Author: Ilona Andrews

Joint Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Posted February 28, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Joint Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles #2
Also in this series: Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1)
Published by Ilona Andrews
Publication Date: November 13th 2015
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 237
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Dina DeMille doesn’t run your typical Bed and Breakfast. Her inn defies laws of physics, her fluffy dog is secretly a monster, and the only paying guest is a former Galactic tyrant with a price on her head. But the inn needs guests to thrive, and guests have been scarce, so when an Arbitrator shows up at Dina's door and asks her to host a peace summit between three warring species, she jumps on the chance.

Unfortunately, for Dina, keeping the peace between Space Vampires, the Hope-Crushing Horde, and the devious Merchants of Baha-char is much easier said than done. On top of keeping her guests from murdering each other, she must find a chef, remodel the inn...and risk everything, even her life, to save the man she might fall in love with. But then it's all in the day's work for an Innkeeper…

Dina Demille runs an intergalactic B&B, an Inn, that caters to more difficult guests. When the Inn was built it sat at a busy crossroads, but since the new highway was built it’s fallen off the map, so to speak, and guests are few and far between. Since the Inn needs guests to survive, Dina agrees to host a Peace Treaty between 3 very dangerous species. She knows it’s risky, but desperate times and all that. Only she didn’t predict just how terribly wrong things would go.

Holly: I seriously love that you’re reading this series. I’m giving myself a pat on the back for forcing you to read outside your comfort zone. Were you happy to be back visiting Dina in her Inn?

Rowena: This is a good series. I’m not all that into paranormals or urban fantasy, not like you are anyway, but I’m glad you’re making me read these books. I’m really enjoying them. I was really happy being back in this world, but I really missed Sean, at least in the beginning. Holy cow, Dina really does get the difficult guest, right?

Holly: She really does. I love how calm she is under pressure. Vampires and the Hope-Crushing Horde about to rip each other’s faces off? No big deal. Let’s all have some tea. I definitely missed Sean in this book, too, but Dina is a fantastic heroine. I was totally wrapped up in her struggles to get everything ready for the summit.

Rowena: Yessss! She is a really good innkeeper, too. She genuinely cares about people and she takes her job very seriously. I admire the hell out of her for doing her job, even when it’s hard and still doing what she feels is right for her Inn, for her guests and for the people she cares about.

Holly: I do think the story was kind of slow in the middle. I liked this book a lot, but it isn’t my favorite. One Fell Sweep, book 3, is.

Rowena: I didn’t think the story was slow, maybe because this was all new to me? I’m not sure. I just know that as soon as I finished it, I wanted to read the next book pronto so I did.

There was a lot going on in this book and I thought that Andrews did a great job of bringing all of those individual stories together and still giving us romance fans that little, tiny romance that I was itching for from the beginning. I enjoyed this book so much that I couldn’t wait to start the next book…and I did.

Holly: Let’s talk about the individual characters for a minute. What did you think of Orro, the disgraced Red Cleaver Chef Dina hired? Did you adore him like I did?

Rowena: Of course, I did. I loved how ornery and dramatic he was, but I also loved that he took care of Dina and was able to find himself a home at Gertrude Hunt. I’m not going to lie, I was low key hungry after reading every scene he was in….I also wanted to be a guest at the summit so that I can eat the food he prepared. Everything sounded so delicious.

Holly: What about the Arbitrator, George, and his companions, Jack, Gaston and Sophie (for those who are familiar with Andrews’ other works, they’re crossover characters from the The Edge series)? George made me so angry, but in the end I couldn’t hate him.

Rowena: As for George, I was just as mad at him as Dina was at first but in the end, I really liked him and am curious about his story. He makes the hard decisions that nobody wants to make and he really took a lot on himself, as well. That can’t be an easy life to live and yet, he does it. Throw in the drama between him and Sophie, it made my heart go even softer on him.

Holly: Yep, that’s how I felt about George, too. I knew him from the other series, but even so..he made me so angry! In the end, I couldn’t help but love him. I actually liked Jack a lot more than George after reading The Edge series. But here George was the star. I hope we see more from him and his crew later.

Holly: I loved it when Jack sprayed Officer Marais. I almost died laughing.

Rowena: Jack, Gaston and Sophie were good characters but I wasn’t as invested in them as I was George, Arland and that thing that came in and killed those vampires. What was he called again?

Holly: Turin Adin, the Merchants ace. His story broke my heart. I loved him.

Rowena: Also??? Turin Adin, I knew exactly who he was not long after he came onto the scene. The minute he said, “Thank you” all soft like to Dina after she apologized for not protecting him as she should have, I was like, there he is. He’s home…and then I squeed like a little schoolgirl with a crush.

Holly: I knew right away who he really was, too, but Dina’s moment of discovery was so awesome. I loved her reaction and how determined she was to save him.

Rowena: My favorite quote from the entire book was, “Nothing I regret. You’re alive. That makes me happy.” Excuse me while I swoon.

Holly: Oh, how I melted when he said that. My heart got all happy when Dina was like “Oh hell no, you can’t have him”. Sigh.

Rowena: Dude, what about the lengths Dina went to save the Turin Adin??? Talk about heady stuff. I’m so here for that.

Holly: I love how nuanced these characters are. Like Nuan Cee, the head Merchant. I wanted to hate him for refusing to let Turin Adin go, but I couldn’t. His reason for needing Turin Adin was such a good one.

Rowena: Yesss!! I liked that about everyone in the book. They were all driven by something that wasn’t greed (well except for that one house but Turin Adin took care of them real quick like), reasons that were understandable. It would have been so easy to just make them all greedy bastards but I liked how fleshed out each house and each character in this book is.

I’m really coming to love these characters and the world that Ilona Andrews has built for Dina. I love the drawings that are included and all of the drama that comes Dina’s way when she accepts new guests. I felt every emotion that Dina (I was pissed at the damn vampires for coming in the front, I was exasperated with Officer Marais for making things harder for Dina to conduct business and I was nosy as all get out to find out everyone’s stories) felt and that scene where Dina makes them all feel what each other was feeling?? That was pretty awesome. There wasn’t much that I didn’t enjoy about this book. The characters, the stories, the setting, it all worked for me. Great book pimp!

Holly: I love this whole series. Dina is wonderful, so is Gertrude Hunt and all who inhabit or visit. I’m so glad you loved it (is now a good time to say I Told You So?). I’m going to give it a 4.5 out of 5. You?

Rowena: I’m really loving the hell out of these books. I love Dina. I love Sean. Hell, I even love Arland and Gertrude Hunt is the bomb too. I really like that the Inn is a character itself. So much goodness in this book, I give it 4.5 out of 5 too.

Final Grades

Holly: 4.5 out of 5
Rowena: 4.5 out of 5

Innkeeper Chronicles


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona Andrews

Posted October 17, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Magic Strikes by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
Magic Strikes (Kate Daniels, #3) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Kate Daniels #3
Also in this series: Magic Shifts, Magic Shifts, Magic Binds (Kate Daniels, #9), Magic Bites (Kate Daniels, #1)
Published by Ace
Publication Date: March 31st 2009
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 310
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

When magic strikes and Atlanta goes to pieces, it’s a job for Kate Daniels…
Drafted to work for the Order of Knights of Merciful Aid, mercenary Kate Daniels has more paranormal problems these days than she knows what to do with. And in Atlanta, where magic comes and goes like the tide, that’s saying a lot.
But when Kate’s werewolf friend Derek is discovered nearly dead, she must confront her greatest challenge yet. As her investigation leads her to the Midnight Games—an invitation-only, no-holds-barred, ultimate preternatural fighting tournament—she and Curran, the Lord of the Beasts, uncover a dark plot that may forever alter the face of Atlanta’s shapeshifting community…

Magic Strikes is book 3 in the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. This is a multi-layered story that progresses over many books. The series should definitely be read in order.

Reading these books back-to-back has really driven home the progression of the writing and story-arc. I really think this is the book where the series picks up steam and settles into itself. I really enjoyed it. The storyline is intense and I really loved the development of the main and secondary characters.

My heart broke for Derek and I really felt Kate’s rage and pain. Kate’s determination to take responsibility for every single thing that happens to her friends can be frustrating. She really skates that “becoming unbearable” line. She hasn’t quite crossed it, but her constant guilt and the quickness in which she claims responsibility for everything is frustrating at times.

The interesting world and character development has me hooked.

3.75 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , ,

Joint Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews

Posted September 14, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Joint Review: Clean Sweep by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly & Rowena
Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Innkeeper Chronicles #1
Also in this series: Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles, #1), Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles, #2)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: December 2nd 2013
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 235
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is...different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, "normal" is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night....Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.

Holly: I read the Innkeeper Chronicles for the first time earlier this year. I’ve been bugging Rowena (and everyone else who will listen) to read the series ever since. I finally talked her into it, even though UF isn’t really her thing.

So, how did you feel about the book, Rowena? Did you enjoy the otherworldly stuff, or was it too out there for you?

Rowena: It was a lot different than I was expecting but…a good different. Magical inns and innkeepers? A sexy werewolf that was a thorn in the magical innkeeper’s side? A hot warrior vampire is thrown into the mix to make it a little spicy? Yeah, I’m in. I’m not much for urban fantasy or paranormal these days but I’m glad that Holly keeps making me read these books because they’re keeping me entertained.

Holly: I was so wrapped up in the world. This magical Inn and an Innkeeper with unimaginable power. The super werewolf. The warrior Vampires. I loved it. I loved all of it.

Rowena: I really liked Dina…I also liked the pictures that were included of the different characters. That was nice. Do we get those in the other books as well?

Holly: Yes, we get pictures of the characters in other books. They’re very helpful, aren’t they?

Rowena:  But back to Dina, I liked that she was strong and capable and brave. She didn’t back down from those that put her neighbors and herself in danger and I just enjoyed getting to know her. I also liked her interactions with Sean.

Holly: I really enjoyed Dina. I wasn’t sure of her at first, but she quickly shaped up into a strong woman. Caldenia, her permanent guest, was hilarious. I really enjoyed their interactions.

Rowena: Freaking Sean has got it going on and I really need to know if he comes back…so does he?

Holly: Yes, we’ll see Sean again.

Rowena: Yay! I’m glad that we’ll see Sean again and what about the vampire? We see him too, right? Do we get a background on where Sean’s been and what not?

Holly: We do see the Vampire again, and we find out where Sean has been and what he’s been up to. We also meet several more characters (including my favorite).

Rowena: Do the other books have gross villains like this one did? All of that slimy yuckiness was just…yuck.

Holly: The other books are pretty graphic, but I don’t think there’s a lot of slime and icky stuff in the other books. That stuff doesn’t bother me so I didn’t pay much attention, except to note the wicked amount of detail Andrews includes. I definitely felt like I was right inside the book.

Holly: How about Dina’s trip to Costco? I love that Sean came and rescued her. I’m such a sap.

Rowena: That trip to Costco was crazy but I liked how it ended…with Sean coming to her rescue and just taking care of her. swoon Seriously, I’m ready for the next one.

Holly: Do you want to live in the Inn?

Rowena: Heck yes I want to live in the inn! I loved that Dina could change whatever she wanted whenever she wanted. One day it could be a log cabin and the next day, a contemporary bachelor pad. That was really neat. I also enjoyed seeing her relationship with the house. How she was always protecting it and calming it down when things started popping off.

Holly: It would be so amazing to be able to change the shape, size and theme of a room with a thought. I need to find me an Inn and get some magic. Especially since it’s self-cleaning. Sign me up for that.

Rowena: This book was fun and it was interesting and I’m definitely interested in seeing what comes next for Dina, her inn and the people she’s starting to let into her life. I’d give this one a 4 out of 5. You?

Holly: I’m giving it a 4.25 out of 5. I love the world and the characters. I can’t wait for you to continue on with the series.


Rowena’s rating: 4 out of 5
Holly’s rating: 4.25 out of 5

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: White Hot by Ilona Andrews

Posted August 25, 2017 by Holly in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: White Hot by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Holly
White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2) by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #2
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot
Published by Avon
Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 389
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

The Hidden Legacy series by #1
New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews continues as Nevada and Rogan navigate a world where magic is the norm…and their relationship burns hot

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

White Hot has been a long time coming. It’s been years since Burn for Me, book 1, was released. White Hot picks up right where Burn for Me left off. I would definitely recommend reading them in order.

Nevada Baylor’s detective agency has been hired by the son of a Prime (major magical user) to find out who was responsible for his wife’s murder. During the course of the investigation Nevada crosses paths with Connor “Mad” Rogan, another Prime and her current attraction. They worked together on another case, but then Rogan walked away without a backward glance. That was two months ago. Nevada needs to keep her family under the radar as much as possible, because her powers are unique and will put them all in danger if they’re discovered. Starting a romance – or anything else – with a Prime of Rogan’s notoriety is a terrible idea, but as the case develops she realizes she needs his help. Not that he’s giving her a choice. His people were murdered, too, and he’s determined to find out what happened to them, whether she likes it or not.

As Connor and Nevada race to uncover the plot behind the murders, Nevada’s life starts spiraling out of control. She finds herself turning to Connor more and more, both personally and professionally. When push comes to shove she realizes Connor will always have her back…

Andrews excels at writing complex, layered stories with excellent world-building and fabulous characters. This was no exception. I was a bit concerned the quality would suffer for the long delay between releases, but that wasn’t the case. The romance really ramps up in this one, with Connor and Nevada coming together more and more as the novel progresses. I absolutely loved them both, and I was so glad to see them solidify as a couple.

My mind boggles at the sheer imagination this author possesses. Where do they even get this stuff? However they do it, I don’t care as long as they don’t stop. Nevada, her family, “Mad” Rogan and the full cast of characters really come to life. I fell right into the story and didn’t come up until the book ended.

There’s a lot happening, but the writing is so seamless and smooth I was never confused or overwhelmed. While I may enjoy the Innkeeper Chronicles just a bit more, this is such a fabulous series.

White Hot is a perfect example of why everyone should be reading Ilona Andrews.

4.5 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Guest Review: White Hot by Ilona Andrews

Posted August 8, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: White Hot by Ilona AndrewsReviewer: Tracy
White Hot by Ilona Andrews
Series: Hidden Legacy #2
Also in this series: Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy, #1), Wildfire, White Hot (Hidden Legacy, #2)
Published by Avon
Publication Date: May 30th 2017
Genres: Urban Fantasy
Pages: 389
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

Book two in the Hidden Legacy series begins just 2 months after book one ended.  Nevada is still working her private detective business and dealing with family issues.  Mad Rogan has been in the wind since Nevada told him that she wasn’t into having a fling with him.  She figures that he’s moved on and she’s trying to do the same.

Nevada takes a case for Cornelius Harrison (who we met in book one) who is an animal mage.  His wife, a lawyer, was recently murdered while working for House Fosberg and the House is saying that it had nothing to do with work.  That she was at a hotel and it was personal business.  Cornelius is pretty sure that they’re lying as his wife was faithful to him and hires Nevada to look into it.  Of course her investigation brings up a whole bunch of things that want to stay hidden, as well as more interaction with Mad Rogan.

Nevada also ends up using her truthseeking magic to force a child molester/serial killer to tell her where he had hidden the latest child he’d kidnapped.  Though she went against advice and her face was hidden, she still outs herself and the one person she doesn’t want finding her, her grandmother, does just that.  The grandmother will stop at nothing to get Nevada into her House.

The story is a great one.  I love Andrews’ world building, character building and romance.  There’s truly nothing I didn’t like in this book.

Mad Rogan and Nevada have an interesting yet incredibly romantic relationship.  They get closer in this book as they uncover part of the plot that started in book one.  They work together so incredibly well and I love that they’re so protective of each other.

The secondary characters in this story are awesome.  Nevada’s family plays a huge part in the book, as they did in book one, and we get to know them a bit better.  Cornelius and his magic are wonderful and made me laugh more than once.

I want to tell you so much about this book but you need to read if for yourself to understand the beauty of it.  Don’t read this book if you haven’t read book one as you will be lost, lost, lost.  The series definitely needs to be read in order.  White Hot is an amazing book set in an amazing world and is a book I definitely recommend.

Rating: 5 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , , , ,