Author: Christine Feehan

Review: Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan

Posted June 3, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Shadow Warrior by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #4
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: Casee's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
four-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

Danger inspires fierce passion when a serial killer threatens Chicago's Ferraro crime family in this novel in Christine Feehan's New York Times bestselling series.

Vittorio Ferraro is a man whose family loyalty knows no bounds. He would die for his siblings and the people they love, but what he really wants is to start a family of his own. Deep down, Vittorio has always known finding a woman who could ride shadows would be nearly impossible--let alone one who could accept his particular needs--and he never expected to find her in the middle of a kidnapping....

Grace Murphy has always been drawn to Vittorio Ferraro--or at least to the billionaire's public bad-boy persona. Now that she's under his protection and the sole focus of his intense caring, she can't help wanting to get as close to him as possible. But Grace knows her presence is putting the entire Ferraro family in danger. Her monster of a brother will never let her go, but Vittorio has no intention of losing the woman whose shadow matches his own.

Praise for Shadow Keeper"Shadow Keeper is, in a word, a keeper! If you love hot men, sexy women, the good guys winning against the bad guys, love (both sweet and ultra steamy), and family that stands together, then this book is all that and even more."--Fresh Fiction

This is book four in Feehan’s Shadow series. I find this series very fascinating. This is my favorite Feehan series at the moment. Riding shadows is just so unique and unlike anything paranormal that I’ve read. I didn’t really care for the second book in the series, but I have really enjoyed the other three.

Vittorio Ferraro is a shadow rider. He rides shadows to deliver justice when the system has fails. He is not judge, jury, and executioner. He is only executioner. So he’s basically a murderer, but it’s all for a good cause yo. But really, there is an extensive process that a person(s) must go through to get help from the Ferraro family. Vittorio has never doubted that what he does is right until Grace Murphy explodes into his life. Like really explodes out of the trunk of a car, then takes a bullet meant for him.

Grace was such an amazing heroine. The life she has lived up to the point she meets Vittorio has been horrific. She has no friends and no family. Her foster brother doesn’t count as family because it is he that has isolated her from everyone. If she lets someone new into her life, he kills them. It’s as simple as that. Grace learned a lot time ago not to get close to people. Then comes Vittorio who just won’t let her go.

There are two things that Vittorio is worried about telling Grace. The first one is that he needs to be the dominant in their relationship. Not just dominant in bed, but dominant in life. The second is that he’s a shadow rider. He’s never thought of himself as a man that murders people until Grace comes into his life. Now he wonders if that is what will separate them for good.

Grace isnt’t a pushover by any means. She might accept Vittorio’s dominance, but when she’s running her company, she is a ballbuster. I loved that about her. She is strong enough to admit that she loved Vittorio taking care of her. That didn’t make her less of a woman. It just made her a woman that was perfect for Vittorio.

The whole storyline with her foster brother actually made the whole book better. I really enjoyed it (well, not the murdering of innocent people part). I just enjoyed Grace’s reaction to the Ferraro family. Overall, I was very satisfied with this book.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Shadow Riders

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Shadow Warrior by Christine Feehan

Posted June 2, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 4 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Shadow Warrior is book four in Feehan’s Shadow Riders series. I feel this series is very unique to paranormal romance. It is possible that there are other books out there about people being able to ride shadows, but I’ve never read one. I think that it’s hard to stand out these days in the PNR genre unless you’re already established due to the fact that there is such a vast amount of PNR books out there. Even if it wasn’t Christine Feehan that was the author of this series, I would still be intrigued. I’ve really liked all the books in the series except Shadow Reaper which is book two. My all time favorite in the series (I know, there are only four) are Shadow Rider (Stefan’s book) and this book.

At the moment this is my favorite series by Feehan. If you are looking enjoy PNR and would like to read something that iss a little different, I highly suggest you read this series!

Sunday Spotlight: Shadow Warrior by Christine FeehanShadow Warrior by Christine Feehan
Series: Shadow Riders #4
Also in this series: Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Reaper, Shadow Keeper, Shadow Warrior
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 4, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Length: 13 hours and 45 minutes
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Danger inspires fierce passion when a serial killer threatens Chicago's Ferraro crime family in this novel in Christine Feehan's New York Times bestselling series.

Vittorio Ferraro is a man whose family loyalty knows no bounds. He would die for his siblings and the people they love, but what he really wants is to start a family of his own. Deep down, Vittorio has always known finding a woman who could ride shadows would be nearly impossible--let alone one who could accept his particular needs--and he never expected to find her in the middle of a kidnapping....

Grace Murphy has always been drawn to Vittorio Ferraro--or at least to the billionaire's public bad-boy persona. Now that she's under his protection and the sole focus of his intense caring, she can't help wanting to get as close to him as possible. But Grace knows her presence is putting the entire Ferraro family in danger. Her monster of a brother will never let her go, but Vittorio has no intention of losing the woman whose shadow matches his own.

Praise for Shadow Keeper"Shadow Keeper is, in a word, a keeper! If you love hot men, sexy women, the good guys winning against the bad guys, love (both sweet and ultra steamy), and family that stands together, then this book is all that and even more."--Fresh Fiction

Exclusive Excerpt

Vittorio’s long fingers settled gently on her chin, turning her face so her gaze jumped back to his. “You’re safe with me. There are bodyguards at the door and they’re very experienced.”

He was so incredibly beautiful. Everything about him. His face was sculpted perfectly, every angle and plane. His eyes were gorgeous. Absolutely gorgeous. Blue. But far more than blue—indigo was the color that came to mind. With his black lashes framing that blue, he took her breath away. She didn’t want him to die and Haydon would be fixated on him now.

“We’ll find him. The cops are looking. My people are looking. He doesn’t have money and very few friends. Haydon will be found.”

Grace shook her head. She had to tell him things she’d never told anyone if she wanted him to stay alive. They stared at each other for a long time.

His thumb swept across her chin. “I know this is difficult for you, Grace. You have to trust someone. You need to talk to me about this man. You’re visibly trembling. You look frightened and I don’t want you to be.”

“I don’t know you,” she protested, but she knew she was stalling for time, trying to figure out a way to keep him safe without revealing the things she knew about Haydon Phillips.

“You know me,” he countered.

A faint smile touched his mouth, and her heart reacted with a curious flutter.

“After all, I am your fiancé.”

“Why does everyone think that?” She pounced on that.

“I told you in the parking lot when you were shot, but you probably don’t remember. In order to make certain the doctors would talk to me, I had to be your fiancé. Our top orthopedic surgeon removed the fragments of bone and repaired the damage, but you have a long road ahead of you. They’re giving you antibiotics to prevent any infection and you’ll have to be here a couple of weeks. You were in and out for a few days so we’re counting down past that first week.”

“Every time I wake up you’re here.” Grace had gotten used to seeing him there, a fixture in her room, even when the pain medication kept her sleepy. She looked for him first thing now, that quick sweep of the room while she held her breath. Then she saw him and the terror in her calmed.

“I don’t want to be anywhere else. When you leave, you’re going to need care. I’ve got your room ready for you and set up for physical therapy so when the doctor gives you the okay, we’ll have that in place.”

“Room ready for me?” she echoed faintly.

He nodded, his eyes holding hers. “With me. At my house. My sister, Emmanuelle, and my sister-in-law Mariko can go to your apartment and get whatever things you want. You can make a list.”

She shook her head. “No. Absolutely not.”

He got that look she detested. Disappointment. As if she had somehow hurt him just by saying no to him. She had to clarify. “You don’t understand. No one can go to my apartment. It isn’t safe, least of all for anyone you love or care about. They’re going to be in danger as well.”

He stared down at her for what seemed an eternity, then he shifted her casually. Easily. He simply slid his arms under her body, lifted and moved her to the side of the bed so he could sit on it fully. His arm slid around her hips. She was half sitting, and there was a thin sheet and blanket over her, but the heat of him nearly scorched her.

Shadow Riders

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: June 2019

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Christine Feehan

Christine Feehan is a #1 New York Times bestselling author multiple times over with her portfolio including over 40 published novels, including five series; Leopard Series, Dark Series, Ghostwalker Series, Drake Sisters Series, & the Sisters of the Heart Series. All five series hit the #1 spot on the New York Times bestselling list as well. Her debut novel Dark Prince received 3 of the 9 Paranormal Excellence Awards in Romantic Literature (PEARL) in 1999. Since then she has been published by various publishing houses including Leisure Books, Pocket Books, and currently is writing for Berkley/Jove. She also has earned 7 more PEARL awards since Dark Prince.


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Christine Feehan Giveaway)

Posted May 17, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 7 Comments

Casee: I finally finished Wild Man (Colorado Mountains #2) by Kristen Ashley this week. I loved it! I’ve moved onto American Witch (American Witch #1) by Thea Harrison. Although I’ve had some issues with the heroine, I am liking her more as I get further into the book. I always forget how much I enjoy Thea Harrison’s books. I don’t know why that is.

I’m listening to Vision in Silver (The Others #3) by Anne Bishop. Alexandra Harris is such a fantastic narrator. I can’t even use words to describe how much I love listening to her on audio. She’s that good. After I finish this one (hopefully today), I’m going to jump back into Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles #1) by Ilona Andrews. If I don’t, I’m afraid I might disappear under mysterious circumstances.

Holly: Another slow reading week here. I finished listening to Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop. That series is so good. I’m always engaged when I read or listen to one. I read Rafe by Rebekah Weatherspoon, which was a sweet, light contemporary romance. Then I read The Austen Playbook by Lucy Parker, which was good. That’s pretty much it for me. The good news is, I seem to have gotten my mojo back, because I’m excited to read.

Rowena: I don’t want to say that my reading slump is a thing of the past but it was put on hold for this week because I read hella books. Yay me! I did a quick re-read of The Austen Playbook by Lucy Parker for a joint review with Holly and then I read Hot to the Touch by Jaci Burton. I also read American Witch by Thea Harrison for our feature review. Both books were great reads and I’m glad that I read them. I also read Love, Chloe by Alessandra Torre for a buddy review with Ames and I finished Somewhere Only We Know by Maurene Goo. I enjoyed the Torre book a little more than I enjoyed the Gooo though both books were solid reads.

Now, I’m reading Then Came You by Kate Meader cause I need to get my review pile down, I’m way behind. So far, so good on that one. I also plan on reading The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren over the weekend so wish me luck on that!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Christine Feehan Giveaway)Covert Game by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #14
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Murder Game, Covert Game, Toxic Game (GhostWalkers #15)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: October 9, 2018
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 480
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

Treason, torture and temptation haunt the GhostWalkers in their most dangerous adventure yet, as Christine Feehan's #1 New York Times bestselling series hits an explosive new high.

Rescuing an industrial spy from the hands of a criminal mastermind is a suicide mission for the GhostWalkers. And there's no one more up to the task than Gino Mazza. He's the perfect killing machine--a man driven by demons so dark and destructive that his blighted soul has given up trying to find solace. But his laser-sharp focus on his target has transformed into something nearing desire.

A treasonous senator dangled top secret GhostWalker data in front of a Chinese crime lord, and he bit. Zara Hightower, one of the world's leading experts on artificial intelligence, was sent in to psychically wipe the crime lord's computer network. She succeeded, but at a huge cost. Now she's the captive of a man who has descended into paranoid madness. Torture and death await her...

But GhostWalkers never leave one of their own in enemy territory. And it's up to Gino to save Zara, or kill her if it turns out she's led them into a trap. Either way, heaven or hell won't stop him...

What Are You Reading: Covert Game by Christine Feehan

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Blog Tour Excerpt: Toxic Game by Christine Feehan

Posted March 5, 2019 by Casee in Features | 0 Comments

Toxic Game is book #15 in Feehan’s GhostWalker series. Feehan returns us to Joe Spagnola’s team and brings us the story of GhostWalker Draden Freeman. When Draden is infected with a disease that was created to kill the woman that is meant for him, Draden will do anything to save her. This book is different from the others in this series somehow. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, even when I was writing my review. It might have been the desperation of the characters, knowing that their deaths were imminent.

I hope you enjoy the excerpt!

Blog Tour Excerpt: Toxic Game by Christine FeehanToxic Game (GhostWalker #15) by Christine Feehan
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 12, 2019
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

On a rescue mission in the heart of the Indonesian jungle, Dr. Draden Freeman and his GhostWalker team need to extract the wounded as quickly as possible—or risk spreading a deadly virus unleashed by a terrorist cell. When Draden gets infected, he forces his team to leave him behind. He won’t risk exposing anyone else. He intends to find the ones responsible and go out in a blaze of glory....

Shylah Cosmos’s mission is to track the virus and remain unseen. Her enhanced senses tell her that the gorgeous man eradicating the terrorists one by one is a GhostWalker—and his lethal precision takes her breath away. When he’s hit by a lucky shot, she can’t stop herself from stepping in, not knowing that by saving his life she’s exposed herself to the virus.

There’s no telling how much time Draden and Shylah have left. Racing to find a cure, they quickly realize that they’ve found their perfect partner just in time to lose everything. But even as the virus threatens to consume their bodies, they’ve never felt more alive..


 

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

The last of the helicopters had lifted from the ground, gunners providing cover for him, spraying the tree line to keep the terrorists from taking aim at Draden. Diego and Malichai used automatics to aid the gunners as Joe and Gino worked on the wounded. A rope was dropped down as the chopper circled back. Draden kept running as gunfire erupted from the cover of the forest. Bullets spat around him.

The chopper came slipping out of the sky toward him, coming in low, the rope flying like a slinky tail. Behind him, the forest went strangely silent. No gunfire. He didn’t stop. He leapt for the rope, his gloved hands catching hold, the jerk so strong it nearly pulled his arms out of their sockets. Still, his enhanced strength allowed him to hang on while the chopper began to climb.

He was twenty feet up when he felt the sting in his thigh, and his heart stuttered with instant awareness. He glanced down to see a dart protruding from his muscle and knew why the terrorists’ weapons had gone silent. They had a sniper, and he wasn’t armed with a bullet. He was armed with a virus. If Draden went up into the helicopter, he was condemning everyone in it to the same death as those in the village. Without real conscious thought, he let go of the rope, dropping out of the sky and back to earth.

Virus injection. It was the best information he could give them, so they would know to leave him behind.

Malichai was staring down at him, their eyes meeting as he fell away. He saw Malichai practically dive from the helicopter, but Diego caught at him, holding him back. Draden landed in a crouch, his enhanced DNA allowing his legs to act like springs to absorb the shock. He somersaulted forward and stood up, facing the forest, his arms spread wide. Let them shoot him if they wanted, but if they didn’t, he was infecting the bastards. He began walking toward the edge of all those trees and brush.

Draden. What the hell happened? Joe’s voice slipped into his mind. It was faded, as if the distance was already too far. He heard the helicopter circling back so Joe would be able to reach him. He pictured Joe holding a weapon on the crew. He could get that intense.

By the time he reached the trees, the MSS members had faded away, leaving him to die however the villagers had. He’d seen the reports the Indonesian government had shared with the WHO. It was one of the reasons his team had been in the region. Two team members were two of the leading scientists developing treatments, therapies and pharmaceuticals in the field of viruses.

Infected with the virus.

Draden had taken the time to finish both his doctorate and MD, to be an asset to others on his team. He’d dabbled in biochemistry but finished his undergrad degree, a BS in genetics. Stanford offered a dual MD and PhD program and he’d taken advantage of that. He’d gotten his MD as an infectious disease doctor and his PhD in microbiology and immunology. He found it ironic that he would be dying of a weaponized virus after all that work to earn his degrees. Determined to be of some use, he decided to record everything he could about his symptoms, along with any suppositions he might have before he put a bullet in his head. He’d leave final conclusions for them.

Tell Trap and Wyatt I’ll leave behind a recording. Don’t know if they can use whatever I find, but they should remotely be able to access my recorder without touching the device.

I’m sorry, man. Trap and Wyatt may have ideas.

Draden knew, just from the earlier reports, that their ideas would be too late. The virus acted too fast. He would be dead before Joe had time to make it back to the States.

GhostWalkers


Tagged: , ,

Blog Tour Review: Toxic Game by Christine Feehan

Posted March 5, 2019 by Casee in Reviews | 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review: Toxic Game by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Toxic Game (GhostWalkers #15) by Christine Feehan
Series: GhostWalkers #15
Also in this series: Predatory Game, Street Game, Ruthless Game, Shadow Game, Power Game, Murder Game, Covert Game
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: March 5, 2019
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Series Rating: four-stars

On a rescue mission in the heart of the Indonesian jungle, Dr. Draden Freeman and his GhostWalker team need to extract the wounded as quickly as possible—or risk spreading a deadly virus unleashed by a terrorist cell. When Draden gets infected, he forces his team to leave him behind. He won’t risk exposing anyone else. He intends to find the ones responsible and go out in a blaze of glory....

Shylah Cosmos’s mission is to track the virus and remain unseen. Her enhanced senses tell her that the gorgeous man eradicating the terrorists one by one is a GhostWalker—and his lethal precision takes her breath away. When he’s hit by a lucky shot, she can’t stop herself from stepping in, not knowing that by saving his life she’s exposed herself to the virus.

There’s no telling how much time Draden and Shylah have left. Racing to find a cure, they quickly realize that they’ve found their perfect partner just in time to lose everything. But even as the virus threatens to consume their bodies, they’ve never felt more alive.

I wanted to like this book more than I actually did. Especially when I read this from Feehan’s website:

“This could possibly be the most romantic couple I’ve ever written in any of my series. I was surprised by both of them many times which made writing this book so much fun for me.”

I was super excited because 1) GhostWalkers! 2) Most romantic! 3) GhostWalkers! Okay, so I’m a little obsessed with the GhostWalker series, it’s true. I’ve come to expect a lot from the series. When I say a lot, I mean a lot. This one was so incredibly rushed. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t good, just that it didn’t work for me.

Draden Freeman is on a rescue mission when he is infected with a deadly virus. Knowing he needs to force his team to leave him behind, he does just that. His plan is to bring as many terrorist responsible for spreading the virus as possible before he dies. And he knows he’s going to die. The village the the terrorists took out with the virus attests to that brutal fact. Then he meets Shylah Cosmos, one of Peter Whitney’s orphan girls. She’s there on her own mission. While following him, she saves him inadvertently infecting herself. Draden is furious, but can’t help but be attracted to Shylah’s calm and acceptance of her fate.

Shylah is in the Indonesian jungle to track down the three scientists that are responsible for creating the virus. Her job isn’t to bring them in. Her job is to kill them and bring their research in. It’s only as her and Draden start working together that they realize that the virus wasn’t make as a biological weapon. It was made for Shylah herself. Peter Whitney doesn’t like when his girls escape and Shylah is the only one that can fight off whatever virus is injected into her body. It was only by chance that the scientists created a weapon to which there was no antidote. Or could there possibly be one?

The speed in which Draden and Shylah fell in love was a matter of days. The only thing that made in believable was that they both believed they were going to die. Otherwise it was just completely implausible. Even with Whitney and his imprinting of the men and women, it was still too fast. The rest of the book was actually pretty good, even the scientific part of it. I always admire how much research Feehan puts into her books. While I’m clueless as to whether the info is accurate, it sure seems like it is.

Rating: 3.75 out of 5.

GhostWalkers


Tagged: , , , , , , ,