Author: Emma Chase

Review: Sidebarred by Emma Chase

Posted May 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Sidebarred by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Sidebarred by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #3.5
Also in this series: Appealed
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: April 24, 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 101
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

There was a time when Jake Becker had it all together. He was controlled, driven, ruthless—in and out of the courtroom.

Then, six irresistible orphans and their heartbreakingly beautiful aunt crashed into his perfectly ordered life. They changed everything. They changed him. Now he’s a husband, an upstanding member of society, a father figure—a family man. And he’s pretty damn good at it.

Sure, he has to referee sibling smackdowns, re-learn algebra, ensure his clients stay of jail, and keep his wife happy—but it finally feels like he’s got it together again....

So, of course something has to screw it all up. It’s huge. Life-changing. Kind of terrifying.

And it will be the most amazing, perfect thing he’ll ever do.

Oh happy day!

When I heard that we were getting more Jake, Chelsea and the kids, I was over the moon. I couldn’t contain how happy I was because I absolutely loved their book. I loved their romance, their kids, the chaos that was their life and I loved their friends as well. Well, Jake’s friends…Chelsea’s friends from school? Ehh. As much as I loved Brent in his book, for me, it’s always been about Jake Becker. I love him most. His personality, the wealth of love he had for that single mom and all of those crazy kids she came with. I was so on board for a little extra tid bit from their life in this new novella.

Jake and Chelsea are back at it again with all their kids and the madness that is their life. They’re still making things work at home, at work and at all of the kids different after school activities. Seeing them figure things out together as a family was so nice. I just loved seeing everyone back together again. Emma Chase writes such great contemporary romances with witty banter, great male POV and steamy, sexy scenes. This book was filled with all of that and it was such a short story.

I loved this book! I loved it so much. It was damn near perfect. I loved getting to see the gang all together again and that ending? So.much.love. I got teary eyed when we were in the hospital and Rory shares the special news with Jake. And Jake’s reaction to Rory’s news? OMG, swoon. If you enjoyed the Legal Briefs series than you’re going to love this book. It was freaking great!

Grade: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Appealed by Emma Chase

Posted February 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Appealed by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Appealed by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #3
Also in this series: Sidebarred

Publication Date: January 19th 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of the Tangled books returns with the third standalone romance in the Legal Briefs series, a collection of sexy novels about first crushes, second chances, and the final verdict of the heart.

When Brent Mason looks at Kennedy Randolph, he doesn’t see the awkward, sweet girl who grew up next door. He sees a self-assured, stunning woman…who wants to crush the most intimate—and prized—parts of his anatomy beneath the heels of her Louboutins.

When Kennedy looks at Brent, all she sees is the selfish, Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue–worthy teenager who humiliated her in high school in order to join the popular crowd. A crowd that made those years a living hell for her.

But she’s not a lovesick social outcast anymore—she’s a Washington, DC, prosecutor with a long winning streak. Brent is the opposing attorney in her next case, and Kennedy thinks it’s time to put him through a little hell of his own.

But things aren’t exactly working out the way she planned. Brent has his sights set on Kennedy, and every fiery exchange only makes him want her more—and makes her wonder if he’s as passionate in the bedroom as he is in the courtroom. In the end, they may just find themselves in love…or in contempt of court.

Emma Chase delivered another cute romance with a main couple that rocked my socks. I was coming off the high that was Sustained and didn’t think another book could hold a candle to the awesome-ness that was that book but then we got Brent’s book and he just knocked me on my ass in the most delicious of ways.

Brent Mason is the last lone wolf in the circle of friends that we’ve come to know over the course of this series. He’s feeling the effects of being on his own now that his friends are all paired up and living the domestic life. He doesn’t necessarily want what his friends have but he’s bored…until he comes across a blast from the past.

Her name is Kennedy Randolph. Kennedy used to be his next door neighbor and he grew up with her. He was close friends with her. He was also a little bit in love with her until she broke his teenaged heart after rocking his mother freaking world. He knows that he wasn’t the best friend to Kennedy growing up but he wasn’t prepared for how much hatred she spewed every time they were in the courtroom together. He didn’t understand it but he had never been this excited to be across the courtroom from someone and he wasn’t going to let her slide right back out of his life. Not again.

Kennedy Randolph is back in her hometown, practicing law and winning cases. She’s come a long way from the young woman Brent used to know and she hasn’t forgotten what a shitty friend Brent was. All these years later and she’s just as angry at him now as she was back then and the humiliation she suffered all those years ago is fresh and the rage burns bright every time she sees him. She can’t wait to face off against him and tear his case to shreds. She’s stronger now. She’s more fierce and he’s going to rue the day he thought he could humiliate her and get away with it.

Watching these two battle wits and just flat out fight with each other throughout the book was on one hand funny but on the other hand, there were times I wanted to pull Kennedy’s hair because she acted like a spoiled brat…IN COURT. I got where she was coming from but I felt like there was a time and a place for her to spew her hatred for Brent and in court was not one of them. She gets better over the course of the book but we had a rough beginning, Kennedy and I.

As much as Kennedy got on my nerves in the beginning, it was Brent that I came to the party for. It was Brent that had me from hello. It was Brent that I couldn’t get enough of. He made this entire book. I loved seeing him realize and then try to make right on being such a shitty friend when they were kids. I loved seeing him fall in love with Kennedy and I loved how sure he was that they were going to be together. Even when I didn’t see it, he did and because he did, I wanted that for him. He knew that he had his work cut out for him and seeing him go to the lengths he did to make things right, to give her better memories made me all swoony.

I completely adored Brent Mason and with each passing book, I am more impressed with Emma Chase’s skill at writing from the male POV. Her male POV is so spot on. Often times, I read from a males POV and get the feeling that the author is writing what a woman thinks a man would think and say but I don’t get that with Chase’s books. Her male POV comes across as genuinely male and I really dig it.

This book had humor, a steamy romance and a hero that will knock your socks off. He will rock your world and leave you panting for more. I adored this story and am pretty anxious for more from this author. Kudos on a job well done, Emma Chase.

Grade: 4.75 out of 5

Reading Order:

Overruled
Sustained
Appealed

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Sustained by Emma Chase

Posted December 16, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Sustained by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Sustained by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #2
Also in this series: Appealed, Sidebarred

Publication Date: August 25th 2015
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Emma Chase, New York Times bestselling author of the Tangled series, returns with a brand new funny, romantic, sexy story!

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I’m going to Mommy and Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal’s office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that—that, I know how to do.

OMG, this book.

This freaking book hit every one of my LOVE buttons. From the jaded hero to the overwhelmed heroine and the six orphans, I loved it all. Hell, even when Jake was being a butt head and Chelsea pushed everyone away, I loved it all. So freaking much.

So this is the second book in the Legal Briefs series by Emma Chase and it features Jake Becker, one of the four lawyer friends who is the womanizing bachelor. He’s all about the no feelings, wham bam thank you ma’am, one night stands. He has no desire to settle down and commit to one woman but then he gets a scare that has him stopping to re-think his one night stand stance. It makes more sense to get to know a woman before banging her so he’s going to take a page out of his friend’s books and woo a woman before bedding her. He can do this and if it’ll keep him from having an STD scare, he’s all for it. He’s not about repeating this latest scare.

When Jake meets Rory McQuaid, his life is forever changed and throughout a huge chunk of the book, it’s hard to know whether Jake thinks it’s a good change or a bad one but boy was it fun watching him fumble his way through the entire book.

I really enjoyed seeing Jake become closer and closer to each of the McQuaid kids. It started out as a way to get close to their gorgeous Aunt, Chelsea but you see his relationship with each kid solidify as the story progresses. These kids became important to him and I adored watching him fall for each and every single one of those kids. I loved seeing him go from HELL NO to NOT AGAIN to I’LL DO ANYTHING FOR THESE KIDS. The entire story just worked for me.

Jake was a straight up kind of guy who didn’t take shit from people. When we first met him in the last book, he was quiet and more reserved than the other guys in their little group. He opens up a lot in this book and I really liked his transformation. I loved him. I loved the way that he was with his friends, the way that he was with Chelsea (holy cow, they were hot together) and I adored the way that he was with the kids. When he sang One Direction to one of the little girls? I about melted into a puddle of lust. I loved his competitive nature at Mommy and Me, I loved the way that he had each of those kids back whenever someone was trying to bully them and I loved the way that he loved Chelsea.

Chelsea was a fantastic heroine. She was strong, independent and so freaking caring, it almost hurt to see her suffer alone. I loved when Jake became Chelsea’s champion. Helping her keep everything together, helping her grieve for her brother and sister in law and just being there for her. I loved it all. Chelsea had a wealth of love for these kids and to see her kicking ass day in and day out, putting the kids first through everything made me admire the hell out of her. She was good to those kids and she was good with Jake.

The romance was steamy, the characters came alive and one minute I was laughing my ass off then the next minute, I’m teary eyed and wanting to hold each of the kids close. I thought Emma Chase did a wonderful job of telling Jake and Chelsea’s story. It’s funny because I loved this book almost as much as I hated the first book. This was a great contemporary romance about two strangers falling in love amidst a giant crowd of kids. That last scene with Jake rallying the troops at Stanton and Sofia’s wedding? It about burst my heart with joy, I loved it so much. This book was damn good and I’ve already re-read three times. 🙂

Grade: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Overruled by Emma Chase

Posted December 14, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 3 Comments

Review: Overruled by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Overruled by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #1
Also in this series: Appealed, Sidebarred

Publication Date: April 28th 2015
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 288
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
two-stars

As a DC defense attorney, Stanton Shaw keeps his head cool, his questions sharp, and his arguments irrefutable. They don’t call him the Jury Charmer for nothing – with his southern drawl, disarming smile and captivating green eyes – he’s a hard man to say no to. Men want to be him and women want to be thoroughly cross examined by him.

Stanton’s a man with a plan. And for a while, life was going according to that plan.

Until the day he receives an invitation to the wedding of his high school sweetheart and mother of his beloved ten-year old daughter. Jenny is getting married — to someone who isn’t him.

That's definitely not part of the plan.
***

Sofia Santos is a city raised, no-nonsense litigator who plans to become the most revered criminal defense attorney in the country. She doesn’t have time for relationships or distractions.

But when Stanton, her "friend with mind-blowing benefits" begs for help, she finds herself out of her element, out of her depth, and obviously out of her mind. Because she agrees to go with him – to The-Middle-Of-Nowhere, Mississippi – to do all she can to help Stanton win back the woman he loves.

Her head tells her she's crazy...and her heart says something else entirely.

*WARNING: MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
This book, man.

I was looking forward to reading this because I wanted to read about lawyers falling in love but what I was expecting and what I got, were two different things. Ames warned me that this wasn’t a clean cut romance but I’m pretty easy to please so I didn’t think that it would be a big deal.

But then I started the book and….it was.

So the book starts with the hero, Stanton finding out that he got his girlfriend and love of his lifetime Jenny pregnant. The two of them are so young with bright plans ahead of them but with Jenny pregnant, she obviously can’t go to college but Stanton got into a good school and he was supposed to get a college degree and then make butt loads of money to take care of him and Jenny. How can he go through with that now? He wants to take a year off, be around when Jenny has the baby and figure things out from there but Jenny won’t let him do it. She won’t let Stanton walk away from their plan. So the new plan is for Jenny to stay behind, raise the baby with her parents and Stanton still goes away to college to get that degree to get a good job and take care of Jenny and the baby.

A reluctant Stanton agrees and goes away to college. Everything is going great until the time and distance start to become a thing. Then the plan changes to Stanton and Jenny being in an open relationship because St. Jenny doesn’t want to hold Stanton back from anything. She wants him to experience college and all it has to offer…until he bangs some other chick and Jenny realizes it hurts to have your boyfriend want someone else but before Stanton goes back to college, Jenny brings up the open relationship thing and it becomes a real thing between them.

While they’re apart, they can bang and hang with whoever they wanted but when Stanton was back in town, they were together and everyone was off limits. I didn’t understand that whole thing but when the book starts up again, it’s ten years later and Stanton is no longer in college anymore but he never went home either. He is a hot shot defense attorney in DC, making big bucks and sending money home to Jenny and their daughter Presley. He’s also banging one of his co-workers and their relationship is completely casual and he’s pretty content with his life.

Who wouldn’t be though? He’s got the freaking life. He’s got a great job, money in the bank, a loving girlfriend and daughter back home and he gets to live the bachelor life hundreds of miles away, banging anyone he wants. Everything is going great until he finds out that Jenny is getting married because guess what guys? Jenny isn’t the heroine of this book. His bang buddy from work, Sofia is.

Technically, Stanton never cheated but that didn’t stop me from thinking that he was a bit of a douche bag. I say that because when he finds out that Jenny is getting married, his first instinct is go back home and try to win her back. That would be fine and dandy if he didn’t drag his bang buddy from work with him. Why did he do that? Because he can’t win Jenny back without Sofia. Sofia will keep him focused and will help him do whatever it takes to win Jenny back.

[insert eye roll emoji here]

Of course Sofia goes with him and OF COURSE Sofia’s in love with Stanton but Stanton is so focused on what HE wants that he doesn’t see it. Sofia is so in love with Stanton that she can’t refuse him in his time of need and the angst from that alone could have made me melt but the way that Stanton went about it turned my stomach.

You see, when Stanton and Sofia get to Mississippi, Stanton immediately starts up trying to sabotage Jenny’s relationship and wedding. Each day, Stanton throws wrenches in Jenny’s plans and each night his plans fail, he returns home to…Sofia and they bang his failures away only for Stanton to wake up the next morning and try, try again with Jenny.

So for a huge chunk of the book, Stanton wants Jenny all the while he’s still banging Sofia and that’s gross. That shit got real old, real fast and the more they did it, the more pissed off I got at the both of them. Throughout the entire book, Stanton put Jenny first. It would have been understandable had he put Presley first, but no. It was Jenny first and foremost in his mind and that really pissed me off because even when he realizes that he loves Sofia and not Jenny, he didn’t put Sofia first. He stayed in Mississippi and attended Jenny’s wedding and then two days later, he went after Sofia.

Don’t even get me started on Sofia. I wanted to strangle her every time she caved to Stanton’s seductions. I wanted to strangle her even more when she didn’t make Stanton grovel a bit more at the end and him being pissed off at her for letting him get away with all of the shit she let him get away with did not make up for all of the shitty things he did to her.

I could see the potential in Stanton and knew that deep down, he wasn’t a bad guy but holy cow did that good guy do a whole bunch of shitty things that made me want to nut punch him. Sofia was great too but I wanted to smack some damn sense into her for far too long and then the wrap up at the end did little to appease the rage that consumed me throughout the book.

When I finally finished the book, I was glad to be done with it because I could finally move on to the book that I wanted to read all along. Sustained. It was the premise for that book that brought this book to my attention and I really loved the other characters in this book. From Presley to Stanton’s family to Jake and Brent, I loved them all and looked forward to getting to know Jake and Brent better in their books so while this book didn’t work for me, the promise of the other books did.

Grade: 1.5 out of 5

two-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,