an alpha warrior instead.
In the feuding English court, gentle Lady Madelyne suffered the cruel whims of her ruthless brother, Baron Louddon. Then, in vengeance for a bitter crime, Baron Duncan of Wexton—the Wolf—unleashed his warriors against Louddon. Exquisite Madelyne was the prize he catured...but when he gazed upon the proud beauty, he pledged to protect her with his life. In his rough-hewn castle, Duncan proved true to his honor. But when at last their noble passion conquered them both, she surrendered with all her soul. Now, for love, Madelyne would stand fast...as bravely as her Lord, the powerful Wolf who fought for...Honor’s Splendour.

Holly‘s review of Honor’s Splendour by Julie Garwood

I never get tired of reading this book. I simply adore it.

Baron Duncan of Wexton showed up at Baron Louddon’s keep. Louddon has plans to kill Duncan by lashing him to a tree outside. Since it’s the middle of winter he figues Duncan will freeze to death, then his body can be dumped in the wood for the animals to get to. What Louddon’ doesn’t know is that Duncan plans to take is sister captive. Louddon dishonored Duncan’s sister, and he plans to repay him in the same fashion. Louddon leaves for London and Duncan is just about to attack when Madelyne changes everything. She comes forward to release him and then she does something he never would have expected: She warms his feet. From then on he doesn’t know what to do with her, though it would seem their roles have become reversed; For Madelyne has captured him, not the other way around.

While I like Madelyne, Duncan is the one that steals the show. He captures Madelyne as a way to exact revenge against her brother, but right from the beginning he’s intrigued by her. He can’t seem to figure her out and it drives him crazy. He does decide right from the beginning that Madelyne will be his, though. I just love that he’s the one who falls into Madelyne, instead of it being the other way around.

Madelyne is strong and courageous. I loved watching her open up with Duncan. In the beginning she’s very closed off, but Duncan and his family really draw her out. I loved the way she took charge of his household, especially his sister and brothers. Even though she’s younger than most of them, she still acts like a mother figure to them. Or tries to.

I really loved Duncan’s siblings, especially Adella. The secondary storyline between her and Baron Gerald – one of Duncan’s allies – was hilarious.

As with all Garwood novels there are many humorous scenes in this novel, especially in the beginning while Madelyne is settling in at Duncan’s keep. I love how he tries to convince himself he doesn’t care for her. The arguments he has with himself are so logical and well thought out.

If you haven’t already, you really need to read this book.

4.75/5

This book is available from Pocket. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

five-stars

3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: The Prize by Julie Garwood.

Posted March 11, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: The Prize by Julie Garwood.Reviewer: Rowena
The Prize by Julie Garwood
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: July 5th 2011
Genres: Romance, Historical
Pages: 403
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

In the resplendence of William the Conqueror's London court, the lovely Saxon captive, Nicholaa was forced to choose a husband from the assembled Norman nobles. She chose Royce, a baron warrior whose fierce demeanor could not conceal his chivalrous and tender heart. Resourceful, rebellious and utterly naive, Nicholaa vowed to bend Royce to her will, despite the whirlwind of feelings he aroused in her.

Ferocious in battle, seasoned in passion, Royce was surprised by the depth of his emotion whenever he caressed his charming bride.
In a climate of utmost treachery, where Saxons still intrigued against their Norman invaders, Royce and Nicholaa revelled in their precious new love...a fervent bond soon to be disrupted by the call of blood, kin and country!

Alright this one is going out to Carolyn Jean.

I had this book in my office so during my lunch hour break, I did a quick reread of it and thought I’d put up a review about why I love this book so much. In this book, we have Baron Royce who was sent by the King to capture the headstrong Lady Nicholaa and bring her back to London so that he can wed her to one of his most deserving knights.

Irritated that he’s sent on this little adventure to capture a woman who has outwitted three other of his peers who came before him, Baron Royce does his duty and takes off to get this smart little chit. She tricks and she plots but even her best plot didn’t save her from Baron Royce. He could plot and twist plots with the best of them and it becomes this little game where each of them try to outwit the other with Lady Nicholaa trying to get away from Baron Royce and Baron Royce trying to keep his captive under his watchful eye until they get back to King William’s court. Reading about their journey to London made me laugh a lot. Seeing that Baron Royce would use whatever he could to get Lady Nicholaa out of the convent made me cringe but also made me realize that he was determined to get his job done….at whatever measures he had to take. So anyway, they finally get to London and King William decides that the prize (Lady Nicholaa) will be allowed to choose her groom.

Baron Royce isn’t the most handsome of all lads in England so he knows that Lady Nicholaa would not choose him. He’s so convinced of this that he stands at the back of the grand room and waits for the decision to be made. There’s this big attraction going on between Nicholaa and Royce but they haven’t acknowledged it, nor would they have acknowledged it if Lady Nicholaa wasn’t given this golden oppurtunity to strike back at Baron Royce which she promptly takes advantage of.

When Lady Nicholaa walks up to Baron Royce, leaving Baron Guy in the dust, a smile creased my face and never left it. When she walks up to him and says, “Checkmate.” I nearly died of laughter.

This is what I love most about Julie Garwood, she can entertain the socks right off of you, I promise that. She’s got those one liners to start off her chapters and to end her chapters that you can’t help but love and laugh and love her books all the more.

Watching Lady Nicholaa try to make Royce fall in love with her and watching Royce fall in love with Nicholaa made this book great for me. Some could argue that this book was left with so many open ended storylines with the whole Thurston ordeal and Baby Ulric and all of that but for me, I chose to see this as a golden opportunity for Julie Garwood to continue these character’s stories…and I’d still read them should she ever write them regardless of how much everyone hated Shadow Music. =)

I’m a big time Justin fan, Nicholaa’s younger brother. He was the reason why I loved this book so much. To see him from the broken young warrior he was at the beginning of the book and to see the growth in his character and the bond he formed with his “enemy” and to see him finally acknowledge Royce as his brother, it was just the best thing, for me, about this book. I loved watching Justin’s character wild and unruly in the beginning because by the end of the book, he was a different person, he was a different man and he was a different brother to Nicholaa. His character was such a strong one that I find that as much as I love Royce, I’ll always love Justin a little more and will forever wait for his story to be told. I loved his friends that he made in his new home and I seriously loved the scene at the end where he tells Royce that he wasn’t thanking his leader, he was thanking his brother.

sigh

As corny as it is, I love this stuff!

I still stand by what I said before (in my many discussions I’ve had on this story) I’d be willing to see what kind of character Julie Garwood would write for Thurston. I didn’t care for him at all in this story, I didn’t forgive him for what he did to Justin (you’ll have to read the book to find out) and the whole thing with Baby Ulric made my insides twist because I wanted to know what kind of life Thurston would give him…it would be really interesting to see what JG would do with that story, there’s so much to cover that she’d have so much storyline for a new book…I just wish she’d write it.

sigh

As a whole, this book is really good. I enjoyed the heck out of it the first time I read it and I find new things to enjoy every time I read it after that. You’ll fall in love with the characters and the storyline is just light enough and just funny enough that the pages will keep turning until you’re done with the book and kinda sad that the journey had to end, but you should definitely check this book Carolyn Jean, so many people have enjoyed it that I’ve no doubt that you’ll enjoy it as well.

five-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,


Weekly Reread: Ransom by Julie Garwood.

Posted January 3, 2008 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Weekly Reread: Ransom by Julie Garwood.Reviewer: Rowena
Ransom by Julie Garwood
Series: Highlands Lairds #2
Also in this series: Shadow Music
Published by Simon and Schuster
Publication Date: August 31st 2010
Genres: Romance, Historical
Pages: 546
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

For fans of Scottish medieval romances comes this beloved and classic page-turner from #1 New York Times bestselling author Julie Garwood.

In the dark days after the death of Richard the Lionhearted, lives and lands would fall into upheaval at the hands of a power-hungry British ruler and his violent minions. One victim of the scourge is innocent Gillian, who is a mere child when the cruel and ambitious Baron Alford slaughters her father and tears her family apart. Alford, determined to recover a jeweled box for the despotic King John, is furious when the precious treasure slips through his fingers—only to be lost for more than a decade.

Now a beautiful young woman, Gillian finds the key to resolving her past in handsome Scottish chieftains Ramsey Sinclair and Brodick Buchanan. With the cunning and courage of the daring Scotsmen, and with the friendship of a new ally, Bridgid KirkConnell, Gillian at last fights the unscrupulous Baron Alford, laying claim to her home, her family, and her father's reputation. But in the presence of the mighty warrors, Gillian and Bridgid discover that desire can be a weapon of conquest, betrayal can slay trust in a heartbeat, and the greatest risk of all is to surrender to unexpected love.

With all the talk about Shadow Music going around and then finding out that Brodick was in the story, I thought it’d be cool to do a reread of one of my favorite Julie Garwoods of all time (Yeah so I’ve got a few of them but dude, this is totally one of them) to prepare myself for JG’s latest. I’ve got to say that I’m really scared to ruin JG for me since I absolutely love this book. From the beginning to end, I just loved the entire thing.

I enjoy reading about Brodick’s bullheadedness and his stubborn streak. The guy’s got a head harder than stone, but love him, I do. He doesn’t like the English and I do but man, love Brodick, I do. I love the transformation that JG gave Brodick from hard headed brute to hard headed brute …in love.

Brodick is this man of brutish strength. He leads one of the most elite band of warriors and is feared by both men and women far and near, well in all of Scotland anyway. He is the leader to the scathing soldiers who make grown men quiver in their boots. And he likes it that way. He loves that his clan lives like a bunch of cavemen, it suits him.

And he’s right.

Then there’s Lady Gillian who is the exact opposite of Brodick. She’s gentle and kind. And very, very courageous. When she comes into Brodick’s life, Brodick cannot believe the lengths to which Gillian would go to, to accomplish the tasks she’s set out to accomplish. Her mission was to return a little boy to his family, risking the wrath of her captors but she did it without thought of what would happen to her because she wanted the little boy safe from Baron Alford’s evil ways. She snuck away with Alec, Laird Iain’s son from The Secret and set about, getting him home safely.

She’s not above asking for help from Alec’s champion, Laird Buchanan and the lies and the stories she wove to get him to come to her, had me laughing my tail off. By the end of the book, I was mesmerized by everything surrounding Gillian. From the way she was with Alec to the way she was with Brodick and then her budding friendship with Brigid, I seriously thought that as a heroine, Gillian rocked the house!

The romance between Brodick and Gillian was easy to fall into. You really get that they are falling in love and that they’re both in this for the long haul and that they totally get each other. The fierce protectiveness that Brodick showed where Gillian was concerned warmed my heart and had me cheering the both of them on to the very end. It was that good.

Then there’s the secondary love story between Ramsey and Brigid.

I’m still pissed off that Ramsey was dicked out of his own story. I mean, I loved Ramsey right from the very moment he made his presence known in Iain and Judith’s story. The hot stud with the pretty face that he gets embarrassed about. I had every faith that JG could have made his story work, only we never got his full story.

Just the bits and pieces in this book.

But as far as stories go, I can’t say that I hated Ramsey’s story because I didn’t. I just wanted more of it. I enjoyed seeing how frustrated Ramsey was getting with Brigid turning down every Tom, Dick and Joe. I enjoyed Brigid for Ramsey because she was beautiful and she was witty and light hearted and just full of love and life. It was everything that Ramsey was missing in his. The scenes between these two where Ramsey tried to persuade Brigid into marrying one of his soldiers makes me laugh every single time.

Brigid was a great addition to the story, getting to know her through her friendship with Gillian made me love the book all the more. Her character was so lively and just …perfect for Ramsey. I would have liked to see more of her, get to know her personally the way we got to know Gillian. To know how she felt with the whole thing with her mother and that scene where she kicks that woman out of Ramsey’s bed is frickin’ hilarious! Cracks me the hell up, gosh she was a character!

The whole bringing the two clans together made for some good reading. All of the different things going on made the book a lot more fast paced and just intriguing. It wasn’t confusing, it wasn’t too much, it was the right amount of everything rolled up into one and I enjoyed the whole hot damn thing.

You guys should definitely read this book if you’re planning on reading, Shadow Music…and since I am, I’m going to be brave like Gillian and read the damn thing anyway, you never know, I might love it more than the others…

…cross your fingers for me, will ya?

five-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,