Author: Emma Chase

Review: Royally Endowed by Emma Chase

Posted September 19, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 5 Comments

Review: Royally Endowed by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Royally Endowed (Royally, #3) by Emma Chase
Series: Royally Series #3
Also in this series: Royally Matched (Royally, #2)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: August 14th 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads

Logan St. James is a smoldering, sexy beast. Sure, he can be a little broody at times—but Ellie Hammond’s willing to overlook that. Because, have you seen him??

Sexy. As. Hell.

And Ellie’s perky enough for both of them.

For years, she’s had a crush on the intense, gorgeous royal security guard—but she doesn’t think he ever saw her, not really.

To Logan, Ellie was just part of the job—a relative of the royal family he’d sworn to protect. Now, at 22 years old and fresh out of college, she’s determined to put aside her X-rated dreams of pat-downs and pillow talk, and find a real life happily ever after.

The Queen of Wessco encourages Ellie to follow in her sister’s footsteps and settle down with a prince of her own. Or a duke, a marquis…a viscount would also do nicely.

But in the pursuit of a fairy tale ending, Ellie learns that the sweetest crushes can be the hardest to let go. ***Logan St. James grew up on the wrong side of the tracks, in a family on the wrong side of the law. But these days, he covers his tattoos and scars with a respectable suit. He’s handsome, loyal, brave, skilled with his hands and…other body parts.

Any woman would be proud to call him hers.

But there’s only one woman he wants.

For years he’s watched over her, protected her, held her hair back when she was sick, taught her how to throw a punch, and spot a liar.

He dreams of her. Would lay down his life for her.

But beautiful Ellie Hammond’s off-limits.

Everybody knows the bodyguard rules: Never lose focus, never let them out of your sight, and never, ever fall in love.

Logan and Elle’s story, woot!

This was another fabulous contemporary romance in this series. Is it realistic? I have no idea but I don’t even care because I had a good time reading this one. Logan and Elle were such a fantastic couple and I really liked getting to know them. Elle has grown into a wonderfully confident young woman and I’m glad that Logan finally fessed up to how he really felt about Elle all of these years.

Logan has been a part of Nick’s security team for years and he’s worked his way up in the ranks. He’s one of Nick’s most trusted security guards and he’s been struggling with being professional and giving into his feelings for Nick’s sister in law. It was a lot easier when he couldn’t do anything about how she makes him feel because she was too young but now that she’s an adult and as aware of him as he is of her? Things just got real complicated.

Their romance wasn’t easy. There were things to figure out, futures to decide and they couldn’t be together without huge changes in both of their lives. The Queen had plans for Elle and Logan couldn’t be with Elle without leaving his current job and so the complications just kept right on adding up. None of those complications lessened how they felt about each other and I enjoyed seeing them try to figure things out.

Emma Chase has written a fun, witty and sexy series featuring some royals that really rocked my world. This book was just another fabulous romance that I didn’t want to end and seeing everyone from the previous books come together in this book to help Logan and Elle figure their shit out was great. I really enjoyed seeing everyone again and I’m hoping that this isn’t the last that we’ll see of these folks. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: Royally Matched by Emma Chase

Posted September 18, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: Royally Matched by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Royally Matched (Royally, #2) by Emma Chase
Series: Royally Series #2
Also in this series: Royally Endowed (Royally, #3)
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: February 21st 2017
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 276
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

Some men are born responsible, some men have responsibility thrust upon them. Henry John Edgar Thomas Pembrook, Prince of Wessco, just got the motherlode of all responsibility dumped in his regal lap.

He’s not handling it well.

Hoping to help her grandson to rise to the occasion, Queen Lenora agrees to give him "space"—but while the Queen’s away, the Prince will play. After a chance meeting with an American television producer, Henry finally makes a decision all on his own:

Welcome to Matched: Royal Edition.

A reality TV dating game show featuring twenty of the world's most beautiful blue bloods gathered in the same castle. Only one will win the diamond tiara, only one will capture the handsome prince’s heart.

While Henry revels in the sexy, raunchy antics of the contestants as they fight, literally, for his affection, it’s the quiet, bespectacled girl in the corner—with the voice of an angel and a body that would tempt a saint—who catches his eye.

The more Henry gets to know Sarah Mirabelle Zinnia Von Titebottum, the more enamored he becomes of her simple beauty, her strength, her kind spirit... and her naughty sense of humor.

But Rome wasn’t built in a day—and irresponsible royals aren’t reformed overnight.

As he endeavors to right his wrongs, old words take on whole new meanings for the dashing Prince. Words like, Duty, Honor and most of all—Love.

Matched is the second book in the Royally series and it’s probably my favorite story of the bunch. I just really enjoyed the romance between Henry and Sarah. Their relationship blossomed so sweetly and I just ate everything up.

Henry Pembrook is still reeling from the fact that his older brother abdicated the crown and he is now the heir to the throne of Wessco. He’s not handling things very well and there’s so much to learn and so much to do that he needs space to figure things out on his own. When he gets the Queen’s permission for some space, he kind of goes nuts. He plans a super hush-hush reality dating show to find himself a wife while hooking up with every eligible woman he can.

We met his heroine in the first book in this series and I was thrilled when I found out for sure that she was Henry’s girl. Why, you ask? Because she was adorable and bookish and nerdy and just…my kind of gal. She obviously has some stuff that she’s working through and I was mighty curious to find out what her deal was. Her name is Sarah and she’s one of Henry’s friend’s sisters.

Sarah accompanies her sister to be a part of Henry’s show and she’s supposed to serve as her sister’s moral compass. She’s supposed to pull her sister back when she’s trying to get too crazy. Penelope (the sister) is there to try to win Henry’s heart and capture his attention and wouldn’t you know that Henry’s attention is captured by someone who isn’t even on the show.

I adored how the friendship that sparked up between Henry and Sarah became so much more than either of them were expecting. I loved seeing how important they became to each other and I just adored their alone moments together. You really do see them grow individually and then together as the book progresses and I thought Emma Chase did a wonderful job of pulling the reader into their love story.

This was a fun contemporary romance with characters that really pulled at my heart strings. I adored the support system that both Henry and Sarah had in their family and friends. It was good to see my friends Nick and Olivia and Elle and Logan. They were a fun addition to an already fun book. I definitely recommend this book.

Grade: 4.5 out of 5

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Sidebarred by Emma Chase

Posted May 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Sidebarred by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Sidebarred by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #3.5
Also in this series: Appealed
Published by Self-Published
Publication Date: April 24, 2016
Pages: 101
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

There was a time when Jake Becker had it all together. He was controlled, driven, ruthless—in and out of the courtroom.

Then, six irresistible orphans and their heartbreakingly beautiful aunt crashed into his perfectly ordered life. They changed everything. They changed him. Now he’s a husband, an upstanding member of society, a father figure—a family man. And he’s pretty damn good at it.

Sure, he has to referee sibling smackdowns, re-learn algebra, ensure his clients stay of jail, and keep his wife happy—but it finally feels like he’s got it together again....

So, of course something has to screw it all up. It’s huge. Life-changing. Kind of terrifying.

And it will be the most amazing, perfect thing he’ll ever do.

Oh happy day!

When I heard that we were getting more Jake, Chelsea and the kids, I was over the moon. I couldn’t contain how happy I was because I absolutely loved their book. I loved their romance, their kids, the chaos that was their life and I loved their friends as well. Well, Jake’s friends…Chelsea’s friends from school? Ehh. As much as I loved Brent in his book, for me, it’s always been about Jake Becker. I love him most. His personality, the wealth of love he had for that single mom and all of those crazy kids she came with. I was so on board for a little extra tid bit from their life in this new novella.

Jake and Chelsea are back at it again with all their kids and the madness that is their life. They’re still making things work at home, at work and at all of the kids different after school activities. Seeing them figure things out together as a family was so nice. I just loved seeing everyone back together again. Emma Chase writes such great contemporary romances with witty banter, great male POV and steamy, sexy scenes. This book was filled with all of that and it was such a short story.

I loved this book! I loved it so much. It was damn near perfect. I loved getting to see the gang all together again and that ending? So.much.love. I got teary eyed when we were in the hospital and Rory shares the special news with Jake. And Jake’s reaction to Rory’s news? OMG, swoon. If you enjoyed the Legal Briefs series than you’re going to love this book. It was freaking great!

Grade: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Appealed by Emma Chase

Posted February 17, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Appealed by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Appealed by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #3
Also in this series: Sidebarred

Publication Date: January 19th 2016
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-half-stars

The New York Times bestselling author of the Tangled books returns with the third standalone romance in the Legal Briefs series, a collection of sexy novels about first crushes, second chances, and the final verdict of the heart.

When Brent Mason looks at Kennedy Randolph, he doesn’t see the awkward, sweet girl who grew up next door. He sees a self-assured, stunning woman…who wants to crush the most intimate—and prized—parts of his anatomy beneath the heels of her Louboutins.

When Kennedy looks at Brent, all she sees is the selfish, Abercrombie & Fitch catalogue–worthy teenager who humiliated her in high school in order to join the popular crowd. A crowd that made those years a living hell for her.

But she’s not a lovesick social outcast anymore—she’s a Washington, DC, prosecutor with a long winning streak. Brent is the opposing attorney in her next case, and Kennedy thinks it’s time to put him through a little hell of his own.

But things aren’t exactly working out the way she planned. Brent has his sights set on Kennedy, and every fiery exchange only makes him want her more—and makes her wonder if he’s as passionate in the bedroom as he is in the courtroom. In the end, they may just find themselves in love…or in contempt of court.

Emma Chase delivered another cute romance with a main couple that rocked my socks. I was coming off the high that was Sustained and didn’t think another book could hold a candle to the awesome-ness that was that book but then we got Brent’s book and he just knocked me on my ass in the most delicious of ways.

Brent Mason is the last lone wolf in the circle of friends that we’ve come to know over the course of this series. He’s feeling the effects of being on his own now that his friends are all paired up and living the domestic life. He doesn’t necessarily want what his friends have but he’s bored…until he comes across a blast from the past.

Her name is Kennedy Randolph. Kennedy used to be his next door neighbor and he grew up with her. He was close friends with her. He was also a little bit in love with her until she broke his teenaged heart after rocking his mother freaking world. He knows that he wasn’t the best friend to Kennedy growing up but he wasn’t prepared for how much hatred she spewed every time they were in the courtroom together. He didn’t understand it but he had never been this excited to be across the courtroom from someone and he wasn’t going to let her slide right back out of his life. Not again.

Kennedy Randolph is back in her hometown, practicing law and winning cases. She’s come a long way from the young woman Brent used to know and she hasn’t forgotten what a shitty friend Brent was. All these years later and she’s just as angry at him now as she was back then and the humiliation she suffered all those years ago is fresh and the rage burns bright every time she sees him. She can’t wait to face off against him and tear his case to shreds. She’s stronger now. She’s more fierce and he’s going to rue the day he thought he could humiliate her and get away with it.

Watching these two battle wits and just flat out fight with each other throughout the book was on one hand funny but on the other hand, there were times I wanted to pull Kennedy’s hair because she acted like a spoiled brat…IN COURT. I got where she was coming from but I felt like there was a time and a place for her to spew her hatred for Brent and in court was not one of them. She gets better over the course of the book but we had a rough beginning, Kennedy and I.

As much as Kennedy got on my nerves in the beginning, it was Brent that I came to the party for. It was Brent that had me from hello. It was Brent that I couldn’t get enough of. He made this entire book. I loved seeing him realize and then try to make right on being such a shitty friend when they were kids. I loved seeing him fall in love with Kennedy and I loved how sure he was that they were going to be together. Even when I didn’t see it, he did and because he did, I wanted that for him. He knew that he had his work cut out for him and seeing him go to the lengths he did to make things right, to give her better memories made me all swoony.

I completely adored Brent Mason and with each passing book, I am more impressed with Emma Chase’s skill at writing from the male POV. Her male POV is so spot on. Often times, I read from a males POV and get the feeling that the author is writing what a woman thinks a man would think and say but I don’t get that with Chase’s books. Her male POV comes across as genuinely male and I really dig it.

This book had humor, a steamy romance and a hero that will knock your socks off. He will rock your world and leave you panting for more. I adored this story and am pretty anxious for more from this author. Kudos on a job well done, Emma Chase.

Grade: 4.75 out of 5

Reading Order:

Overruled
Sustained
Appealed

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Sustained by Emma Chase

Posted December 16, 2015 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Sustained by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Sustained by Emma Chase
Series: Legal Briefs #2
Also in this series: Appealed, Sidebarred

Publication Date: August 25th 2015
Pages: 304
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
five-stars

Emma Chase, New York Times bestselling author of the Tangled series, returns with a brand new funny, romantic, sexy story!

A knight in tarnished armor is still a knight.

When you’re a defense attorney in Washington, DC, you see firsthand how hard life can be, and that sometimes the only way to survive is to be harder. I, Jake Becker, have a reputation for being cold, callous, and intimidating—and that suits me just fine. In fact, it’s necessary when I’m breaking down a witness on the stand.

Complications don’t work for me—I’m a “need-to-know” type of man. If you’re my client, tell me the basic facts. If you’re my date, stick to what will turn you on. I’m not a therapist or Prince Charming—and I don’t pretend to be.

Then Chelsea McQuaid and her six orphaned nieces and nephews came along and complicated the ever-loving hell out of my life. Now I’m going to Mommy and Me classes, One Direction concerts, the emergency room, and arguing cases in the principal’s office.

Chelsea’s too sweet, too innocent, and too gorgeous for her own good. She tries to be tough, but she’s not. She needs someone to help her, defend her…and the kids.

And that—that, I know how to do.

OMG, this book.

This freaking book hit every one of my LOVE buttons. From the jaded hero to the overwhelmed heroine and the six orphans, I loved it all. Hell, even when Jake was being a butt head and Chelsea pushed everyone away, I loved it all. So freaking much.

So this is the second book in the Legal Briefs series by Emma Chase and it features Jake Becker, one of the four lawyer friends who is the womanizing bachelor. He’s all about the no feelings, wham bam thank you ma’am, one night stands. He has no desire to settle down and commit to one woman but then he gets a scare that has him stopping to re-think his one night stand stance. It makes more sense to get to know a woman before banging her so he’s going to take a page out of his friend’s books and woo a woman before bedding her. He can do this and if it’ll keep him from having an STD scare, he’s all for it. He’s not about repeating this latest scare.

When Jake meets Rory McQuaid, his life is forever changed and throughout a huge chunk of the book, it’s hard to know whether Jake thinks it’s a good change or a bad one but boy was it fun watching him fumble his way through the entire book.

I really enjoyed seeing Jake become closer and closer to each of the McQuaid kids. It started out as a way to get close to their gorgeous Aunt, Chelsea but you see his relationship with each kid solidify as the story progresses. These kids became important to him and I adored watching him fall for each and every single one of those kids. I loved seeing him go from HELL NO to NOT AGAIN to I’LL DO ANYTHING FOR THESE KIDS. The entire story just worked for me.

Jake was a straight up kind of guy who didn’t take shit from people. When we first met him in the last book, he was quiet and more reserved than the other guys in their little group. He opens up a lot in this book and I really liked his transformation. I loved him. I loved the way that he was with his friends, the way that he was with Chelsea (holy cow, they were hot together) and I adored the way that he was with the kids. When he sang One Direction to one of the little girls? I about melted into a puddle of lust. I loved his competitive nature at Mommy and Me, I loved the way that he had each of those kids back whenever someone was trying to bully them and I loved the way that he loved Chelsea.

Chelsea was a fantastic heroine. She was strong, independent and so freaking caring, it almost hurt to see her suffer alone. I loved when Jake became Chelsea’s champion. Helping her keep everything together, helping her grieve for her brother and sister in law and just being there for her. I loved it all. Chelsea had a wealth of love for these kids and to see her kicking ass day in and day out, putting the kids first through everything made me admire the hell out of her. She was good to those kids and she was good with Jake.

The romance was steamy, the characters came alive and one minute I was laughing my ass off then the next minute, I’m teary eyed and wanting to hold each of the kids close. I thought Emma Chase did a wonderful job of telling Jake and Chelsea’s story. It’s funny because I loved this book almost as much as I hated the first book. This was a great contemporary romance about two strangers falling in love amidst a giant crowd of kids. That last scene with Jake rallying the troops at Stanton and Sofia’s wedding? It about burst my heart with joy, I loved it so much. This book was damn good and I’ve already re-read three times. 🙂

Grade: 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,