Author: Jill Shalvis

Guest Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Posted October 4, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Tracy
Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Meet cute...

Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.

Colbie Albright is a YA fantasy writer who is stressed to the max. She’s in charge of her very dependent family as well as getting texts and emails constantly from her assistant, publisher and agent.  All of this has left her with writers block and she just wants to get away and get back to the place where she can just enjoy life and not stress.  She feels sure that when this happens the words will once again flow from her.

She heads to the airport to blindly choose a destination and she ends up in San Francisco.  Her cab driver tells her about the fountain that grants love wishes and that’s where she is when Spencer is walking a dog who decides to dump Colbie into the fountain.

Spencer feels so bad about what has happened and insists on taking care of her.  He’s not sure why he feels this overwhelming need to assist her and keep her close but he just goes with the flow.  His employee, Elle, isn’t so sure about Colbie and wants to run a background check but Spence trusts Colbie and holds her off.  The longer Spencer is with Colbie the more he likes her and soon finds that he can’t do without her in his life.  Colbie starts to fall for Spence as well but she has her whole life in New York and can’t even imagine moving from there.  The two have to figure it out or give each other up for good.

This was a very sweet story.  I loved Spence and Colbie together.  It was such a natural thing for the two of them to get together and I truly enjoyed reading their love story.

Spencer is such a great character and I’ve liked him in past books.  He is a pretty simple but genius guy that has always put work first.  He never planned on getting married because he knows, especially after a past relationship failed, that he can’t put the woman in his life first.  Except, he manages to do that with Colbie and seeing Spence grow and the realization that he could put a woman first was wonderful.

Colbie at times seemed like a flighty woman but she truly wasn’t.  She was pretty organized and had taken care of her family for a very long time.  Because of this she had put herself into a situation where they depended on her fully.  She finally realized that she’d been enabling them and stood up for what she wanted – them to take care of themselves.  It worked and I loved seeing the load that lifted off of Colbie.

In the end, it was a great HEA and I was happy to see Colbie and Spence together and in love.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill Shalvis

Posted September 26, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Chasing Christmas Eve by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #4
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve
Published by Avon
Publication Date: September 26th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Meet cute...

Run for the hills—temporarily. That's Colbie Albright's plan when she flees New York for San Francisco. Wrangling her crazy family by day and writing a bestselling YA fantasy series by night has taken its toll. In short, Colbie's so over it that she's under it. She's also under the waters of a historic San Francisco fountain within an hour of arrival. Fortunately, the guy who fishes Colbie out has her looking forward to Christmas among strangers. But she's pretty sure Spencer Baldwin won't be a stranger for long.

Make merry...

Spence's commitment to hiding from the Ghosts of Relationships Past means he doesn't have to worry about the powerful—okay, crazy hot chemistry—he's got with Colbie. Just because she can laugh at anything, especially herself... just because she's gorgeous and a great listener just because she gets Spence immediately doesn't mean he won't be able to let Colbie go. Does it?

and hope for a miracle.

Now the clock's ticking for Colbie and Spence: Two weeks to cut loose. Two weeks to fall hard. Two weeks to figure out how to make this Christmas last a lifetime.

Chasing Christmas Eve is the fourth book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis and it’s Spence’s book. I’ve enjoyed getting to know Spence in the other books so I was thrilled that we were finally getting his story. I was also pretty stoked to find out who he ends up with because he’s a genius, a really rich one and I was curious to see what kind of woman he would fall in love with.

Spence Baldwin is still smarting over being dicked over by his old college roommate who wrote an article about him that put him on the map. Everyone wants a piece of him now because he’s rich, he’s a genius and Spence hates the attention. Now that same friend wants another interview and Spence isn’t having it. He’s constantly fielding calls from reporters who want to know everything there is to him and he’s struggling to keep his personal life..personal. When he meets Colbie Albright, she provides the distraction that he needs to figure some work-related things out.

Colbie Albright is running away from her problems for a little bit. She needs to take a step back from her life to take in a breath and hopefully unblock her writing. She’s the glue in her family and they’re crowding her with things that they should be taking care of themselves but lean on her for and then her agent, editor, and publicist all need things from her that she just does not have to give them. So she runs away from them all to get back to herself. To untangle the mess that her personal and professional life has become. Her books are Harry Potter popular and she’s got a movie coming out and she just wants some anonymity to get some zen in her life. When she meets Spence, her trip starts looking up.

This is the Shalvis that I remember. The fun, light-hearted romances that made me laugh and fall in love. I loved Spence in the other books but man did I love him all the more in his own. I loved the romance that blossomed between him and Colbie. I loved that he wouldn’t let Elle kick her out of his life. I just loved him.

Colbie was a great heroine, perfect for Spence. I loved that her relationship with Spence was all about companionship and not about anything else. I’m not one for secrets that lag on and on but Colbie’s secret was okay. When she comes clean to Spence, I was madder at the way that he handled it then her confession. I also liked that she didn’t wait until the very end of the story to tell him who she really was.

I’m pumped for the next book in this series. I want Joe and Kylie’s story and I’m really anxious for Sean’s book too. So much goodness to look forward to and I’m so here for it. I definitely recommend this one.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: At Last by Jill Shalvis.

Posted September 19, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: At Last by Jill Shalvis.Reviewer: Holly
At Last (Lucky Harbor, #5) by Jill Shalvis
Series: Lucky Harbor #5, The Chocoholics #2
Also in this series: Simply Irresistible, Forever and a Day, Once in a Lifetime, It's In His Kiss, He's So Fine, One in a Million, Merry Christmas, Baby
Published by Forever
Publication Date: June 26th 2012
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 314
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

HER LOVE HAS COME ALONG . . . Amy Michaels loves her new life in Lucky Harbor. A waitress in the local diner, she's looking forward to her first weekend hike through the mountains. But when a wrong turn takes her off the trail, she finds herself up close and personal with forest ranger Matt Bowers. And even though she's tempted to kiss that sexy smile right off his face, she won't make the mistake of getting involved with the town heartthrob.

A former cop whose life went south, Matt doesn't let anyone get too close. But something about the feisty beauty caught his eye the moment he first saw her in the diner. After a hot night under a starry sky, Matt can't deny their attraction-or the fact that for the first time in a long time, he feels the stirrings of something more. Now it's up to Matt to help Amy see that, no matter what is in their past, together they can build a future in Lucky Harbor.

At Last by Jill Shalvis is book 5 in the Lucky Harbor series, but book 2 in the Chocoholics series, which follows three friends who live in the town of Lucky Harbor. These books stand alone well. I don’t believe you need to read the previous four books before reading this one.

I really like these Chocoholics books. I was a bit nervous about Amy. She came off as stubborn and closed off in the last book. And she was, but Shalvis made it work. I ended up really liking Amy. She was tough, but she had a soft underbelly which made her relatable.

I expected to like Matt based on the previous book and I did. I did find his guilt complex a bit over-the-top. Still, he was a stand-up guy and the perfect match for Amy.

I found this one to be darker than some of her others. There was still that trademark Shalvis humor, but the overall tone was darker than some of her others. It worked well with both Amy and Matt’s past history.

Shalvis never disappoints.

4.0 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis

Posted February 2, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Accidentally on Purpose by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #3
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, One Snowy Night, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 24th 2017
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

There’s no such thing as a little in love…

Elle Wheaten’s priorities: friends, career, and kick-ass shoes. Then there’s the muscular wall of stubbornness that’s security expert Archer Hunt—who comes before everything else. No point in telling Mr. “Feels-Free Zone” that, though. Elle will just see other men until she gets over Archer . . . which should only take a lifetime . . .

There’s no such thing as a little in lust…

Archer’s wanted the best for Elle ever since he sacrificed his law-enforcement career to save her. But now that she’s earned happiness and success, Archer just wants Elle 24/7. Their chemistry could start the next San Francisco Earthquake, and Archer doesn’t want to be responsible for the damage. The alternative? Watch her go out with guys who aren’t him . . .

There is such a thing as…

As far as Archer’s concerned, nobody is good enough for Elle. But when he sets out to prove it by sabotaging her dates, she gets mad—and things get hot as hell. Now Archer has a new mission: prove to Elle that her perfect man has been here all along…

Accidentally on Purpose is the third book in the Heartbreaker Bay series by Jill Shalvis and it follows Archer and Elle as they make their way toward that happy ending. It wasn’t an easy book to read because I found myself frustrated with both Archer and Elle throughout most of the book.

You see, Archer and Elle share a history. It’s not a history that the reader knew about until this book. The reader only knows that there is mad chemistry between the two of them. They don’t really like each other but chemistry sizzles loud and strong every time they’re within feet of each other. They’re both strong minded people who know what they’re about except when it comes to each other. Archer has his reasons for staying away from Elle and the same with Elle. Do I understand why they’re staying away from each other? Sure. But the longer it takes for them to get their shit together, the more annoyed I got. They played games with each other, the “I don’t want you but I don’t want anyone else to have you either” games and that got on my nerves. These are two grown adults playing idiotic child games and I wasn’t a fan of that.

I enjoyed getting to know the both of them. Elle overcame a pretty rough childhood and carries some guilt over the direction Archer’s life took and her part in that. Archer watches over Elle because ever since that night that changed both of their lives, he can’t seem to help himself. He’s always been drawn to her and because he plays a big reminder of a night that Elle would much rather forget, he keeps his distance even though he wants to bang her ten ways to Sunday. On Elle’s side of things, she’s not a fan of Archer’s because the last time she threw herself at him, he turned her away and she hasn’t forgotten…that.

So even though I spent most of the book frustrated that these two were acting like idiots, doing dumb things to each other that they should have been above, I still enjoyed the book overall. Jill Shalvis does a great job of setting up the next book and building Spence’s character up. I adore him and was hoping that he wouldn’t end up with Morgan because as great as she is, or ends up being…I didn’t want her for Spence.

This isn’t my favorite Shalvis book but it was still another solid read. Archer and Elle get their shit together and that made me happy, I just wish that it hadn’t taken so long for them (especially Elle) to come around.

Grade: 3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis

Posted November 29, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: One Snowy Night by Jill ShalvisReviewer: Rowena
One Snowy Night by Jill Shalvis
Series: Heartbreaker Bay #2.5
Also in this series: Sweet Little Lies (Heartbreaker Bay #1), The Trouble with Mistletoe, The Trouble with Mistletoe, Accidentally on Purpose, Chasing Christmas Eve (Heartbreaker Bay, #4), Chasing Christmas Eve
Published by Harper Collins, Avon Impulse
Publication Date: November 8th 2016
Pages: 160
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis returns to Heartbreaker Bay with a fun and festive holiday novella!

It’s Christmas Eve and Rory Andrews is desperate to get home to the family she hasn’t seen in years. Problem is, her only ride to Lake Tahoe comes in the form of the annoyingly handsome Max Stranton, and his big, goofy, lovable dog Carl.

Hours stuck in a truck with the dead sexy Max sounds like a fate worse than death (not), but Rory’s out of options. She’s had a crush on Max since high school and she knows he’s attracted to her, too. But they have history… and Max is the only one who knows why it went south.

They’ve done a good job of ignoring their chemistry so far, but a long road trip in a massive blizzard might be just what they need to face their past… and one steamy, snowy night is all it takes to bring Max and Rory together at last.

This was a shorty but goodie. Ha, see what I did there?

This novella features Max Stranton and Rory Andrews. Max works with Archer (hero of Book 3) and Rory works with Willa (heroine of Book 2) and they don’t like each other. Rory goes out of her way to avoid Max when he brings his dog into her work for his pet care needs and she wonders why he keeps bringing Carl (Max’s dog) in for every little thing, even things he can do himself, especially if he doesn’t like her. Max can’t explain it either. He’s got some resentments that go back to their high school days so yeah, he doesn’t like her but he sees her all the time. Goes out of his way to see her.

When Rory finds herself looking for a ride home, Max volunteers to take her. They’re going to the same place, they might as well go together. Rory isn’t a fan of this plan but ends up going anyway. She’s expecting a long, awkward drive to their hometown but she’s in for a surprise because everything she was expecting goes right out the window once they hit the highway.

Max is drawn to Rory, despite the resentment he feels for her. He’s attracted to her but shoves his desire for her down at every turn because he’s not over what happened back in high school. Her actions back then changed the course of his life and he hasn’t really gotten over it. The thing that really chaps his hide is that she acts like she doesn’t even care about changing the course of his life with her actions and that, more anything is what he can’t forgive.

Rory has had a crush on Max since they shared classes in high school. She was never the girl that all of the boys crushed on so of course Max didn’t return her feelings and she spent so much time planning to get out of their small hometown that she splits the first chance she gets. She left a family behind and hasn’t been back to visit them in years. It’s going to be hard going back home but she’s making changes in her life and she’s going to be dependable for once.

The whole road trip serves as an epic clearing of the air between Max and Rory and I thought it was super cute. If I had a gripe, it would be that their story was far too short but overall, it was still a cute romance with an adorable dog that I loved the heck out of. The love that blossomed between Max and Rory happened pretty fast but was made okay for me by the fact that they shared a history. Jill Shalvis can write the heck out of a story and for me, it showed in this short one. I adored both Max and Rory and wished we could have gotten more from their individual stories (it would have been nice to meet and spend some time with their families, see what happened when Rory finally went home, etc..) but I’m hopeful that we’ll get more of them in Archer and Elle’s book.

This was a delightful romance that one would excpect from Jill Shalvis and it made me anxious for the next one.

3.75 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,