Author: Eloisa James

Guest Review: Wilde in Love by Eloisa James

Posted December 1, 2017 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: Wilde in Love by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Tracy
Wilde in Love by Eloisa James
Series: The Wildes of Lindow Castle #1
Published by Avon
Publication Date: October 31st 2017
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 416
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Lord Alaric Wilde, son of the Duke of Lindow, is the most celebrated man in England, revered for his dangerous adventures and rakish good looks. Arriving home from years abroad, he has no idea of his own celebrity until his boat is met by mobs of screaming ladies. Alaric escapes to his father’s castle, but just as he grasps that he’s not only famous but notorious, he encounters the very private, very witty, Miss Willa Ffynche.

Willa presents the façade of a serene young lady to the world. Her love of books and bawdy jokes is purely for the delight of her intimate friends. She wants nothing to do with a man whose private life is splashed over every newspaper.

Alaric has never met a woman he wanted for his own . . . until he meets Willa. He’s never lost a battle.

But a spirited woman like Willa isn’t going to make it easy. . . .

Alaric is shocked when he finds out he’s a celebrity.  He’s returned to England from his many adventures around the globe and finds himself famous.  He has written books that have become best sellers, but he had no idea that a play was the main cause.  The play portrays him as an incredible romantic – something he is definitely not.

Alaric arrives at his family home just in time for a house party in celebration of his brother’s betrothal.  Alaric meets Willa and sees her as someone different.  She doesn’t fawn all over him and states that she’s never read his books.  He’s intrigued, and he makes it a point to spend more time with her.

Willa and her friend are not what they appear to be.  They tell bawdy jokes and have a wicked sense of humor but on the outside they are the perfect ladies.  Willa has turned down no less than 14 marriage proposals this season alone as she has no wish to marry until she finds the perfect man for her.  When someone from Alaric’s past arrives at the party he uses Willa as his fake fiancé.  The thing that surprises the couple is that both of them would like it to be a true engagement.

This was a great book.  It started off with such charm and humor I was instantly invested in the story.  Alaric proved to be a wonderful hero.  He was such a normal guy who did extraordinary things and had written books about his adventures.  Some thought they were fiction, but he had truly lived through it all.  He fell hard and fast for Willa and I loved it.  He was a good man and I liked his character immensely.

Willa was an intelligent woman who wanted nothing to do with adventure. Her parents had died while they were being reckless and Willa just wanted a normal life – husband, children, no adventure.  I liked that she wanted nothing to do with Alaric at first as she thought him a sham.  I loved reading about the two of them falling in love as she was so wrong about Alaric.

This was a fantastic start to a new series and I can’t wait to see what happens next with Alaric’s brother, North.

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Seven Minutes in Heaven by Eloisa James

Posted February 8, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Seven Minutes in Heaven by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Rowena
Seven Minutes in Heaven by Eloisa James
Series: Desperate Duchesses by the Numbers #3
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: January 31st 2017
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

All of Eugenia Snowe’s problems start when Edward Reeve, an arrogant bastard son of an earl, bursts into her registry office. He wants a governess and he wants her. She gives him the governess he demands, but she refuses to give herself.

No question that Eugenia enjoys crossing wits with the brilliant inventor, but she will never tarnish her reputation with an affaire, particularly with a man who doesn’t realize she’s a lady!

She holds her ground…until he kidnaps her.

Ward will stop at nothing to convince Eugenia that they’re meant to be together. He promises her heaven.

She gives him seven minutes.

Seven Minutes in Heaven is the third book in the Desperate Duchesses by the Numbers series by Eloisa James and it was a romance that was so easy to fall into and love.

Mrs. Eugenia Snow is a widow who owns a registry. That registry pairs up governesses with families that need good governesses. She’s good at her job but when Edward Reeve, the bastard son of an earl comes to her office and kind of bulldozes his way into her life, she’s taken by surprise. She knows that she’s lucky to have found love once before so she wasn’t expecting Ward. She wasn’t expecting to fall in love with not only Ward but with his young siblings.

Ward is desperate. He needs to find a governess for his two young siblings that he just found out about before their grandmother gets her way and takes them away from him. These two young children have been through a lot in their short lives and they need someone in their corner. They need stability and they need someone to take care of them. Ward isn’t the best choice for them but they’re his to take care of and he doesn’t care what he has to do to keep them away from their grandmother, he was going to fight to keep them and that is why he needs Mrs. Snow so much. He needs her to send one of her governesses to teach his siblings how to act, teach them life lessons and all the stuff they need to learn to prove that he’s a good choice as guardian.

When his siblings run off one more governess from Mrs. Snows Registry, Ward becomes even more desperate. He goes right off the crazy train and before we know what’s what, Mrs. Snow herself is staying at his place, acting as governess to his siblings and things are turning around. She’s good with kids and even though his siblings grew up in a colorful environment, thanks to their mother’s colorful life (his mother ran away from the aristocracy with a much younger man causing a giant scandal), if he has any prayer of keeping his siblings, he has to live a life on the up and up. It doesn’t matter that he’s the only person that wants the best for his brother and sister. It doesn’t matter that they want to live with him. What matters is the case coming up. What matters is sacrificing his own happiness for them.

Ward’s happiness is wrapped up in Eugenia Snow. Their relationship has grown by heaps and bounds ever since she came to stay with them. In such a short amount of time, she’s become important to him and the same can be said for her. The chemistry between them was sweet and it was strong but it doesn’t last as long as I was hoping because Ward doesn’t know who Eugenia is. He’s the bastard child of an earl so it made sense to me that he wouldn’t know who she is. How connected she is. He gave her up because he felt he had to and my heart hurt for the both of them.

Eugenia’s love for Ward and the kids really shines in this book. The way that she stood up for herself when she finds out why Ward turns her away. The way that she stood firm in what she thought was right, really worked for me. Eloisa James wrote a wonderfully romantic historical romance that hit me in the feels, made me laugh, sigh and cry a little bit. This book was great and I’m so glad that I read it.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: Winning the Wallflower by Eloisa James

Posted January 23, 2017 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Winning the Wallflower by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Rowena
Winning the Wallflower by Eloisa James
Series: Fairy Tales #2.5
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: December 6th 2011
Pages: 352
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

It could only happen in a fairy tale.

Lady Lucy Towerton:Plain and tall. (According to the lady herself.) Titled and irreproachably proper. (According to her fiancé.)

Until, overnight, she becomes

Lady Lucy Towerton:Heiress. (Thanks to an aged aunt’s bequest.)Belle of the ball. (So say the fortune hunters of the ton.)

In charge of her own destiny (finally!), Lucy breaks her engagement and makes up her mind never to be proper again…

NOTE: This novella is related to "The Duke Is Mine" and includes Olivia Lytton.

I’m so fired.

I decided last month that I was going to make a noticeable dent in my TBR pile and participate in the book blogging community more so I signed up for the TBR Challenge hosted by Super Librarian Wendy. I picked out my books, I made sure that my January book was downloaded onto my kindle and then I made sure that I read the book in plenty of time to get it reviewed and scheduled.

I read the book. I wrote the review and then I forgot to schedule the review so you’re getting this month’s entry late. Sorry, I swear that I’ll do better next month. 🙂

Anyway, on with the review…

So January’s entry is all about the short story and I chose a book that I’ve been wanting to read for a long ass time. Winning the Wallflower by Eloisa James. Eloisa James write fabulous historical romances and I knew that I was going to like this one because Ames liked it. We have similar reading tastes so I went into this one with high hopes and those hopes definitely played out well for me.

Lucy is a wallflower. She’s always overlooked and partying in the corner with the other wallflowers at every ball. When Cyrus asks for her hand in marriage, her parents grudgingly accept. They don’t want Cyrus in the family because his mother is a disgraced daughter of a lord of the ton, a woman who ran away and married a commoner. Cyrus is determined to turn things around for his family so that his sisters will get their shot at a season. He needs to marry someone above reproach and he finds all of that in Lucy.

Lucy knows that her marriage to Cyrus is not a love match but when she realizes how little Cyrus knows her and how much he doesn’t want to get to know her, she decides that she wants more than a marriage of convenience. She can afford to be picky because she came into an inheritance from her dead Aunt so she breaks things off with Cyrus and is surprised when Cyrus takes a genuine interest in her and pursues her in earnest.

Watching these two get to know each other and fall slowly in love with one another was a treat. Eloisa James is a pro at wrapping me up in feels and this short story was no different. It was fun to see Cyrus jump through hoops to win Lucy’s heart and I was so satisfied in the end. Cute and fun, you won’t regret reading this.

4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: My American Duchess by Eloisa James

Posted January 28, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: My American Duchess by Eloisa JamesReviewer: Rowena
My American Duchess by Eloisa James
Published by Avon
Publication Date: January 26th 2016
Pages: 432
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

The arrogant Duke of Trent intends to marry a well-bred Englishwoman. The last woman he would ever consider marrying is the adventuresome Merry Pelford— an American heiress who has infamously jilted two fiancés.

But after one provocative encounter with the captivating Merry, Trent desires her more than any woman he has ever met. He is determined to have her as his wife, no matter what it takes. And Trent is a man who always gets what he wants.

The problem is, Merry is already betrothed, and the former runaway bride has vowed to make it all the way to the altar. As honor clashes with irresistible passion, Trent realizes the stakes are higher than anyone could have imagined. In his battle to save Merry and win her heart, one thing becomes clear:

All is fair in love and war.

I haven’t read too many books by Eloisa James but I was really looking forward to reading this book. It just sounded like a good one and when I finally got my hands on this one, I was more than a little stoked.

I’m super thrilled to report that I enjoyed the heck out of this book. It made me laugh, it made me roll my eyes but it also made me swoon with delight. I finished the book and closed it with a big ol’ grin on my face because sigh It was a lovely romance.

Merry is engaged again (three times the charm, right?) with a totally respectable man and she’s determined to get all the way down the aisle this time around. Everything was going swimmingly until she meets her fiance’s brother…and likes him. But she’s already given her word and she really doesn’t want to be the laughingstock of England since she’s already the laughingstock of America. She’s already got two broken engagements under her belt and she really doesn’t want another one but the longer she’s around the Duke of Trent, the more she likes him and the more he falls for her. What a pickle to find yourself in but I thought James handled this story wonderfully.

Reading this book reminded me why I started reading romance, historical romance to be exact, in the first place. The escapism game in this book is strong. I was swept right up in the romance between Trent and Merry. I loved the angst of not being able to be together and then watching them fall in love. Trent’s brother was a great “villain” in this book and I’m looking forward to reading his book.

Merry was such a likable heroine. I loved all of the facts that she would spout off at random. I loved her relationship with her Aunt and Uncle and I really liked who she was around Trent. If I had a complaint about Merry, it would be how long it took for her to end things with Cedric but aside from that? I adored her. She was a great heroine, one that I connected with at every turn.

Trent was a fantastic hero. I loved that he was a self-made rich guy who found the woman he was going to marry after one conversation. I loved that he tried to be noble and stay away for his brother’s sake but I also loved that he didn’t stay away. I loved seeing the softer side to him as he tried to make Merry happy. Even when he was a bonehead, I loved him.

This book delivered a great romance that made me laugh, happy sigh and even cry. Eloisa James is an author that I will try not to miss from here on out because I really enjoyed this one.

4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

Review: The Lady Most Willing by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, Connie Brockway

Posted December 31, 2012 by Rowena in Reviews | 4 Comments

Review: The Lady Most Willing by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, Connie BrockwayReviewer: Rowena
The Lady Most Willing... (Lady Most #2) by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, Connie Brockway
Series: Lady Most #2
Published by Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: December 26th 2012
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 384
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Step into the glittering world of Regency and prepare to have your hearts warmed by Julia Quinn, Eloisa James and Connie Brockway . . .

During their annual Christmas pilgrimage to Scotland to visit their aged uncle in his decrepit castle, the Comte de Rocheforte and his cousin, Earl of Oakley, are presented with unique gifts: their uncle has raided an English lord's Christmas party and kidnapped four lovely would-be brides for his heirs to choose from . . . as well as one very angry duke, Lord Bretton.

As snow isolates the castle, and as hours grow into days, the most honourable intentions give away to temptations as surprising as they are irresistible.

This was a quick read for me.  I was looking forward to reading it because Julia Quinn is one of my favorite historical authors.  She writes the kind of historical romances that keep me smiling like a crazy person and laughing like a loon.

And it wasn’t any different with this book.

I really liked the way that this book was set up. How it was three different stories wrapped up in one bigger story.  Each author took a couple and wrote their story and overall, I thought the book was cute.  It’s set around a crazy Scottish Laird trying to snatch up (literally) some brides for his nephews.  He snatches them from a ball and they’re stuck at his castle because of a terrible snowstorm that has them all snowed in.  It’ll be a few days before they can all return safely home so they each have to make the best of the situation.

Julia Quinn’s part of the story features the Duke of Bretton and a Scottish lass by the name of Catriona Burns.  Catriona isn’t rich but the more the Duke of Bretton gets to know her, the more that he wants her.  She’s a breath of fresh air and he’s completely smitten with her.  Their story was too cute for words and oh so funny.  I laughed out loud more than once while reading their short story and it was most definitely my favorite story of the bunch.

Next up is Eloisa James part of the story and her story featured the Earl of Oakley, who’s uncle is the crazy man that kidnapped all of the ladies AND the Duke.  Luckily for Taran, the Duke of Bretton is a friend of Byron’s and is probably not going to kill him for stealing his coach with him in it.  This story was probably my least favorite of the three stories but it wasn’t a bad one.  the Earl of Oakley knows he has to marry but wasn’t planning on finding his bride so soon but the normally stiff Earl is trying to loosen up and finds himself getting to know the bookish, on the shelf because of a scandal young woman named Fiona.  Fiona’s sister Marilla is the pretty one, the one that gets all of the looks but after one encounter with Fiona, Byron is curious about her and finds himself drawn to her.  A love blossoms between them and I thought it was cute.

The last story is by Connie Brockway and features the poor Lord Rocheforte, who is a French Comte.  He’s the nephew that is going to inherit Taran’s castle and titles and lands and it was for Robin that Taran went to such lengths to procure some brides for their choosing.  There’s only one person that Robin wants but because of his reputation (being poor and a womanizer) he doesn’t think he should ruin her chances of finding a suitable husband so he stays away from her…out of love.  Love at first sight, that’s what it was for both Robin and Lady Cecily and as corny as it sounds, I thought their story was such a delight.  So cute!

I really liked getting to know each character and  I would have liked a little more from each story but overall, the reading experience left me with a smile so I liked it and would definitely recommend them.

Grade: 3.75 out of 5

book is available from Avon. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , ,