Author: Emma Chase

Review: Getting Schooled by Emma Chase

Posted January 11, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Getting Schooled by Emma ChaseReviewer: Holly
Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1) by Emma Chase
Narrator: Zachary Webber, Andi Arndt
Series: Getting Some #1
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Romance Package
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 310
Length: 7 hours and 13 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The newest novel from New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase.

Head of the class...

Garrett Daniels has this whole life thing figured out.

The cocky, charismatic former high school star quarterback is an idolized football coach and "cool" teacher in the hometown where he's not just a golden boy — he's platinum. He has good friends, a great house on the lake, and the best damn sidekick a man could ask for: Snoopy, the albino beagle.

Then...Callie Carpenter comes home.

And knocks him right on his tight end zone.

Back to school...

Callie has a pretty sweet life herself...on the other side of the country. But circumstances — that she'd prefer to never speak of again — have brought her back home, helping out her parents and substitute teaching at her old high school.

Now she's facing bickering, raging hormones, constant gossip, awkward weirdness, and drama galore...and that's just the teachers.

Just like old times...

When Garrett offers to show his former high school sweetheart the secrets of his winning teacher ways, Callie jumps at the chance - and then has to stop herself from jumping him.

Good friends are all they can ever be.

Or...these teachers just might end up getting schooled — by love.

Getting Schooled by Emma Chase is the start of a new series featuring high school sweethearts reuniting. I listened to the audio and really loved Zachary Webber and Andi Arndt as narrators. They both did a great job of pulling me into the story and bringing the characters to life.

Garrett Daniels and Callie Carpenter were high school sweethearts. When she went off to college their relationship couldn’t handle the long distance. Garrett stayed in town and became a high school teacher while Callie went on to work as a stage-hand in California. She’s just been offered her dream job when she’s called home to help her sister care for their parents who were in a car accident. She takes a temporary teaching job to support herself while she helps them recover, which means Garrett is her new co-worker. Despite how things ended, she’s nothing but glad to see him and Garrett seems to return the feeling. As they spend time together both at work and outside of it, they come to realize they still have deep feelings for each other. But Garrett is happy in their small NJ town, while Callie has her dream job waiting in CA.

I really liked the maturity of both main characters, and how quickly they settled back into each other once they were reunited. There was some bathroom humor, and the overall tone of the story was light, but I really enjoyed the romance, and the small New Jersey town. All the characters really came to life. I especially loved the way Garrett interacted with his students, and how he helped Callie navigate her first few weeks as a teacher. I totally cracked up at the way the kids took advantage of her during her first few days. Her shell-shocked, glazed-eyed look after the first day gets me every time I think about it.

Both Callie and Garrett were very mature in their dealings with each other. This was an adult romance, with two people trying to figure out how to have a future while living on opposite ends of the country. In that regard, I really liked the final resolution. I saw others weren’t as satisfied with it, but I thought it was perfect for the people Garrett and Callie had become.

It isn’t perfect. The book started out a bit slow for me and both Callie and Garrett had moments that made me want to facepalm. But those moments were few and far between.

Though the overall tone is light, there were some emotional punches. I even got teary at one point. This was a great contemporary romance and just thing thing I was in the mood for.

4 out of 5

Getting Some

Untitled (Dean’s Book)

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Review: Getting Schooled by Emma Chase

Posted September 25, 2018 by Rowena in Reviews | 6 Comments

Review: Getting Schooled by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1) by Emma Chase
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Getting Some #1
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1)
Publisher: Self-Published, Emma Chase
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 310
Length: 7 hours and 15 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The newest novel from New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase.

Head of the class...

Garrett Daniels has this whole life thing figured out.

The cocky, charismatic former high school star quarterback is an idolized football coach and "cool" teacher in the hometown where he's not just a golden boy — he's platinum. He has good friends, a great house on the lake, and the best damn sidekick a man could ask for: Snoopy, the albino beagle.

Then...Callie Carpenter comes home.

And knocks him right on his tight end zone.

Back to school...

Callie has a pretty sweet life herself...on the other side of the country. But circumstances — that she'd prefer to never speak of again — have brought her back home, helping out her parents and substitute teaching at her old high school.

Now she's facing bickering, raging hormones, constant gossip, awkward weirdness, and drama galore...and that's just the teachers.

Just like old times...

When Garrett offers to show his former high school sweetheart the secrets of his winning teacher ways, Callie jumps at the chance - and then has to stop herself from jumping him.

Good friends are all they can ever be.

Or...these teachers just might end up getting schooled — by love.

Getting Schooled is the first book in Emma Chase’s Getting Some series and it was good. It features a second chance romance that wasn’t bogged down with a whole lot of drama and I had a good time listening to it. I listened to the audiobook and enjoyed both Zachary Webber and Andi Arndt’s narration so really, I have no complaints on that end. They were easy to listen to but I haven’t listened to very many audiobooks so I don’t know if they’re my favorites yet. Richard Armitage holds that trophy for the moment. 😉

Anyway, on to the story…Callie Carpenter and Garrett Daniels are high school sweethearts who grew apart after they graduated and went their separate ways. Callie went to the West Coast and Garrett stayed on the East. They loved each other but love wasn’t enough to keep them together because it’s hard to keep a relationship going when they’re so far apart. Callie built a life for herself in San Diego while Garrett went on to be a teacher at their old high school in their hometown in Lakeland, New Jersey. They remember each other with fondness but they haven’t seen each other in years.

When Callie’s parents are injured in a car accident, Callie’s sister calls on her to come back home and help her care for them. She’s got her own life with her own family and she can’t take care of her parents on her own so Callie takes a leave of absence from her job (where she was just promoted) and heads home. Callie has bills to pay so she decides to apply for the theater teacher’s job at the high school while she’s home and she gets it. Getting that job brings Garrett back into her life and that makes her happy.

Garrett is just as happy to see Callie as she is to see him. They were important to each other and that hasn’t changed with distance and time. They jump right back into catching up with each other and are you surprised that they almost immediately start hooking up again? I wasn’t.

The conflict comes in when they realize that they still love each other and want to be together but how can you stay with someone who lives across the country? Who will uproot their life and move to be with the other person? They’ve both built lives for themselves where they are so it’s not an easy decision to make.

For me, this book was one of those straight up romances where we have two adults who love each other and are trying to figure out how to be together. I really like these kinds of romances because they’re normal and I can see these romances actually happen because I have seen them happen in real life. These are two characters dealing with real life problems and trying to figure out how to make things work. Garrett was a great hero and I really liked the kind of coach and teacher her was. He had high standards and didn’t let his students get away with not being the best people they can be. He didn’t tolerate meanness, he didn’t tolerate attitude and if he said something, he stuck to it. He gave his word and he kept it and I just loved seeing him with Callie, with his family and even his students at school. He was a stand up guy and could have been read as boring but no worries, Emma Chase works her magic and makes Garrett shine.

I also really liked getting to know Callie. She was smart, she was caring and she was really genuine. She was the kind of woman you wanted as a friend and she was a good partner for Garrett. I loved seeing her build a life for herself back at her hometown without even knowing it. I loved that she came into those kids lives and she took her time with them seriously. She wanted to help those kids grow and made a place for herself in town again and what she tells Garrett in the end, about coming home? I loved it.

Overall, this book was a little slow in the beginning but when it picks up, it really takes off and I enjoyed reading everything. Emma Chase does a great job of making the reader connect with not just the main characters but with the secondary characters as well so I’m very much looking forward to Dean’s book when it comes out.

Grade: 4 out of 5

Getting Some

Untitled (Dean’s Book)

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Sustained by Emma Chase

Posted September 24, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Sustained by Emma ChaseReviewer: Holly
Sustained (The Legal Briefs, #2) by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #2
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: August 25th 2015
Format: eBook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 267
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I'm going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal's office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

This book was recommended to me by several people ages ago, but it was Rowena who finally forced me to read it. I’m so sorry I waited. This was such a fabulous story. The story is told strictly from the hero’s point of view and it worked so well for me.

Jake is a successful defense attorney who spends his days in court and his nights banging whatever random chick he can send packing in the morning…until an STD scare forces him to take a break from his nightly activities. In the meantime he snags a boy who tries to steal his wallet. Jake takes him home only to fall into immediate lust with his sexy aunt. The problem? She’s just become guardian to six kids..and Jake is allergic to commitment. Except he can’t stop from thinking about her.. or the kids. Before he knows it he’s taking kids to dance and going to Justin Bieber concerts and changing diapers….and falling in love with not just Chelsea, but all 6 kids, too.

You guys. This was such a stellar romance. I loved it. I loved Jake, the kids, Chelsea…all of it. I couldn’t get enough of Jake and his interactions with the kids. Teenage girls, babies, and everyone in between. He was so great with them all. He also showed incredible insight when it came to Chelsea and how quick she was to drop everything to take care of her family. My favorite parts were the ones where Jake acknowledged her sacrifice and stepped up to help her.

There were times he frustrated me with his pigheadedness, but I couldn’t stay mad at him when it was clear he was falling hard and fast. This was such a fabulous read. I highly recommend it.

4.5 out of 5

The Legal Briefs

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Summer Challenge Review: Sustained by Emma Chase

Posted August 8, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 3 Comments

Summer Challenge Review: Sustained by Emma ChaseReviewer: Casee
Sustained (The Legal Briefs, #2) by Emma Chase
Series: The Legal Briefs #2
Also in this series: Overruled (The Legal Briefs, #1), Sustained (The Legal Briefs, #2), Appealed (The Legal Briefs, #3), Sidebarred (The Legal Briefs, #3.5)
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: August 25, 2015
Point-of-View: First
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 267
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I'm going to Mommy & Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal's office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that — that, I know how to do.

This was an interesting book. Not only was it written in first person (which I don’t particularly enjoy reading), it was written solely from the hero’s point-of-view. One of the reasons that I don’t enjoy first person is because I like rotating points-of-view. It just makes it more interesting when I can get into multiple characters’ heads. There are very few authors that can hold my interest from one point of view. I’m relieved happy to say that Emma Chase is one of them.

Jake Becker seems like a world class a-hole when the book first starts. A world class man whore a-hole. The guy has no illusions about himself. He knows what he wants out of life and what he wants from women. From life, he wants everything. From women, he wants nothing but sex. He’s seen one of his colleagues fall into domestic bliss and is certain that life is not the way for him. That is until Rory McQuaid picks his pocket. Then his whole life is turned upside down. He finds himself in the middle of a family of seven, suddenly a father figure for six orphans. Lusting after the kids’ guardian makes Jake feel like the lowest of the low, but he is attracted to Chelsea McQuaid like he’s never been attracted to anyone before. He’s actually interested in what comes out of her mouth, not what her mouth can do to him. Which is all together new for him.

As Jake gets in deeper and deeper, his commitment to his work lessens. Suddenly he is his domesticated colleague, which freaks him the hell out. He tries to run like hell in the opposite direction. Problem…not only can he not stay away from Chelsea, he can’t stay away from the kids. He’s found himself attached to the six rugrats. They’ve wound themselves throughout his life and around his heart. It’s only when he starts to consider the serious damage he could do to their lives that he really reconsiders being in them at all.

I found this book thoroughly enjoyable. Watching Jake fall for this broken family was really heartwarming. That he was so opposite of a family man made it all the better. Late in the book, the kids were taken away from Chelsea. I was wrecked reading about it. I almost, almost ugly cried. Then after, when Riley confronts Jake about leaving them? Wowza. Intense stuff. Emma Chase did such a fabulous job of getting all the characters feelings to the reader even though the book was only from Jake’s POV. I commend her for that. I also commend her for keeping this reader engrossed in the book and wanting more.

Oh, one more thing? This book was fucking steaming hot. Yup.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Legal Briefs

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Weekly Wrap Up: January 29 – February 4, 2018

Posted February 4, 2018 by Rowena in Features, Promotions | 1 Comment

What We Reviewed

Tracy’s review of A Devil in Scotland (No Ordinary Hero #3) by Suzanne Enoch | 4 out of 5
Holly’s review of Whiskey Sharp: Unraveled (Whiskey Sharp #1) by Lauren Dane | 3.5 out of 5
Tracy’s review of Baby I’m Howling for You (Alphaville #1) by Christine Warren | 3 out of 5
Tracy’s review of A Scandal by Any Other Name (A Tale of Two Sisters #2) by Kimberly Bell | 1 out of 5
Casee’s retro-review of Memories of Us (Hearts of the South #5) by Linda Winfree | 4.5 out of 5
Tracy’s review of #starstruck by Sariah Wilson | 4 out of 5

What We Posted

Books to Binge On: February 2018
Monthly Reads: January 2018
What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)
WTF Cover Saturday (246)
Sunday Spotlight: The Wedding Date by Jasmine Guillory

Book News

Emma Chase dropped a cover reveal for a book that I didn’t even know she was writing but…I’m hella excited for it because it looks like just my kind of book. Check it out.

Weekly Wrap Up: January 29 – February 4, 2018Getting Schooled by Emma Chase
Publisher: Self-Published, Emma Chase
Publication Date: June 26th 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

The newest novel from New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase.

Head of the class...

Garrett Daniels has this whole life thing figured out.

The cocky, charismatic former high school star quarterback is an idolized football coach and "cool" teacher in the hometown where he's not just a golden boy — he's platinum. He has good friends, a great house on the lake, and the best damn sidekick a man could ask for: Snoopy, the albino beagle.

Then...Callie Carpenter comes home.

And knocks him right on his tight end zone.

Back to school...

Callie has a pretty sweet life herself...on the other side of the country. But circumstances — that she'd prefer to never speak of again — have brought her back home, helping out her parents and substitute teaching at her old high school.

Now she's facing bickering, raging hormones, constant gossip, awkward weirdness, and drama galore...and that's just the teachers.

Just like old times...

When Garrett offers to show his former high school sweetheart the secrets of his winning teacher ways, Callie jumps at the chance - and then has to stop herself from jumping him.

Good friends are all they can ever be.

Or...these teachers just might end up getting schooled — by love.

Yeah, this sounds like my cup of tea so I’m going to be all over this one, once it comes out. Seeing this in her newsletter this week was like waking up on Christmas morning and getting the one thing that your parents told you, you weren’t getting. What a delightful treat and I’m really digging that cover. What a hottie!

Weekly Wrap Up: January 29 – February 4, 2018The Governess Game (Girl Meets Duke, #2) by Tessa Dare
Series: Girl Meets Duke #2
Also in this series: The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke #1), The Duchess Deal, The Governess Game (Girl Meets Duke, #2)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: August 28th 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

He’s been a bad, bad rake—and it takes a governess to teach him a lesson

The accidental governess.

After her livelihood slips through her fingers, Alexandra Mountbatten takes on an impossible post: transforming a pair of wild orphans into proper young ladies. However, the girls don’t need discipline. They need a loving home. Try telling that to their guardian, Chase Reynaud: duke’s heir in the streets and devil in the sheets. The ladies of London have tried—and failed—to make him settle down. Somehow, Alexandra must reach his heart... without risking her own.

The infamous rake.

Like any self-respecting libertine, Chase lives by one rule: no attachments. When a stubborn little governess tries to reform him, he decides to give her an education—in pleasure. That should prove he can’t be tamed. But Alexandra is more than he bargained for: clever, perceptive, passionate. She refuses to see him as a lost cause. Soon the walls around Chase’s heart are crumbling... and he’s in danger of falling, hard.

Ooh, another Tessa Dare release. I adored the first book in this series so I’m really looking forward to digging into this one. The cover is super cute even if the guy on the cover looks more appropriate for a contemporary romance with that hair cut…still, the way that they’re looking at each other? Hot!

Current Giveaways

Monthly Reads: January 2018

What Are You Reading? (+ Historical Giveaway)

Sunday Spotlight: February 2018

Giveaway Winners

We have some winners to announce this week! Congratulations to the following…

What Are You Reading? (+ Contemporary Giveaway)

CelineB

Sunday Spotlight: January 2018

Kareni

Monthly Reads: December 2017

Carissa
Katey
Mara

Winners: An email will be sent to you shortly. Please let us know where you would like us to send your prize. You have two weeks to get back to us before we choose another winner. Check back on Sundays to see if you’re a winner in one of our giveaways.

That does it for this week’s weekly wrap up. How was your week in books? Hear any book news that you’d like to share? Get any new books you want to share? Review any books we should check out? Please share.


Tagged: , ,