Author: Emma Chase

Sunday Spotlight: Dirty Charmer by Emma Chase

Posted May 24, 2020 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

I love me some Emma Chase. She is pure goodness. I get all the feels when reading her books. I’m really looking forward to diving into this one.

Sunday Spotlight: Dirty Charmer by Emma ChaseDirty Charmer by Emma Chase
Series: Royally #5
Also in this series: Royally Matched (Royally, #2), Royally Endowed (Royally, #3), Royally Yours
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: May 19, 2020
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 264
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Abigail Haddock is stunning, sensible, and some would say . . . stuffy. But it’s not really her fault. She was raised in one of Wessco’s oldest, most affluent, aristocratic families—“stuffy” is their middle name. So is successful. Abby’s working overtime to distinguish herself as a top-notch physician, just as her family legacy demands.

She doesn’t have time for nonsense.

Tommy Sullivan’s all about nonsense.

Sure, he’s an elite bodyguard with lethal skills and co-owner of the renowned, S&S Securities Firm—protector of the wealthy and titled. But he’s also rowdy, fun and thoroughly irresistible.

Tommy knows how to have a good time, and he’s never seen someone more in need of a good time than Abby. The lass needs long, wet, filthy kisses—STAT—and he’s just the man for the job.

It doesn’t take long for a wildly sexy, sinfully satisfying, no-strings attached arrangement to turn into something more. Something sweet and addictive and real. But Tommy and Abby are too royally stubborn to admit it.

Opposites attract, everyone knows that. But can they last—can they love…for forever?

Excerpt

Abby

“I want to kiss you, Abby. More than I can remember wanting anything, in a long time. I want this. You. And I think, deep down you want it too.”

I can almost taste him. It. The kiss. I know how good it will be.

Perfect.

And a very bad decision. The kind that opens up all the boxes—Pandora’s and all those other Greek gods, whose names I can’t remember right now.

By most measures, parachuting out of a plane is also a very bad decision. But people do it all the time. Because they love the fall. The flight. The feeling of soaring air and whipping winds.

I’ve never been the jumping sort. But with him—a reaching, yearning, desperate part of me wants to give it try.

“Open your eyes, Abby.”

When I do, I’m met with warm honey-brown eyes—like they’re lit from within.

“Three . . . two . . . one . . .”

I’m going to say yes.

The word is there on my lips, the tingling, thrilling taste of it on the very tip of my tongue. Because I want this—the brush of his lips, the feel of his hot skin and firm muscle beneath my palm. The feel of him everywhere.

It’s been so long since I wanted anything just for me.

But before I can speak the words, his head turns away, snaps around in the direction of the front room. His shoulders are tense and the tendons of his neck are pulled taut.

“Are you expecting someone?” he asks very quietly.

Instinctively, the volume of my voice matches his.

“No.”

That’s when I hear it. The jostle of the front doorknob. The sharp whine of the hinge as it opens. And then . . . footsteps, slow but distinct.

Someone is here. Someone is inside my flat.

Oh my.

Oh my, oh my, oh my, oh my . . .

Without a sound, Tommy Sullivan pulls a gun from the inside of his suit jacket. It’s the first time I’ve ever seen a handgun up close—it’s black and weighted and looks right at home in his grip.

“You didn’t tell me you were armed!” I whisper-yell.

“Shhh.”

“Do you have a permit for that? Do you know the statistics on—”

His large hand covers my entire mouth.

“Shush.” He looks down at me with an expression I’ve never seen on his face before—hard, harsh and deadly serious. The kind of look that says he could kill a man with his bare hands, and walk away whistling a merry tune afterwards.

“Stay.”

And without a sound, he slips out the kitchen door.

But I don’t stay. Because I’m not a dog.

But mostly because . . . what if something happens? What if there’s more than one of them? What if they manage to get the upper hand?

What if he needs me?

I pull the drawer open, careful not to make any noise, and grab the thick, hefty wooden rolling pin that I’ve never actually used to roll anything. It’s just one of those things you get when you move into your own place.

I give it one practice swing, then tiptoe out the kitchen door . . .

Royally

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: May 2020

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Emma Chase

New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase writes contemporary romance novels known for their clever banter, emotion, and sexy, swoon-worthy moments. Her books have been translated in over twenty languages around the world.

Emma lives in New Jersey with her amazing husband, two spirited children, and two adorable but badly behaved dogs. She has a long-standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.


Tagged: , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Getting Schooled by Emma Chase

Posted April 12, 2020 by Holly in Reviews | 6 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

This week’s Sunday Spotlight is another comfort read. Sometimes a girl just wants to read about two adults. Getting Schooled by Emma Chase is that book. There isn’t a lot of angst or drama here, just two people reconnecting with each other and learning each other as adults.

Sunday Spotlight: Getting Schooled by Emma ChaseGetting Schooled by Emma Chase
Series: Getting Some #1
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Played , Getting Played
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 300
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Head of the class...

Garrett Daniels has this whole life thing figured out.

The cocky, charismatic former high school star quarterback is an idolized football coach and "cool" teacher in the hometown where he's not just a golden boy—he's platinum. He has good friends, a great house on the lake, and the best damn sidekick a man could ask for: Snoopy, the albino beagle.

Then...Callie Carpenter comes home.

And knocks him right on his tight end zone.

Back to school...

Callie has a pretty sweet life herself...on the other side of the country. But circumstances—that she'd prefer to never speak of again—have brought her back home, helping out her parents and substitute teaching at her old high school.

Now she's facing bickering, raging hormones, constant gossip, awkward weirdness, and drama galore...and that's just the teachers.

Just like old times...

When Garrett offers to show his former high school sweetheart the secrets of his winning teacher ways, Callie jumps at the chance—and then has to stop herself from jumping him.

Good friends are all they can ever be.

Or...these teachers just might end up getting schooled—hard—by love.

Favorite Quotes

Garett and Callie were high school sweethearts who broke up in college and ended up on opposite sides of the country from each other. When Callie ends up back home for an extended period of time, they reconnect.

I like Tara — but even if I didn’t, I wouldn’t bullshit her. A man gets to a point in his life when he realizes that honesty —even if it’s not what someone wants to hear — is just simpler.

I love how honest Garrett is. With himself and everyone else. He doesn’t play games or try to b.s. anyone.

You never forget your first. Isn’t that what they say? Callie was my first and for a long time, I thought she’d be my only.

He and Callie both have to deal with some residual feelings….

It’s a strange sensation standing in front of someone you’ve loved deeply—someone who, once upon a time, you couldn’t imagine not seeing, not talking to every day. Someone who used to be the center of your whole world . . . that you just don’t know anymore.

..but honestly this book is more about them getting to know each other now.

I want to know him, inside and out, all over again. And he feels the same way. Garrett wants this version of me as much as he always did—maybe even more. I heard it in his whispered words and felt it in his kiss.

The hi-jinx that happen because of their students are hilarious.

DJ adds, “I can sprint home in ten, do the deed, and be back here in fifteen.”

Apparently, DJ shits as fast as he runs – there’s something I could’ve gone my whole damn life without knowing.

I squeeze the bridge of my nose. “And why are you telling me this?”

“We wanted to make sure you were good with it,” Wilson says. “In case things go south and we get pinched. We didn’t want you to be pissed.”

Now that’s respect. Yes, technically they should be able to take a shit without my blessing, but still, as a coach — I’m touched.

There are also some touching moments throughout. I like how both Garrett and Callie connect with their students.

I lean forward and lower my voice. “The truth is, when it comes to guys and girls, men and women? We need them, more than they will ever, ever, need us.” I’ve passed on a lot of life lessons to these boys, but this may be the most important of them all.

In short, there’s a lot of humor here, but also a really sweet romance.

“You were always my girl, Callie, even after you weren’t anymore. Do you know what I mean?” I nod. “Yeah, I know exactly what you mean.”

I love this book.

“As for what I want . . . I want you, Callie. For as long as you’re here, for as long as you’ll let me have you. I want all of you.”

Getting Some

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: April 2020

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Emma Chase

New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase writes contemporary romance novels known for their clever banter, emotion, and sexy, swoon-worthy moments. Her books have been translated in over twenty languages around the world.

Emma lives in New Jersey with her amazing husband, two spirited children, and two adorable but badly behaved dogs. She has a long-standing love/hate relationship with caffeine.


Tagged: , , , ,

Review: Getting Played by Emma Chase

Posted January 3, 2020 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Getting Played by Emma ChaseReviewer: Rowena
Getting Played by Emma Chase
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Getting Some #2
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Played , Getting Schooled
Publisher: Audible Studios
Publication Date: June 11, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 241
Length: 6 hours, 57 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Rowena's 2019 TBR Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-half-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Listening Length: 6 hours and 57 minutesProgram Type: AudiobookVersion: Unabridged

A magnificent new romance by New York Times best-selling author Emma Chase - available in audio first!

Dean Walker is all about keeping life simple. He's effortlessly talented and intelligent - spending his summers playing drums in the local band and the rest of the year teaching high school in the same Jersey town where he grew up. He likes his love life simple too, enjoying the commitment-free hook-ups his good looks and sexy charm have always made oh so easy.

Then he meets Lainey Burrows. And his simple, easy life gets turned upside down.

One wild one-night stand was all it was ever supposed to be, so Lainey is shocked when she discovers that her sizzling summer fling is also her son's new math teacher. But that's nothing compared to the most unexpected twist of all - their hot hook-up left Lainey knocked up, and now they're about to become parents. Together.

What ensues is an addictive, insatiable, sweet and tender romance that won't be simple, but it will be more than worth the fight.

Getting Played is the second book in Emma Chase’s Getting Some series. It’s another fabulous addition to the series too. Dean and Lainey were a great couple and I really enjoyed seeing them figure out how to be together after they get their one night stand news.

When I read the first book in this series, Getting Schooled, I knew that I was going to read Dean’s book and boy am I glad that I saw that one through because this was another fabulous contemporary romance by Emma Chase. Everything that Holly and Casee said about this book being good was true. I enjoyed getting to know both Lainey and Dean, I loved seeing the relationship that blossomed between Lainey’s son and Dean. I also really enjoyed seeing Garrett and Callie again. I loved that they were still a big part of Dean’s life and I adored seeing Dean with his grandmother. This was just a great small-town romance that delivered lots of heartwarming charm that I just ate right up.

Dean was a bit immature in the last book but seeing him really come into his own in this book was fan-freaking-tastic. I really enjoyed seeing him with his students, I really loved seeing him bond with Lainey’s son and I absolutely adored seeing him get excited about the changes coming his way with Lainey. The way that they transitioned their lives to include each other made for a great romance. This was another one of those straight-up contemporary romances where the two main leads know that they have feelings for each other and they figure out how to overcome the obstacles in their way so that they can be together.

Lainey was a great heroine. She was a fanastic heroine for Dean and I really loved that she was a mother first. She didn’t take her role as Jason’s mother lightly and I dug that about her. I loved the relationship she forged with Jason as well. She built a strong and solid foundation that gave Jason the support he needed from her. I loved that she was able to be honest with Jason about anything and everything and that Jason felt like they were a team that could tackle anything together. They supported each other and when Dean came along, Jason welcomed him into their little unit but his Mom was always first with him. It was just a lot of fun to read about a bunch of normal people trying to figure their shit out…together.

Overall, this was a great book and though there were spots in the book where I wanted to ring all of their necks, in the end, they all got it right and were stronger for their obstacles. Emma Chase continues to shine brightly as a fabulous contemporary romance author and I hope she writes Dean’s brother’s book next. I need to know Connor more. Fingers crossed. If you guys are in the mood for a fun and sweet contemporary romance, look no further than Dean and Lainey’s book. I promise, it’s good.

Final Grade

4.25 out of 5

Getting Some

four-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Review: Royally Yours by Emma Chase

Posted September 11, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: Royally Yours by Emma ChaseReviewer: Holly
Royally Yours by Emma Chase
Narrator: Shane East, Andi Arndt
Series: Royally #4
Also in this series: Royally Matched (Royally, #2), Royally Endowed (Royally, #3)
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: October 28, 2018
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Historical Romance
Pages: 215
Length: 7 hours and 33 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Historical Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 Historical Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

*New York Times bestselling author Emma Chase returns with a sweet and sexy romantic comedy.*

Princess Lenora Celeste Beatrice Arabella Pembrook had an unusual childhood. She was raised to be a Queen—the first Queen of Wessco.

It’s a big deal.

When she’s crowned at just nineteen, the beautiful young monarch is prepared to rule. She’s charming, clever, confident and cunning.

What she isn’t…is married.

It’s her advising council’s first priority. It’s what Parliament is demanding, and what her people want.

Lenora has no desire to tie herself to a man—particularly one who only wants her for her crown. But compromises must be made and royals must do their duty.

Even Queens. Especially them. ** Years ago, Edward Langdon Richard Dorian Rourke, walked away from his title and country. Now he’s an adventurer—climbing mountains, exploring jungles, going wherever he wants, when he wants—until family devotion brings him home.

And a sacred promise keeps him there.

To Edward, the haughty, guarded little Queen is intriguing, infuriating…and utterly captivating. Wanting her just might drive him mad—or become his greatest adventure. ** Within the cold, stone walls of the royal palace—mistrust threatens, wills clash, and an undeniable, passionate love will change the future of the monarchy forever.

Every dynasty has a beginning. Every legend starts with a story.

This is theirs.

I didn’t read the other books in this series, but I’m given to understand this is the story of the grandmother from the Royally series. I enjoyed it quite a bit. Set in the late 40s and into the 50s, this novel chronicles the life of Queen Lenora Pembrook, as she’s crowned at 19 and takes her place as ruler of Wessco.

Lenora was raised to be queen from birth. She didn’t have much of a childhood, outside of a few short incidences, because she was training for the moment she’d take over and rule the country as the first queen. She had a couple childhood friends who grew to adulthood with her, but there was a lot of loss in her life. The romance doesn’t really even begin until about the 50% mark (perhaps a bit more, I listened to the audio so I’m not sure when exactly Edward was introduced into the story), but I didn’t really miss it, I was so engaged in Lenora’s life. I enjoyed seeing her training, then eventual coronation. She had to deal with centuries of patriarchal bullshit, but I thought she handled it all rather well.

Loss, heartbreak and eventually a smoldering love affair with the husband she never thought she’d get, Royally Yours had me swept up in life at the palace. I don’t really have a desire to read the modern day stories, but this was just what I was in the mood for.

Rating: 4.25 out of 5

Royally

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Joint Review: Getting Played by Emma Chase

Posted July 16, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 3 Comments

Joint Review: Getting Played by Emma ChaseReviewer: Casee and Holly
Getting Played by Emma Chase
Narrator: Andi Arndt, Zachary Webber
Series: Getting Some #2
Also in this series: Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Schooled (Getting Some, #1), Getting Played, Getting Schooled
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: June 11, 2019
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating First
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 241
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

A magnificent new romance by New York Times best-selling author Emma Chase - available in audio first!

Dean Walker is all about keeping life simple. He's effortlessly talented and intelligent - spending his summers playing drums in the local band and the rest of the year teaching high school in the same Jersey town where he grew up. He likes his love life simple too, enjoying the commitment-free hook-ups his good looks and sexy charm have always made oh so easy.

Then he meets Lainey Burrows. And his simple, easy life gets turned upside down.

One wild one-night stand was all it was ever supposed to be, so Lainey is shocked when she discovers that her sizzling summer fling is also her son's new math teacher. But that's nothing compared to the most unexpected twist of all - their hot hook-up left Lainey knocked up, and now they're about to become parents. Together.

What ensues is an addictive, insatiable, sweet and tender romance that won't be simple, but it will be more than worth the fight.

Getting Played is the second book in Emma Chase’s Getting Some series. Dean Walker is a small-town math teacher that hits the road with his band during the summer. Lanie Burrorws is a successful DIY blogger who is out celebrating a new career opportunity. Their attraction is instantaneous, their one night together is unforgettable. They thought they would never see each other again, until Lanie shows up for parent-teacher conferences at her son’s new school.

Casee: I loved Dean in Getting Schooled and I loved him in this book. He was just so brutally honest with himself about himself, you know? I adored that about him. I also loved how open and honest Dean and Lanie were. No games.

Holly: I loved Dean in Getting Schooled, too, and I was so happy to see his book.

Dean was an all around great guy. He didn’t lie to himself or anyone else about who and what he was. He admitted to being a major player, but it was obvious he was ready for more by the time Lainey came back to town.

Casee: One of the things I liked most about this book was the Burrows’ family. When Lanie talked about how her parents went on their cruise and slept the whole time? Isn’t that every parent after all their kids are out of the house? I loved all her sisters and how they were there for each other. They were all so unique.

Holly: I thought Lainey’s family was so great. Her parents, her sisters, even her son. All of them were so well done. I loved getting to know them. It was great to reunite with Garrett and Callie, too. I like that they didn’t steal the show, either.

Casee: I think that Emma Chase is just such a stellar writer. Like you said, she brought back Garrett and Callie, but not too much. It was still all about Dean and Lainey.

Holly: I really liked Lainey’s lifestyle blog, too. I thought the added snippets of her Facebook Live posts were really great. I also loved that she was just real and out there. At one point she mentions something about lifestyle bloggers generally being totally put together, but that’s not her. She lets her viewers see it all. I thought that was great.

Casee: That’s another thing I loved about Lainey. She put herself out there. She let her viewers see the real her. She didn’t sugarcoat anything that was happening in her life, she just laid it all out for all to see. I also loved her relationship with Jason.

I also love Zachary Webber and Andi Arndt on audio. They are like the power couple of audiobooks. I heart them.

Holly: I really like Andi Arndt and Zachary Webber, but I like Sebastian York and Andi Arndt a little more. They’re my power couple of audiobooks. Still, this one was wonderful to listen to.

Casee: I have nothing bad to say about this book really. I loved just about everything. I loved the kids in Dean’s class. When they found out that Jason and Lainey lived in the haunted house on Miller St? Hilarious.

Holly: I have nothing bad to say about this book, either. I loved how open and honest Dean and Lainey were with each other. I loved Lainey’s relationship with her son, and how well Dean got along with him. Even when they were having drama, they didn’t let that affect their plans to parent their child.

Casee: I give this one a 4.25 out of 5. What about you?

Holly: I’m giving it 4.25 as well. It was such a sweet, well done story. I can’t wait for the next one.

Final Grades

Casee: 4.25 out of 5
Holly: 4.25 out of 5

Getting Some

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,