Author: Jill Shalvis

Review: Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis

Posted October 3, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Hot Winter Nights by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Hot Winter Nights (Heartbreaker Bay, #6) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #6
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5), Holiday Wishes, About That Kiss (Heartbreaker Bay, #5), About That Kiss
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: September 25, 2018
Format: eARC
Source: Edelweiss
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

Who needs mistletoe?

Most people wouldn't think of a bad Santa case as the perfect Christmas gift. Then again, Molly Malone, office manager at Hunt Investigations, isn't most people, and she could really use a distraction from the fantasies she's been having since spending the night with her very secret crush, Lucas Knight. Nothing happened, not that Lucas knows that — but Molly just wants to enjoy being a little naughty for once...

Whiskey and pain meds for almost-healed bullet wounds don't mix. Lucas needs to remember that next time he's shot on the job, which may be sooner rather than later if Molly's brother, Joe, finds out about them. Lucas can't believe he's drawing a blank on his (supposedly) passionate tryst with Molly, who's the hottest, smartest, strongest woman he's ever known. Strong enough to kick his butt if she discovers he's been assigned to babysit her on her first case. And hot enough to melt his cold heart this Christmas.

Hot Winter Nights is the sixth book in Jill Shalvis’ Heartbreaker Bay series and it features Lucas and Molly. Molly is sister to the hero in the previous book and Lucas is Molly’s brother’s partner and friend. They work together and Lucas has been warned off of Molly because he’s a player and nobody trusts him not to hurt Molly? I don’t know.

So this book starts off with Lucas waking up from a one night stand that he has no memory of. He’s recovering from being shot on the job so after a night of mixing alcohol and meds, Lucas is completely out of it and Molly is there to help him get home safely. When he wakes up and has no memory of them sleeping together, he’s freaked out. Molly gets her feelings hurt and instead of being upfront with him about them not doing anything but sleep, she lets him stew in his confusion.

I’m not quite sure where to start with this review because while I did enjoy it, a lot of little things bugged me. I wasn’t cool with a lot of things that Molly did to Lucas. The way that she let him think something happened between them for far longer than she should have because her feelings were hurt, the way that she would march right into danger because she was mad at the way Lucas bossed her around while on the job, and then there were Joe and Archer’s attitude toward Lucas hooking up with Molly but also the way that they refused to let Molly in on any field work because they wanted to protect her. Molly is a grown ass woman and can make those decisions for herself. They took that decision away from her because she’s a little ol’ woman and that pissed me off.

What I did like was Lucas’ family. I liked how much they worried over him and how supportive they were of him and how determined they were to keep including him in family events. Lucas was dealing with a lot of guilt over not being around for both his fiance and his brother before they died and he didn’t handle things well but I really liked seeing his family not giving up on him. He wasn’t the most perfect of characters but I still enjoyed how honest he was with himself about everything, especially his feelings for Molly. I liked that he wasn’t in denial for half the book. He knew what he felt and he was all in, too bad it took him a lot longer to actually tell Molly about everything.

Overall, this book was a pretty quick read and while it had its moments, it’s not my favorite book in the series. I spent too much time pissed off at different people and I don’t know, it was missing some the charm that I’ve come to expect from a Jill Shalvis read. My favorite part of this book was Lucas. I loved when Lucas went to meet Molly’s Dad for the first time and I really liked when these two finally stopped being dumb and got together so all in all, it was still a pretty solid read.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

Heartbreaker Bay

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Hot Winter Nights by Jill Shalvis

Posted September 16, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Giveaways | 7 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

Jill Shalvis is really cranking up the heat with these Heartbreaker Bay books and Molly and Lucas are up next. Hot Winter Nights is the sixth book in the series and it picks up right where the last book left off…with Lucas waking up not remembering a thing about the night before and how his partner’s sister ended up in his bed.

Sunday Spotlight: Hot Winter Nights by Jill ShalvisHot Winter Nights (Heartbreaker Bay, #6) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #6
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5), Holiday Wishes, About That Kiss (Heartbreaker Bay, #5), About That Kiss, Hot Winter Nights (Heartbreaker Bay, #6)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: September 25, 2018
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Who needs mistletoe?

Most people wouldn't think of a bad Santa case as the perfect Christmas gift. Then again, Molly Malone, office manager at Hunt Investigations, isn't most people, and she could really use a distraction from the fantasies she's been having since spending the night with her very secret crush, Lucas Knight. Nothing happened, not that Lucas knows that — but Molly just wants to enjoy being a little naughty for once...

Whiskey and pain meds for almost-healed bullet wounds don't mix. Lucas needs to remember that next time he's shot on the job, which may be sooner rather than later if Molly's brother, Joe, finds out about them. Lucas can't believe he's drawing a blank on his (supposedly) passionate tryst with Molly, who's the hottest, smartest, strongest woman he's ever known. Strong enough to kick his butt if she discovers he's been assigned to babysit her on her first case. And hot enough to melt his cold heart this Christmas.

Lucas and Molly have been circling each other and you can tell that there was more there then met the eye so if you’ve been excited to read their book, you don’t have a long wait. This book comes out on September 25, 2018 so mark your calendars and don’t miss out!

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE BOOKS || KOBO

Excerpt

“Tell me about your night. You know you want to.”

“Actually, it was over so fast, I can’t really remember.”

He gave a low, rather triumphant laugh and turned her to face him. “You haven’t yet once managed to look me in the eyes and tell me how bad I was. Here’s your chance, Molly. Give it to me.”

See, that was the thing. She did want to give it to him, quite badly. Naked . . . Gah.

She really hadn’t seen this coming, but she deserved fun like anyone else, right? She looked at his mouth, desperately wanting it on hers.

And then her body somehow mistook the fantasy for reality because she went up on tiptoes and . . . kissed him. Just a soft brush of her lips across his, gently and a little hesitant, but it was most definitely a kiss.

Heartbreaker Bay


Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: September 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Jill Shalvis

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | GOODREADS

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras with her family and far too many assorted quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental.

Look for Jill’s latest, LOST AND FOUND SISTERS on shelves and e-readers now, and get all her bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold.

Visit Jill’s website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Contemporary Giveaway)

Posted January 26, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 9 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: Life may be busy for me these days, but I am making time to read. Yes, I have put myself on a reading schedule. I have to admit that I’ve never done this before, but it is actually working. I’m currently reading Judgement Road by Christine Feehan and I’m really enjoying it. I’ve heard that it gets very dark, but I haven’t quite gotten there yet. I’m not necessarily against darker romances so I am curious to see if it will bother me. I hope this reading schedule continues to work out for me because I have so many good books to read!

Holly: Amazon’s audio add-on feature has really changed my life. I’m doing a lot more audiobooks now that I don’t have to subscribe ($14.99/mo was always too much for me for the number of audiobooks I actually listen to). Now that I’m commuting to work, I love being able to listen in the car and at my desk. This week I listened to Honor’s Spelendour, The Secret and The Wedding by Julie Garwood, as well as Good Boy by Sarina Bowen and Elle Kennedy and Pretty Girls Dancing by Kylie Brant. I picked up most of the audio add-ons when they were only $1.99.

Aside from those, I read Happiness for Humans by P.Z. Reizin, which was a strange rom-com featuring an AI named Aiden who played matchmaker. I started Pretty Girls Dancing by Kylie Brant in audio and ended reading it to the end because I was impatient to find out what happened. Binti and Binti: Home by Nnedi Okorafor were sci-fi novellas recommended to me by Ames. I enjoyed both and immediately started the third.

I also re-read The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan and The Year We Hid Away by Sarina Bowen.

I’m currently reading Binti: The Night Masquerade.

Rowena: My reading week started off strong. I read The Trouble with True Love by Laura Lee Guhrke and really enjoyed that one so I thought I’d jump into Man Hands by Sarina Bowen & Tanya Eby and…it’s been 4 days and I’m still reading this book. I don’t think it’s for me. It’s not that I’m bored with it, it’s more that the humor is immature and not making me laugh and the characters…I’m having a hard time connecting with them. All of them. The main couple and the people in their lives. It’s all just…ugh. If I can’t finish it tonight then I’m going to toss in the towel and read either Brooklynaire because of NATE AND BECCA!!! Or I’m going to jump into Shot on Gold by Jaci Burton. Wish me luck!!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Contemporary Giveaway)About That Kiss (Heartbreaker Bay, #5) by Jill Shalvis
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 23rd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 349
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

When love drives you crazy . . .

When sexy Joe Malone never calls after their explosive kiss, Kylie shoves him out of her mind. Until she needs a favor, and it’s a doozy. Something precious to her has been stolen and there’s only one person with unique finder-and-fixer skills that can help—Joe. It means swallowing her pride and somehow trying to avoid the temptation to throttle him—or seduce him.

the best thing to do . . .

No, Joe didn’t call after the kiss. He’s the fun time guy, not the forever guy. And Kylie, after all she’s been through, deserves a good man who will stay. But everything about Kylie makes it damned hard to focus, and though his brain knows what he has to do, his heart isn’t getting the memo.

… is enjoy the ride.

As Kylie and Joe go on the scavenger hunt of their lives, they discover surprising things about each other. Now, the best way for them to get over “that kiss” might just be to replace it with a hundred more.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: About That Kiss by Jill Shalvis

Posted January 26, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: About That Kiss by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
About That Kiss by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #5
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5), Holiday Wishes, About That Kiss (Heartbreaker Bay, #5), Hot Winter Nights (Heartbreaker Bay, #6)
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: January 23rd 2018
Format: eARC
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

When love drives you crazy . . .

When sexy Joe Malone never calls after their explosive kiss, Kylie shoves him out of her mind. Until she needs a favor, and it’s a doozy. Something precious to her has been stolen and there’s only one person with unique finder-and-fixer skills that can help—Joe. It means swallowing her pride and somehow trying to avoid the temptation to throttle him—or seduce him.

the best thing to do . . .

No, Joe didn’t call after the kiss. He’s the fun time guy, not the forever guy. And Kylie, after all she’s been through, deserves a good man who will stay. But everything about Kylie makes it damned hard to focus, and though his brain knows what he has to do, his heart isn’t getting the memo.

… is enjoy the ride.

As Kylie and Joe go on the scavenger hunt of their lives, they discover surprising things about each other. Now, the best way for them to get over “that kiss” might just be to replace it with a hundred more.

Kylie needs help.  Someone has stolen the carved wooden penguin that is the only item she has left from her grandfather.  She engages Joe to help her find it.  He doesn’t really think she’s serious until she tells him that she’s getting what amounts to threatening letters, then he’s on the case.

Joe and Kylie kissed at one point after a night of drinking and Joe hasn’t stopped thinking about the kiss since that time.  He tries to keep himself and his feelings separated from Kylie but eventually decides that he just needs to give in and admit that he wants her for his own.

This was another great book from Shalvis.  She does romance so very well and I love all of the different situations that the characters find themselves in.  This one had romance, sexy times and humor which is always a wonderful combination.

I really liked Kylie and Joe together.  Their personalities played off of each other perfectly.  They were both strong and capable people but they each had their own vulnerabilities as well.  Just a great match.

Overall another really good book in the Heartbreaker Bay series.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Release Day Spotlight: About that Kiss by Jill Shalvis

Posted January 23, 2018 by Rowena in Promotions | 0 Comments

The Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis has been great fun to read and with each book, the series keeps getting better and better. About that Kiss comes out today and it’s Joe and Kylie’s book. They have such amazing chemistry together that I’m so thrilled to be spotlighting their story here on Book Binge.

Release Day Spotlight: About that Kiss by Jill ShalvisAbout That Kiss (Heartbreaker Bay, #5) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #5
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve, Holiday Wishes (Heartbreaker Bay, #4.5), Holiday Wishes, About That Kiss (Heartbreaker Bay, #5), About That Kiss, Hot Winter Nights (Heartbreaker Bay, #6)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 23rd 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

When love drives you crazy . . .

When sexy Joe Malone never calls after their explosive kiss, Kylie shoves him out of her mind. Until she needs a favor, and it’s a doozy. Something precious to her has been stolen and there’s only one person with unique finder-and-fixer skills that can help—Joe. It means swallowing her pride and somehow trying to avoid the temptation to throttle him—or seduce him.

the best thing to do . . .

No, Joe didn’t call after the kiss. He’s the fun time guy, not the forever guy. And Kylie, after all she’s been through, deserves a good man who will stay. But everything about Kylie makes it damned hard to focus, and though his brain knows what he has to do, his heart isn’t getting the memo.

… is enjoy the ride.

As Kylie and Joe go on the scavenger hunt of their lives, they discover surprising things about each other. Now, the best way for them to get over “that kiss” might just be to replace it with a hundred more.

Excerpt

Joe studied her. “I asked you once before, but now I’m going to ask you again. Is there something going on between you two?”

She tossed up her hands. “Why do you both keep asking me that about each other?”

His eyes narrowed. “I thought nothing was going on.”

“And before today, I could’ve passed a lie detector test on that,” she said.

“What happened today?”

She paused. Not because she had anything to be ashamed of, but because she wasn’t quite sure what had happened.

“Kylie.”

She sighed. “It’s nothing.”

“Try again,” Joe said and gave her the very male universal go on gesture.

She rolled her eyes. “Fine. He . . . finally made a move on me.”

Joe didn’t budge. Not a blink, not a muscle twitch, nothing, but she could’ve popped corn off the electric tension coming off him.

“Describe ‘made a move,’ ” he finally said.

She crossed her arms. “And again, how is this relevant to my case?”

He just gave her that careful stare again and she thought wow, those eyes of his should be registered as a lethal weapon because she found herself opening her mouth and spilling her guts. “He kissed me.”

“He kissed you.”

“Yeah,” she said. “Do you know that you often repeat what I say?”

“What kind of a kiss?” he asked.

She was momentarily bewildered. “I don’t know. It was a kiss. A normal kiss. A nice kiss.” She cocked her head at him. “How many kinds of kisses are there?”

He just looked at her for a long moment before coming toward her. He backed her to the wall and pressed his big hands on either side of her head.

“There are many kinds of kisses,” he said.

Her breath had backed up in her throat, where her heart had lodged, pounding wildly. “S-s-such as?”

“Such as this one.” And then he leaned in and covered her mouth with his.

At the touch of Joe’s mouth, Kylie’s brain stopped being capable of rational thought. His tongue gave a knee-weakening stroke against hers and she let out a shockingly needy moan as she clutched at him, fisting her hands in the material of his shirt at his chest. Only when he’d thoroughly plundered and pillaged and left her boneless did he lift his head and look into her eyes.

“Wow,” she whispered, fully aware she was still holding on to him like he was a lifeline, but the bones in her legs had liquefied. “I mean . . .” She shook her head. “Wow.”

He nodded. “Yeah. So to be clear, that wasn’t ‘a normal kiss’ or even ‘a nice kiss.’ It was a ‘wow’ kiss. Any questions?”

“Just one,” she said softly. “Can I have another?”

Joe didn’t have to be asked twice. His mouth immediately descended again, his fingers sliding into her hair to change the angle of the kiss to suit him. It was a controlled, alpha thing to do, but she had only one thought—nothing about the usually carefully, purposely leashed Joe was in control at the moment.

And she liked it.

She had no idea how long they went at it because she was in absolute heaven. Who knew that the man could use his preferred silent mode to communicate in a way that she finally approved of?

Only when she was completely breathless and about to strip him down to his birthday suit did she manage to pull back.

“Any more questions?” he asked, also a little bit breathless, which was more than slightly gratifying. Dumbly, she shook her head. His eyes softened and he gently he stroked his thumb over her bottom lip. “And FYI? Gib’s an idiot.”

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || GOOGLE || KOBO

Heartbreaker Bay Series

About the Author

Jill Shalvis

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | PINTEREST | TUMBLR | GOODREADS

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras with her family and far too many assorted quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental.

Look for Jill’s latest, LOST AND FOUND SISTERS on shelves and e-readers now, and get all her bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold.

Visit Jill’s website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.


Tagged: , , , , , , ,