Author: Jessica Lemmon

Review: Arm Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted September 6, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Arm Candy by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Rowena
Arm Candy by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #2
Also in this series: Eye Candy, Eye Candy (Real Love, #1)
Published by Random House Publishing Group, Loveswept
Publication Date: September 5th, 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 220
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Last call! At the end of the night, a clean-cut hunk and a rebellious bartender act on their unlikely chemistry in this frisky standalone novel from the author of Eye Candy.

Davis:

I’ve had my eye on Grace Buchanan for a while now. Unlike the bubbly blondes I usually date, the feisty, flame-haired bartender both intrigues and bewilders me. Something about Grace—the tattoos? the nose ring?—makes every part of me sit up and beg. There’s only one problem: She hates me. Trading insults and one-liners has become our M.O. But when Grace bets me that I can’t get a date with a non-blonde if my life depends on it, I’m determined to prove her wrong by landing the ultimate non-blonde: her.

Grace:

I’m used to regulars hitting on me, and I’ve turned them all down, except for one: Davis Price. I like giving him a hard time, and he’s kind of cute in his suit and tie—if you’re into that kind of thing. Anyway, I don’t care how many blondes he takes home . . . until one of them sidles up to him in my bar. Nuh-uh. But after my little bet with Davis backfires, our first date lands us in the sack. So does the second. And the third. Neither of us wants more than the best sex of our lives. The trouble is, it’s not a question of what I want. It’s what I need. And what I need is Davis.

Arm Candy is the second book in the Real Love series by Jessica Lemmon. It’s also Davis’ book. Davis Price, the best friend of the hero from Book 1. I’ve been looking forward to reading this book because I enjoyed the little bits we got from Davis in Eye Candy. He was a good friend to both Vince and Jackie and I was looking forward to getting to know him better. There were little nuggets that we learn about Davis in the first book and I was looking forward to delving into all of that stuff and I’m happy to say that Jessica Lemmon did a fabulous job of writing Davis’ story, IMO.

Davis works from home so he likes to unwind at his favorite neighborhood bar and he really likes exchanging barbs with his favorite bartender, Grace. The attraction between the two of them is strong but neither of them act on it until Grace throws down the gauntlet in the form of a wager and Davis jumps on it. The bet? That Davis will ask the first non-blonde out that he sees and he jumps in and asks her out. Grace is a redhead and though she wasn’t talking about herself when she placed the bet, she’s not one to walk away from a dare so she agrees to go out with him.

One date ends up in bed and they keep ending up in bed so they spend some time together. They get to know each other outside of the bar and the more they get to know, the more they like each other. I really enjoyed seeing them fall in love with each other because they’re both flawed characters who have been burned by one thing or another and don’t have that much faith in relationships but seeing them take a chance on each other warmed my heart. Sure, things weren’t perfect and they fumbled their way to get to that happy ending but I really enjoyed their emotional ride.

Davis was just as great as I hoped he’d be. He did a lot of growing throughout the book and I really connected with his character. He learned a great deal about himself, about love and about what he wanted out of life. He was a grown man who handled his business and did whatever he felt needed to be done and I loved how honest he was. With Grace. With himself. With everyone. He wasn’t the most perfect of characters but he was real. He was a good person who realized his worth and loved with all he had. I appreciated that and I adored him. He was such a good character.

Gracie Lou was a great match for Davis. She came with her own baggage and she was dealing with them as best as she could. She fumbled a lot and there were times when I wanted to smack some sense into her but she doesn’t stay down for long. She was adult enough to acknowledge when she was wrong and in the end, all was well.

This was a great read from beginning to end. I loved the romance that blossomed between Davis and Grace and I adored seeing Vince and Jackie again, all loved up and happy. I’m looking forward to getting to know Dax, though it would have been nice to get a little more of him in this book so that I could have an idea of what’s to come in his book but that’s a really minor gripe. I enjoyed this one and can’t wait for more.

Grade: 4.25 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted August 2, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Eye Candy by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Tracy
Eye Candy (Real Love, #1) by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #1
Also in this series: Eye Candy, Arm Candy
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: July 25th 2017
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Jacqueline: As an adult woman--and the vice president of a marketing firm--I shouldn't be waiting by my office window to ogle the mystery man who jogs by every morning at 11:45. Sure, he's a gorgeous, perfect specimen of the human race, but I can't bring myself to hit on a total stranger. However, my best friend-slash-colleague Vince Carson thinks I should do more than talk to the guy. In fact, he's borderline obsessive about "getting me laid." (His words.) But the more time we spend together, the more it's clear: The one I'm falling for is Vince.

Vince: Jackie Butler's got it bad for some pompous, over-pumped A-hole who struts his stuff past her window. That doesn't bother me. I know she deserves nice things. What does bother me is that she friend-zoned me big-time last year, so I can't ask her out myself. But what if I set her up with Mr. Steroids? Then, when he breaks her heart, I can swoop in and save her like the nice guy I am. Everything's going according to plan . . . until we share a ridiculously epic kiss. And suddenly anything is possible.

Jacqueline and Vince are best friends and co-workers.  Every day at a specific time Jackie stares out her window to ogle a runner who she thinks is hotter than hot.  Vince is jealous because even though he and Jackie are friends he wants to be more.  Despite his feelings he encourages Jackie to date runner guy because he thinks that she’ll see what a dolt the guy is and then he’ll have his opening.  Things don’t exactly work out that way.

Jackie is excited about dating the runner guy but she’s kind of having fantasies about her friend Vince and she’s not sure how he feels about that.  She’s getting mixed signals as he’s telling her what she should do with runner guy.  It’s all very confusing.  Soon Jackie is acting like a teenager and with Vince and she’s not sure how he feels about her.

This was a cute and sometimes funny book.  I like friends-to-lovers stories and I had some pretty high hopes with this one as I know what a great writer that Lemmon is.  Unfortunately this one just wasn’t what I was expecting.

Friends who become lovers – that’s a difficult and sometimes rocky road to take and that’s when the H/h are being honest with each other about their feelings.  That wasn’t the case here. Vince thought that if Jackie dated she would see that the dating world sucked and then he’d have his chance.  Jackie dated runner guy and eventually did see what an ass he was but since Vince was being so wishy washy it was hard for her to tell.  Then when Jackie did something completely childish, even though it was done in the heat of the moment, Vince gets extremely mad and stops talking to her.  I was completely floored at his actions and wanted to hit the man, quite frankly.  Between the hiding of their feelings and the huge miscommunication I found myself rolling my eyes instead of understanding what they were going through.  I wish I could say better things about this one but it just didn’t do it for me.

Rating: 2.5/3 out of 5

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon

Posted July 24, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Eye Candy by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Rowena
Eye Candy by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Real Love #1
Also in this series: Eye Candy (Real Love, #1), Arm Candy
Published by Random House, Loveswept
Publication Date: July 25th 2017
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Jacqueline: As an adult woman--and the vice president of a marketing firm--I shouldn't be waiting by my office window to ogle the mystery man who jogs by every morning at 11:45. Sure, he's a gorgeous, perfect specimen of the human race, but I can't bring myself to hit on a total stranger. However, my best friend-slash-colleague Vince Carson thinks I should do more than talk to the guy. In fact, he's borderline obsessive about "getting me laid." (His words.) But the more time we spend together, the more it's clear: The one I'm falling for is Vince.

Vince: Jackie Butler's got it bad for some pompous, over-pumped A-hole who struts his stuff past her window. That doesn't bother me. I know she deserves nice things. What does bother me is that she friend-zoned me big-time last year, so I can't ask her out myself. But what if I set her up with Mr. Steroids? Then, when he breaks her heart, I can swoop in and save her like the nice guy I am. Everything's going according to plan . . . until we share a ridiculously epic kiss. And suddenly anything is possible.

Eye Candy is the first book in a new series by Jessica Lemmon called Real Love. It follows Vince Carson as he tries to win his best friend Jackie Butler over into his life and his..bed.

Vince has got it bad for his best friend, Jackie. She kind of snuck up on him because he wasn’t looking for feelings to creep up on him since he swore off love after his ex-wife left him because he wasn’t successful enough for her. Jackie and Vince work together, they share the VP status at their marketing firm and it was Jackie that helped Vince get his shit together after the divorce. He was an emotional mess and talking things out with Jackie, who showed up at his house with fried chicken and beer helped get his life back on track and he was doing well now. He was done being an emotional basket case and he was moving on with his life. He was ready to date again and he wanted to date Jackie but she wasn’t ready for him.

Jackie came into the picture when she started working at the marketing firm that Vince worked at. She was fresh off a divorce herself but her divorce did a number on her because her ex-husband cheating and fell in love with someone else while still married to Jackie and she hasn’t really recovered from the rejection and betrayal. Vince was off limits when Jackie first meets him and it’s probably for the best because they’re really good as friends. Best friends, even. She saw herself in him when he was struggling to get through the days following his divorce and so she shows up at his house and helps him through everything. She listened to him when he needed to get all of his emotions off his chest. She helped him figure out his next move.

Vince is under the impression that if he were to ask Jackie out, that he would be her rebound and he doesn’t want to be that so when she starts drooling over the hot guy that runs by their office every day at 11:45am, Vince thinks it’s a good idea to become her dating coach. She needs to get back out there so that when the hot guy breaks her heart, Vince will be there to comfort her through the heartbreak.

What a dumbass plan. The whole plan that Vince concocts to win Jackie over was just plain ol’ dumb but for some reason, I kept reading the book. I enjoyed Vince as a character and I enjoyed getting to know Jackie but I still thought that they had a lot of dumb moments throughout the book. I’m not a fan of dating games and these two played a lot of them. They’re best friends, so I didn’t think that the games were necessary but let them both slide some because they were young enough to make those stupid mistakes.

The romance was pretty steamy and I’m mighty curious about the next book in this series so I’m definitely going to be continuuing on. I liked Davis and want to see him get the bartender….I’m also very curious to know where Grace went toward the end of this book. Why wasn’t she at the bar when the boys would go in there? Hmmm…

Overall, I thought this book was good. The characters were funny, the dialogue had me cracking up and I liked the hero. Sure, Vince did some stupid shit but I still really liked him. I liked him more than I liked Jackie. I wasn’t a fan of the whole JT thing but it led Vince and Jackie to each other so I got over it. Jessica Lemmon created a fun little world for these characters and I’m looking forward to meeting the rest of the gang in the next book. I’m in.

Grade: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Bastard Billionaire by Jessica Lemmon

Posted February 24, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: The Bastard Billionaire by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Rowena
The Bastard Billionaire by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Billionaire Bad Boys #3
Also in this series: The Billionaire Bachelor, The Billionaire Next Door
Published by Forever
Publication Date: February 28th 2017
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

A BILLIONAIRE BAD BOYS NOVEL

Beauty and the Beastly Billionaire . . . Eli Crane is one tough bastard. After an explosion left him injured and honorably discharged from the Marines, all he wants is to be left alone. Yet his brothers insist he take a greater role in the family business. They've hired him ten personal assistants-and Eli sent each one packing as fast as possible. But when beautiful number eleven walks through the door, Eli will do anything to make her stay. Isabella Sawyer's employment agency can't afford to lose Eli Crane's business. Her plan: to personally take on the role of his PA, and secure her reputation with the wealthy elite in Chicago. But this beauty and her hot billionaire bad boy soon find themselves mixing business with pleasure in the most delicious ways. And passionate, stubborn Isabella won't rest until she tames this wicked beast . . .

The Bastard Billionaire follows the last of the Crane brothers on that journey to his happy ending. Eli Crane served in the Marine corps until an explosion sidelined him and killed his friends. He’s living with a shit load of survivor’s guilt and the guilt is turning him into a surly, growly man who doesn’t want to have anything to do with the family business or any of the administrative assistants that his brothers keep sending his way.

The thing about family is…they’re not going anywhere and neither is the company supplying all of the administrative assistants that Eli keeps scaring away. You see, Isabella Sawyer has a business that she’s trying to get on the map and she’s not going to let Eli Crane scare away her biggest client, his family’s hotel empire. So if she’s got to do the job herself, that’s what she’ll do and Eli Crane will not scare her away. She’s just as stubborn and determined as he is and he’s going to find that out for himself, first hand.

The chemistry between Eli and Isa was pretty intense right from the very beginning. Eli’s confusion at not being able to scare Isa away along with the niggling doubts in the back of his mind about not even wanting to send her away was fun to watch. He fought that attraction at every turn but fate has a way of shoving you on your ass to make you sit up and take notice. So yeah, I enjoyed this story a lot.

Isa was a strong heroine who worked hard and loved harder. She wasn’t prepared for Eli Crane. She didn’t want to like him because he was such a big thorn in her business side but there was more to Eli than meets the eye and he was too hot for him to think so low of himself. She wasn’t looking for him but once she found him, she wasn’t sorry. She didn’t back away from her feelings, and I loved that so much. She owned her feelings right from the jump and even when she knew that Eli wasn’t where she was emotionally, she didn’t back away from how she felt for him. My heart hurt and then rejoiced for her because she was pretty awesome.

Together, they were fantastic. I adored seeing Eli’s walls crumble to the ground where Isa was concerned and I really enjoyed getting to know Isa throughout the entire book. This was a fun book with great guest appearances from Eli’s family. They were a fun bunch in the other books and it was great to see more of the same from them in this one. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: Shut Up and Kiss Me by Jessica Lemmon

Posted December 26, 2016 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Shut Up and Kiss Me by Jessica LemmonReviewer: Tracy
Shut Up and Kiss Me by Jessica Lemmon
Series: Lost Boys #2
Also in this series: Waiting for Devlin, Shut Up and Kiss Me
Published by Loveswept
Publication Date: December 6th 2016
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Cade: I tried. I really tried. I should be out of this small town by now, finishing my law degree and partnering up with my buddies, but I couldn’t resist one last street race. Now I’m sidelined in the hospital, and while my injuries will heal, I’m not so sure my voice will return. What kind of attorney can’t talk? Yeah, exactly. I’m afraid that I won’t be able to come back from this... until Tasha Montgomery reawakens every competitive bone in my body.

Tasha: I nearly watched Cade Wilson die on that lonely stretch of road. He’s damn lucky just to be alive, even if he doesn’t realize it. I know he’s destined for bigger and better things, but I don’t mind helping him get there as he relearns everything he took for granted. Cade’s a good student, a real perfectionist; I can tell how much his stutter bothers him. But when he lets his kisses do the talking, everything else disappears. And one day, maybe he’ll be able to tell me that he wants me—as much as I want him.

Tasha is a physical therapist in training who has volunteered to help Cade with his speech.  After a terrifying illegal street racing accident almost took his life he’s having trouble speaking.  He can sometimes speak with no problem – other times he stutters which drives him nuts.  He’s been resistant to help so far so most of the time Tasha sits in his room and does homework while he does something else.

Cade has liked Tasha for years.  While he was in college he hit on her once and she blew him off.  Yes, he was acting like an ass at the time but he did really like her.  He still likes her and loves surreptitiously watching her while she does her homework. He knows he frustrates her by not cooperating with the speech therapy but the things she wants him to do are just so weird.  When Tasha suggests some kissing therapy that interests him a great deal and lo and behold – it works.

Cade loves the kissing and it works to loosen him up and he seems to talk fine afterward.  On top of the talking he still has some issues, however. He’s depressed because his friends are going ahead with plans they made with him to open their own law firm.  He’s just not included any longer as he’s no longer in school and it eats at him.  He’s also sad about the loss of his smooth-talking ways.  He was always considered a silver-tongued devil and that has him a bit lost as he no longer is.  He also believes that Tasha is too good for him.  He had a girlfriend at one point who dumped him once she realized he wasn’t going to be a rich lawyer any longer.  Tasha grew up with lots of money and he’s not sure he trusts her not to do the same thing as his ex.  Will his decision about his future be good enough for her?

This was a cute book that had a good premise.  I liked both Tasha and Cade and thought they were good together.  Unfortunately, I had a few issues with the book.

Cade and Tasha’s chemistry was nil in my opinion.  I kept waiting for it to spark on the page and it just didn’t.  I think Tasha was holding back so much throughout the book that I never felt she actually gave her all.  Cade certainly did but it wasn’t enough to cover for Tasha’s lack. She was definitely all-in with their friendship but the romance?  I wasn’t feeling it. I’m sure this had to do with trust and her cheating ex-boyfriend but I’ve read that storyline before and had it work so…IDK.

The story was slower than I expected.  It had some more exciting parts to it but overall it was definitely a slower read.  The other issue was that of the relationship to her father and the ramifications it had on her relationship to Cade.  She was at odds with herself and it didn’t make for good reading.  She wanted to be independent but then accepted money for housing and a car.  Granted the car was supposed to be a birthday gift but still – her father had no problem holding it over her head.  IDK, that part of the book was kind of disconnected to me and I didn’t care for it.

Overall the book was a decent read.  I know it doesn’t sound like I enjoyed the book but I did.  I liked Lemmon’s Second Chance series so I know she’s a good author – this one just wasn’t my favorite of her books that I’ve read.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,