Author: Joanna Wylde

Guest Review: Shade’s Lady by Joanna Wylde

Posted April 13, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Shade’s Lady by Joanna WyldeReviewer: Tracy
Shade's Lady (Reapers MC, #6.5) by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #6.5
Also in this series: Devil's Game, Reaper's Stand, Reaper's Fall, Reaper's Fire

Publication Date: March 14th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Looking back, none of this would’ve happened if I hadn’t dropped my phone in the toilet. I mean, I could’ve walked away from him if I’d had it with me.

Or maybe not.

Maybe it was all over the first time he saw me, and he would’ve found another way. Probably—if there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s that Shade always gets what he wants, and apparently he wanted me.

Right from the first.

Mandy is a waitress in a bar that the Reapers MC hang out in when they’re in town. On one night they’re holding a meeting in the back room and Mandy is their waitress. She feels the National President of the Reapers eyes on her but ignores it. Shade’s made it perfectly clear that he wants her but she’s not interested. Her soon to be ex-husband turned up a bad boy and that had her ending up in jail and now on probation.

At the end of the night Mandy’s current boyfiend, who’s a total douche, states that he’s purchased Shade’s bike that he has for sale. He states that Mandy needs to ride on the back of Shade’s bike and he’ll follow in the truck as he doesn’t have room. She agrees but when she gets there finds out that her boyfriend had offered her up as a whore for Shade to pay for part of the bike. Mandy is pissed and wants to leave but has no way home and no way to call anyone. She thinks Shade is a dick but ends up spending the night talking to him anyway and finds he’s a pretty decent guy. She gets to know more about the club as well and ends up seeing them for more of the family they are than just a bunch of thugs.

Mandy lives with her sister while she’s on probation and helps take care of her nieces. Their father is a deadbeat and a drug dealer and Mandy will do anything to keep him away from her family. Unfortunately he doesn’t stay away for long and then the shit really hits the fan.

Mandy just wants her family to be safe and strangely enough it’s Shade that ends up helping her. Despite trying not to she ends up falling in love with Shade but where will the relationship go when he’s not even in town for long?

This was a great little novella. I love the way that Wylde writes the guys from the Reapers and makes them real. Yes, they’re one pecenters but she writes them so you actually want to get to know them.

In this story I really loved Mandy. The girl had had it rough but still carried on. She did what needed to get done and didn’t complain about it. She had a running conversation with Wonder Woman going on in her head that I found hilarious. Seriously. she even had an argument with Shade at one point about how Wonder Woman could take Batman. Too funny.

Shade was a good guy. Sure, he had his issues but he took care of his family and even though he tried to fight it, that included Mandy as well. He did a lot for her and I loved him for it.

Shade’s Lady ended up being a really great novella and one I’d recommend even if you haven’t read any of the other Reapers books.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Reaper’s Fire by Joanna Wylde

Posted August 10, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Reaper’s Fire by Joanna WyldeReviewer: Tracy
Reaper's Fire by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #6
Also in this series: Devil's Game, Reaper's Stand, Reaper's Fall, Shade's Lady (Reapers MC, #6.5)
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: August 9th 2016
Genres: Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The club comes first.

I’ve lived by those words my whole life—assumed I’d die by them, too, and I never had a problem with that. My Reaper brothers took my back and I took theirs and it was enough. Then I met her. Tinker Garrett. She’s beautiful, she’s loyal, and she works so damned hard it scares me sometimes . . . She deserves a good man—one better than me. I can’t take her yet because the club still needs me. There’s another woman, another job, another fight just ahead.

Now she’ll learn I’ve been lying to her all along. None of it’s real. Not my name, not my job, not even the clothes I wear. She thinks I’m nice. She pretends we’re just friends, that I’ve still got a soul . . . Mine’s been dead for years. Now I’m on fire for this woman, and a man can only burn for so long before he destroys everything around him.

I’m coming for you, Tinker.

Soon.

Gage is in Washington undercover for his club.  He’s checking out a support club that hasn’t been paying the “taxes” to the Reaper’s and recruiting members like crazy – ones that shouldn’t be in an MC.  Gage gets into town and starts dating the MC president’s sister, Talia, who is a psycho bitch from hell.  She’s skanky and nasty and the last thing that Gage wants to do is sleep with her but he has to act like he’s into her so that she can get him in to meet her brother Marsh.  He manages to get in acting like a hang-around so that he can see what’s going on.  He doesn’t like what he sees – especially when it looks like the club is running drugs and Marsh is constantly using his own product which makes him incredibly jittery and paranoid.

Gage is getting in good with the club when he meets Tinker.  He answers an ad for a part-time handyman job that comes with an apartment.  He likes her looks on sight and when he gets to know her better he realizes he likes her personality a ton as well.  He wants nothing more than to be with Tinker but he can’t act on the attraction to Tinker when he’s supposedly into Talia.

As time goes on Gage and Tinker get closer but when the truth about Gage and his identity comes to light Tinker is beyond pissed.  Gage realizes that he may have done the right thing for his club but it may have ruined any hope of a relationship with Tinker.

Gage and Tinker’s story was good.  It was hard seeing Gage with Talia when I knew he wanted to be with Tinker.  Tinker was such a good person and Talia was such a she-devil there was no comparison.  Tinker wasn’t a pushover by any means but she didn’t have the hate in her that Talia had for just about everyone.  I realize that Gage dating Talia was part of the story but it just bothered me for some reason.  Maybe if it hadn’t lasted as long as it did in the book I would have dealt with it better.  Once Gage was free he immediately went to Tinker and told her she was his right after he admitted that he wasn’t who he said he was.  Yeah, Tinker was livid, as any smart woman would have been.  He was domineering and possessive and I frankly wanted to smack him.  Luckily he saw the error of his ways and the two managed to work out their differences.

My issues with this book were personal, I think.  Not things that everyone would have issues with.  The first was constantly reading about Gage and Talia – in a romance that was supposed to be with Gage and Tinker.  Like I said, my own issue.  The other is that it got pretty slow in the middle and I kept putting it down which is never a wonderful thing.

The story did also deal with fires in the Washington area and how this affected the town, Tinker and those she loved.  It was a very sad part of the story as it dealt with so much loss but I thought it was a great addition to the story.

Overall I liked the book but it was probably my least favorite of the series.  That doesn’t mean it was bad – just definitely not as engaging as the other stories in this series.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 

three-half-stars

1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Reaper’s Fall by Joanna Wylde

Posted December 8, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Reaper’s Fall by Joanna WyldeReviewer: Tracy
Reaper's Fall by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #4
Also in this series: Devil's Game, Reaper's Stand, Reaper's Fire, Shade's Lady (Reapers MC, #6.5)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: November 10th 2015
Genres: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary, General
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of Reaper’s Stand is back in her “uber-alpha rough world of MCs”* as one woman’s future is rocked by the man whose hardcore past could destroy her…He never meant to hurt her. Levi “Painter” Brooks was nothing before he joined the Reapers motorcycle club. The day he patched in, they became his brothers and his life. All they asked in return was a strong arm and unconditional loyalty—a loyalty that’s tested when he’s caught and sentenced to prison for a crime committed on their behalf.

Melanie Tucker may have had a rough start, but along the way she’s learned to fight for her future. She’s escaped from hell and started a new life, yet every night she dreams of a biker whose touch she can’t forget. It all started out so innocently—just a series of letters to a lonely man in prison. Friendly. Harmless. Safe.

Now Painter Brooks is coming home… and Melanie’s about to learn that there’s no room for innocence in the Reapers MC.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Painter has been in prison for the last 18 months and during that time he’s done nothing but think of Melanie Tucker. Yes, he wants to bend her over…anything and fuck her senseless but he also has an attachment to her that he never expected. They’ve been writing letters back and forth almost the whole time he’s been in prison and she’s the first person he wants to see when he gets out. He knows he’s not good for her, however, as he never sticks with a woman more than a week so when he does get out he avoids her. This lasts only so long and then he just can’t help himself.

Melanie has had it bad for Painter since she met him right after her friend London’s house exploded (Reaper’s Stand). She was so excited for him to get out but when he ignores her she’s pretty upset. She decides to blow him off and attends a party at the armory where the Reapers have their clubhouse. She attaches herself to a Devil’s Jack but soon Painter intervenes. While they get a little busy on the side of the clubhouse he soon took her home to keep her safe from harm – even from him.

Melanie and Painter go through a lot of back and forth but soon they’re together in every way. Painter is ready to make the big commitment of making her his old lady but Melanie is now opposed to staying with him as she knows she’ll never come first in his life – the club will. When Painter takes risks that could get him thrown back in prison right after she tells him she’s pregnant, Mel’s done. Painter’s not sure he can ever get her back but he’s not gonna stop trying.

Throughout the series Painter has been one of the characters that I wanted to read about. He has an electric personality and it never ceased to capture my attention. When he finally set his sights on Mel I was pretty happy that he was gonna finally settle down with one woman as I knew he needed that stability in his life.

I really liked the issue in this book that had Mel staying away from Painter because of the MC. I like the MC (obviously) but I could truly understand Mel’s hesitance to trust that Painter would be there for her when she needed him. The club was his family but it took a long time to see that, and that it could be hers as well. I did feel she was being pig-headed and too stubbornly obstinate at times but she had her daughter to think of and I respected that. I still wanted her to be with Painter. 🙂

The book spans a period of 5 years and I loved going back to the beginning and seeing the story from both of their POV’s. As usual Wylde has given us a badass MC book and a great romance. I like that Wylde doesn’t try to make her MC members act all flowery when they’re with their women. They are who they are and while the men truly love their women they don’t change for them. It makes for a great read. I can’t wait to read Gage’s story next.

four-stars

0 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Guest Review: Reaper’s Stand by Joanna Wylde

Posted November 13, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Guest Review: Reaper’s Stand by Joanna WyldeReviewer: Tracy
Reaper's Stand by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #4
Also in this series: Devil's Game, Reaper's Fall, Reaper's Fire, Shade's Lady (Reapers MC, #6.5)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: October 7th 2014
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

As Reapers Motorcycle Club president, Reese “Picnic” Hayes has given his entire life to the club. After losing his wife, he knew he’d never love another woman. And with two daughters to raise and a club to manage, that was just fine with him. These days, Reese keeps his relationships free and easy—he definitely doesn’t want to waste his time on a glorified cleaning lady like London Armstrong.

Too bad he’s completely obsessed with her.

London is independent, and she likes it that way. Besides running her own business, London’s got her junkie cousin’s daughter to look after—a more reckless than average eighteen-year-old. Sure she’s attracted to the Reapers’ president, but she’s not stupid. Reese Hayes is a criminal and a thug. But when her young cousin gets caught up with a ruthless drug cartel, Reese might be the only man who can help her. Now London has to make the hardest decision of her life—how far will she go to save her family?

 

Tracy’s review of Reaper’s Stand (Reapers MC #4) by Joanna Wylde

London is 38, single and runs a cleaning business. She’s raised her cousin’s daughter, Jessica, for years. Jessica is now 18 and rebelling…hard.

London is dating a deputy sheriff who’s a complete douche.

Reese aka Picnic is 43 and the president of the Reapers MC. He’s wanted London in his bed for months so when he sees his chance – he goes for it.

London knows Reese is a bit of a man-whore but still wants him badly. She finally decides to go for it and it’s Oh. So. Good.

Reese knows there’s something special about London but he refuses to think she can be anything more than his sex partner. Despite that he can’t get her out of his head and he’s not willing to let her go without a fight.

Jessica takes off to her mother’s house in San Diego and ends up kidnapped by the drug cartel that the Reapers MC are at war with.

London is blackmailed. Do something horrible to the Club or Jessica dies. Can she betray the club and the man she’s falling in love and seal her fate just to save her niece?

When all hell breaks loose London knows she’s a dead woman for betraying the club but she might be able to get out of it just by being the strong, single-minded woman she is.

I have to admit that I haven’t been a huge fan of Picnic’s throughout the series. It’s not like we got to know him very well but he seemed like a hard ass with no heart. Wow, was I wrong or what? Reese is awesome and I loved almost every minute of his story.

Joanna Wylde wasn’t afraid to go for it in this book. We get family relationships, club relationships, hot sex, violence and love all wrapped up into one awesome story. When it came down to London betraying the club, she didn’t get a slap on the wrist – she got hauled in and strung up like any other person would have. Granted they went easier on her because she was a woman that Reese had been sleeping with but not knowing how things were gonna pan out for her had me on the edge of my seat.

The story is well written, gritty, violent, sexy, fun and at times shocking. I think it’s my favorite book in the series along with Horse’s story. I got the book in the mail and decided to just read chapter one – I was into another book at the time so I was just gonna take a glimpse – yeah, right. I didn’t put the book down until I was finished, it was that good.

While I loved this book I know it’s not for the faint of heart. If you want a romance novel that’s all butterflies and roses this is NOT for you. But if you want a strong love story with strong main characters then you definitely shouldn’t miss this one.

Ok, now I think I’m going to go back and read it again. 🙂

Rating: 5 out of 5

The Series:
Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover Book Cover

This title is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

five-stars

2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,


Review: Devil’s Game by Joanna Wylde

Posted June 17, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Devil’s Game by Joanna WyldeReviewer: Tracy
Devil's Game by Joanna Wylde
Series: Reapers MC #3
Also in this series: Reaper's Stand, Reaper's Fall, Reaper's Fire, Shade's Lady (Reapers MC, #6.5)
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: June 3rd 2014
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Liam “Hunter” Blake hates the Reapers MC. Born and raised a Devil’s Jack, he knows his duty. He’ll defend his club from their oldest enemies—the Reapers—using whatever weapons he can find. But why use force when the Reapers’ president has a daughter who’s alone and vulnerable? Hunter has wanted her from the minute he saw her, and now he has an excuse to take her.

Em has lived her entire life in the shadow of the Reapers. Her overprotective father, Picnic, is the club’s president. The last time she had a boyfriend, Picnic shot him. Now the men in her life are far more interested in keeping her daddy happy than showing her a good time. Then she meets a handsome stranger—a man who isn't afraid to treat her like a real woman. One who isn't afraid of her father. His name is Liam, and he’s The One.

Or so she thinks.

Em is the daughter of the Reapers MC president.  She’s lived her life under a microscope and has finally gotten the balls to move out of her father’s house and into a different city.  She’s loving her independence!  Online she meets Liam.  For 3 months they text back and forth and she feels that though she hasn’t met him he might be “the one.”  She arranges to meet him for a drink and when she sees him she’s thrilled. He’s not only gorgeous but he’s just as nice and wonderful as he was via text.  They head to another location because the bar is too loud and the attraction Em felt over the phone intensifies.  When Liam starts to take her back to his car in the back of the bar, however, Em is smart enough to know when to cut and run.  Unfortunately she doesn’t run fast enough and is caught.

Em eventually frees herself and life goes on but she feels incredibly betrayed to know that Liam only contacted her because of MC business.  She’s not a pawn to be played with.  That doesn’t stop her from yearning for Liam and the way he acts shows her that he cares for her as well.  They are, however, like a modern day Romeo and Juliet and Em doesn’t see how they can ever be together with Liam in a rival club from her father.

I was pleasantly surprised when I got into this book.  I wasn’t sure what to expect from Em and Liam aka Hunter. It was kind of a New Adult book but a lot grittier and rougher than most I’ve read – which I absolutely loved.  I thought that having Em and Hunter as younger characters really worked for this story line.

Hunter was a good guy.  To say he was a bit torn between Em and his MC was an understatement.  I really appreciated the fact that he would do anything for Em though, including leaving the MC, if that’s what she wanted.  I thought it showed how devoted he was to her and to making their relationship work.

Em had a pretty good head on her shoulders and I liked the fact that she was knowledgeable about the MC from growing up in one so she didn’t freak that Hunter was in one.  I think it brought a nice contrast to the first two stories in the series.  Those books were about women who had no clue about the happenings in an MC and having a heroine that knew the ins and outs made the romance between Hunter and Em that much better. (Not that I didn’t love the first two books, I did!) This story could go straight to the couple rather than having any explanations about club life standing in their way.  I thought that Hunter/Liam and Em were perfect for each other.

Overall it was a great read and one I definitely recommend.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Joanna Wylde

four-stars

4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,