Author: Christine Feehan

Sunday Spotlight: Leopard’s Run by Christine Feehan

Posted November 18, 2018 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 3 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

I’ve very much enjoyed this series, though I am behind on it. The last book in the series that I read was Leopard’s Fury. I really enjoyed it. My favorite book in the series was the second book, Burning Wild. These males are at the top of the animal chain. As leopards and as men. They protect their women fiercely even when they don’t want protection. The women are fierce in their own right. Weak women can’t mate with a leopard and these women are ferocious. They protect their men just as their mates protect them. I’ve always loved that dynamic. This is one of my favorite shape-shifter series.

Sunday Spotlight: Leopard’s Run by Christine FeehanLeopard's Run (A Leopard Novel, #10) by Christine Feehan
Series: Leopard People #10
Also in this series: , Cat's Lair, Leopard's Fury
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: November 6, 2018
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 432
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

He keeps his emotions on a tight leash, but she can see the desire burning in his eyes...

Timur Amurov has one purpose in life: protect his family at all costs. With lethal skills honed from a violent upbringing, Timur is a leopard shifter who sees any newcomers as possible threats--and the petite blond barista who his sister-in-law, Evangeline, has hired to work in her bakery is definitely hiding something. While Timur still needs to determine if Ashe is an enemy, he does know that she is the only woman whose presence has ever truly calmed the beast roaring inside of him.

Ashe Bronte is well aware she has a type: sexy, gorgeous and dangerous as hell. Despite the fact that Timur is all those things and more, Ashe is in San Antonio for reasons that do not involve getting wild with a ruthless leopard--and she cannot afford to make any mistakes. But Timur has ignited something deep within her, and even though she knows she should keep her distance, every move he makes has her craving a taste...

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

Excerpt from LEOPARD’S RUN by Christine Feehan

He stalked across the kitchen, straight toward Ashe. She backed up until she hit the far wall. He pinned her there, using his larger body and a hand on either side of her head. She dipped her head low so he could only see the top with all that thick hair gleaming like silk beneath the lights.

“Look at me.”

She shook her head and put both palms on his chest as if she could push him away from her, but she didn’t try. “Go away. I mean it. We’re not doing this.”

“Look at me, Ashe.” He kept his voice low. This close to her, his body reacted. Even his cat reacted, rising, purring, wanting to be even closer to his mate. How could either of them help it when her scent enveloped them?

“I can’t.”

“I’m not going anywhere without kissing you.”

“You know what happens when you kiss me.” She mumbled it, a small sigh of resignation in her voice.

“Do you know what happens when I don’t kiss you?” He dipped his head and brushed little kisses into the silk of her hair. “My cat is a mean bastard. I’m just like him. You mellow us both out. You don’t want me shoving commuters off the train, do you?”

Her laughter was sweet music and some of the tight knots in his gut unraveled at the sound. “Look at me, baby.” He coaxed her rather than ordered her.

She tilted her head and those long lashes lifted so that he found himself drowning in her eyes. He took her mouth immediately, his tongue sweeping across her silken lips to demand entry. At once she gave it to him, as if she couldn’t help herself. He took over, needing the fire she stored there, feeding on it, feeling the burn spread like a firestorm through his body.

It took discipline—and a few minutes—to raise his head enough to press his forehead tight against hers. “Don’t leave, Ashe. Give me some time to sort through all of this. Just stay here with Evangeline where I know both of you are safe and let me do what I do best.”

She was silent, struggling, like him, to catch her breath. He pulled her into his arms and held her. Close. Wanting to shelter her. Needing to know she was safe. She was already becoming something he knew he would never give up. Not because of his cat, but for himself. He’d never expected to have a woman. He’d never expected to feel the things he was feeling. He wanted to think it was all physical because the chemistry between them was so explosive, but he had to admit, if only to himself, that other emotions were suddenly overwhelming when he was close to her.

What was it about her that appealed to him? Her fight? Her abilities to shift gears, sliding from one skin to the other so easily? One moment she was all feminine power and the next she was a clawing cat, fighting her way out of a bad situation. Then she could be compassionate, genuinely worried about the problems she might have brought Evangeline, but she had brought those problems deliberately. He liked all of that in her. He needed a woman who could be ruthless and yet yield to him.

“Don’t steal my heart, Timur,” she whispered against his chest. “I know your type. You say all the right things and you do them—” She broke off and shook her head, once more looking up at him. “You’re a dangerous man. Very scary. Evangeline and her husband might not be what I was looking for, but you’re that man.”

He wouldn’t lie to her. “I am.” He knew what she meant. He was exactly that man. He’d always be that man in order to keep his brother, Evangeline and now Ashe safe. He was the kind of man who could kiss his woman, laying his heart at her feet, and then go torture and kill an enemy to ensure those he loved survived another day.

Posted by arrangement with Berkley, a member of Penguin Group (USA) LLC, A Penguin Random House Company. Copyright © Christine Feehan, 2018.

Leopard People

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Gleam widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: November 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About Christine Feehan

Christine Feehan is a #1 New York Times bestselling author multiple times over with her portfolio including over 40 published novels, including five series; Leopard Series, Dark Series, Ghostwalker Series, Drake Sisters Series, & the Sisters of the Heart Series. All five series hit the #1 spot on the New York Times bestselling list as well. Her debut novel Dark Prince received 3 of the 9 Paranormal Excellence Awards in Romantic Literature (PEARL) in 1999. Since then she has been published by various publishing houses including Leisure Books, Pocket Books, and currently is writing for Berkley/Jove. She also has earned 7 more PEARL awards since Dark Prince.


Tagged: , ,

Review: Dark Sentinel by Christine Feehan

Posted September 20, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: Dark Sentinel by Christine FeehanReviewer: Casee
Dark Sentinel (Dark #28) by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #28
Also in this series: Dark Nights (Dark #6.5, #9.5), Dark Wolf (Dark, #25), Dark Promises (Dark, #29), Dark Carousel (Dark, #30), Dark Legacy (Dark, #31), Dark Slayer (Dark, #17)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-stars

In an explosive novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan, a human woman ignites the desire of her Carpathian lifemate--and of an ancient vampire with a score to settle.

After the devastating loss of her entire family, Lorraine Peters heads to the woods searching for peace of mind and anything to quell the anger in her soul. Instead, she stumbles upon a scene of horrific violence, as one man lies helpless in the face of three attackers.

Andor Katona's existence has been a harsh one, living for centuries as a monk in the Carpathian Mountains. Unable to find his lifemate, he almost welcomes his release from a colorless and unfeeling world at the hands of the vampire hunters who have mistaken him for their prey. That is, until a whirling ball of fury bursts onto the scene, determined to save him.

In one glimpse, in one breath, Andor recognizes Lorraine as his lifemate, but it will take more than their telepathic connection to convince her of their immortal bond. Lorraine is a lethal combination of cunning and courage. So much so that she captures the attention of a master vampire, one who has already lost what was once irreplaceable to him. One who will strike with deadly precision at Andor and his ancient Carpathian comrades in a war to end all wars. . .

This book was unusual in comparison to the other books in the series. I’m not sure how I feel about it. There were certainly things that bothered me, but for the life of me I can’t remember if anything like it has happened in a previous book. I can’t imagine it hasn’t.

Lorraine Peters is like few of Feehan’s heroines. She literally exploded onto the page with a saucepan and kicked some ass when she found someone trying to murder Andor. She didn’t know who he was, she just knew that she wasn’t going to stand by and allow murder if she could help it. Lorraine had no reason to think that Andor was different, but she finds herself stuffing his mortal wounds with soil instead of cleaning them out like she would on a human. She knows something is different, but all she can focus on is that she can’t let Andor die.

Lorraine is in the mountains trying to come to peace with what her life has become. After her parents, uncle, and aunt were murdered by her beloved brother, he turned the gun on himself. There was no explanation, no reasoning, nothing to think that Teddy was going to do what he did (or so she thought). After the murder-suicide, Lorraine’s friends started dropping out of her life one by one until she has no one. No friends and no family. Going up into the mountains alone is her gift to herself. She knows that she can’t continue on with the anger she has in her heart. She has to find a way to forgive Teddy for what he did and forgive her parents for not telling her that her brother was on steroids.

Andor is one of the few Ancients left of the Carpathian race. He and his fellow Ancients locked themselves up, away from humans and their own people in a monastery with no intention of every leaving. They are Ancients that have too much honor to meet the dawn or turn to become the undead. Now one of their own has found his lifemate, giving the Ancients hope that their own lifemates might be out there in the world, though not too much hope.

There is something afoot with the vampires that are now under the rule of Sergey Malinov. They come after Lorraine like a tsunami, sacrificing themselves for a reason that Andor, nor the other Ancients know. What is strange is the way the vampires have organized themselves. Along with Tariq and Gary, the Ancients are determined to find out why there has been such a sudden interest in Lorraine when she is virtually unknown.

My biggest problem with this book is that Andor tied Lorraine to him with the Carpathian ritual without her permission. I know that has happened before, but this time she was actively trying to stop him. He just ignored her. WTAF is that about?????? After that, all is not well between the two of them. Which I imagine made the whole thing easier to swallow. Honestly, I’m not sure.

The best part of the book was the setup for what I hope is the next book. Of course it’s too soon to tell if I’m right. Which I probably am not.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Dark Series

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

Sunday Spotlight: Dark Sentinel by Christine Feehan

Posted September 2, 2018 by Holly in Features | 8 Comments

Sunday Spotlight is a feature we began in 2016. This year we’re spotlighting our favorite books, old and new. We’ll be raving about the books we love and being total fangirls. You’ve been warned. 🙂

Sunday Spotlight

I (Casee) am a diehard fan of this series. There is not much that could make me stop reading this series. I’m in it until the bitter, bitter end. I’m really excited to see where Feehan takes this series as it is apparent that she has started a new story arc. Her books can get monotonous so it is past time to shake things up. I believe that is what she is trying to do here.

Sunday Spotlight: Dark Sentinel by Christine FeehanDark Sentinel (Dark #28) by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #28
Also in this series: Dark Nights (Dark #6.5, #9.5), Dark Wolf (Dark, #25), Dark Promises (Dark, #29), Dark Carousel (Dark, #30), Dark Legacy (Dark, #31), Dark Slayer (Dark, #17), Dark Sentinel (Dark #28)
Publisher: Berkley Books
Publication Date: September 4, 2018
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

In an explosive novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan, a human woman ignites the desire of her Carpathian lifemate--and of an ancient vampire with a score to settle.

After the devastating loss of her entire family, Lorraine Peters heads to the woods searching for peace of mind and anything to quell the anger in her soul. Instead, she stumbles upon a scene of horrific violence, as one man lies helpless in the face of three attackers.

Andor Katona's existence has been a harsh one, living for centuries as a monk in the Carpathian Mountains. Unable to find his lifemate, he almost welcomes his release from a colorless and unfeeling world at the hands of the vampire hunters who have mistaken him for their prey. That is, until a whirling ball of fury bursts onto the scene, determined to save him.

In one glimpse, in one breath, Andor recognizes Lorraine as his lifemate, but it will take more than their telepathic connection to convince her of their immortal bond. Lorraine is a lethal combination of cunning and courage. So much so that she captures the attention of a master vampire, one who has already lost what was once irreplaceable to him. One who will strike with deadly precision at Andor and his ancient Carpathian comrades in a war to end all wars. . .

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE || KOBO

Excerpt

She frowned. His heart clenched hard in his chest. He had never thought in terms of cute or adorable. They were silly words humans came up with to describe children. Lorraine was not a child by any means. Nothing about her suggested a child, yet that frown, to him, was adorable. There was no other word for it.

He was fascinated by every expression that crossed her face. Every thought she had in her head. He wanted to know every single thing about her life before he was with her. More than anything, he wanted to comfort her and take away the pain he felt radiating from her every second she breathed. He was ashamed that he had considered ending his life, even for a moment. Had he done so, had he allowed the humans to succeed in killing him, she would have suffered alone.
“Andor, you don’t give up on life over a broken love affair.”

He could tell she wanted to say a lot more but had carefully chosen her words not to offend him. He couldn’t stop himself from reaching out and catching the thick strands of chestnut-colored hair between his fingers. It felt as silky as it looked. As soft. “So beautiful.” He murmured the words aloud. He thought them in his head. Tucked them somewhere close. Her hair was beautiful, but so was her soul. That half that she unknowingly held for him, it was beautiful as well. So much light in so small a package.

“Andor? This is important.”

So was feeling the silk of her hair and admiring the color. He hadn’t done such things in centuries. They were simple to her, but to him such things were miracles. “I’m listening, but you got it wrong, mica, I was looking for my woman. I hadn’t found her, and I was giving up. You’re absolutely right, though, I should never have even thought of giving up.” He was passing that advice on to his brethren. They needed to know their women would come to them in their darkest hour, or at the most unexpected time.

Relief softened the glint of temper in her eyes. He liked that fire in her. She would need it, dealing with their life together. She might want to stamp it out, but he knew sometimes the flare of heat, directed in the right way, could win battles.

“Tell me about your life, Andor.”

He had known that question had been coming and didn’t want to lie to her. He didn’t want to scare her off, either. “My people are few and scattered. Most live in the Carpathian Mountains, but a few live here in the United States. I was scouting for any threats when I ran across the ones I . . .” He searched for a benign word, but couldn’t find one. He sighed. “Hunted. I was hunting for the enemy. I didn’t expect so many and that is how I was wounded so severely.”

She was silent for so long he wasn’t certain she was going to speak. Her eyes stayed glued to his. She didn’t look away, nor did she look as if she didn’t believe him. “You don’t believe in the police.” There was no sarcasm in her eventual comment, merely a statement of fact.

He couldn’t stop himself from playing with her hair, running it through his fingers and bringing it occasionally to his face so he could inhale her scent. She was out in the wilderness camping and she still smelled feminine and good enough to devour. He tried to figure out the scents. Grapefruit for certain. Something else. It was faint. Elusive. A little wild.

“No. We have to handle things ourselves.”

Dark Series

Giveaway Alert

We’re giving one lucky winner their choice of one of our Sunday Spotlight books. Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter for one of this month’s features.

Sunday Spotlight: September 2018

Are you as excited for this release as we are? Let us know how excited you are and what other books you’re looking forward to this year!

About the Author

Christine Feehan

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | YOUTUBE | PINTEREST | GOODREADS

Christine Feehan is a #1 New York Times bestselling author multiple times over with her portfolio including over 40 published novels, including five series; Leopard Series, Dark Series, Ghostwalker Series, Drake Sisters Series, & the Sisters of the Heart Series. All five series hit the #1 spot on the New York Times bestselling list as well. Her debut novel Dark Prince received 3 of the 9 Paranormal Excellence Awards in Romantic Literature (PEARL) in 1999. Since then she has been published by various publishing houses including Leisure Books, Pocket Books, and currently is writing for Berkley/Jove. She also has earned 7 more PEARL awards since Dark Prince.


Tagged: , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Dark Slayer by Christine Feehan

Posted August 16, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 10 Comments

Throwback Thursday Review: Dark Slayer by Christine FeehanDark Slayer (Dark, #17) by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #17
Also in this series: Dark Nights (Dark #6.5, #9.5), Dark Wolf (Dark, #25), Dark Promises (Dark, #29), Dark Carousel (Dark, #30), Dark Legacy (Dark, #31), Dark Sentinel (Dark #28)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 1, 2009
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 416
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
four-stars

A rumor has persisted in the vampire world of a dark slayer—a woman—who travels with a wolf pack and any among the vampires who meets her is slain. Mysterious, elusive and seemingly impossible to kill, she is the one hunter who strikes terror into the hearts of the vampires.

Ivory Malinov is that woman, betrayed by her own people, by her family, by everyone she held dear and she hunts during the night with only her pack to sustain her sanity. She has not spoken to or been with any other person for a hundred years other than to feed from or slay. She stumbles across a body on her way back to her lair and discovers—her lifemate.

He is Razvan, branded a hated criminal, detested, feared and loathed by all Carpathians—he is also a dragonseeker of one of the greatest lineages of all Carpathians. Held captive nearly his entire life by his grandfather, the Carpathians bitterest enemy, he is seeking the dawn to end his terrible existence.

This is a story of two people, horribly betrayed, wounded in spirit, fighters to the death, who must struggle to unite against a common enemy.

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

This review was originally posted on August 17, 2009

As I mention anytime I review a book in this series, Dark Prince was the first paranormal I ever read. Even with the monotony over the last few years, I still won’t stop reading this series. I think that Dark Slayer is a big turn for the series. CF finally closed a story arc that has been a long time in coming and has started a new one (which has been briefly touched upon). My hope is that it brings new life into the series.

Ivory Malinov has long been thought dead. Betrayed by the prince’s son (Mikhail’s brother), Ivory was cut up into little pieces and left for the wolves to feed on. Yes, I realize this is disgusting and it made me cringe a little each time Ivory thought/talked about it. Using her Carpathian ability to talk to the wolves, she convinced them to bury the pieces of her with a promise that she would take care of their pack “for all time”. [A little side note: That phrase is WAY overused. It really gets old.] So Ivory has to stay in the soil for centuries so she can put the pieces back together. When she rises, her only mission is to hunt the vampire. She has gotten so good at killing the vampire that they refer to her as the Dark Slayer.

When she is heading back to her lair, she sees a Carpathian lying in the snow. She instantly knows that he is her lifemate and she is compelled to get him to safety. The last thing Razvan wants is to be saved. He has finally escaped the mage, Xavier, and there is nothing more he wants than to die. In earlier books, I would compare Razvan to The Ghost in Nalini‘s Psy/Changeling series. You never quite knew if he was good or bad. Right when you think he was good, he did something bad. It was very confusing. So obviously we now know that Razvan is good. Not only that, but he has been horribly abused and used for centuries.

While Ivory and Razvan silently agree not to complete the ritual that would make them lifemates, they decide that they will bring Xavier down together. Razvan is hesitant at first b/c Xavier has been able to possess him at will and Razvan doesn’t want to hurt Ivory. She convinces him that he is stronger than he has ever been and he can beat Xavier.

So the story arc of Xavier comes to an end in this book, which was nice. The problem with the infant mortality rate is also addressed further. I think that will be prominent in the books to come. What is obvious is that Ivory’s brothers (all vampires) have banded together to bring down Mikhail. Since vampires are usually solitary creatures, it should make for an interesting arc.

This is one of the better books of the series. I went back and re-read some and there are only a select few heroines I like. Ivory is definitely one of them.

4.25 out of 5.

This book is available from Berkley.

Dark Series

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Release Day Spotlight: Dark Challenge by Christine Feehan

Posted June 26, 2018 by Rowena in Giveaways, Promotions | 2 Comments

Christine Feehan is re-releasing the fifth book in her Dark series and Dark Challenge is out today! The Dark series is wildly popular and has over 20+ books in the series.

Release Day Spotlight: Dark Challenge by Christine FeehanDark Challenge (Dark Series #5) by Christine Feehan
Series: Dark Series #5
Also in this series: Dark Nights (Dark #6.5, #9.5), Dark Wolf (Dark, #25), Dark Promises (Dark, #29), Dark Carousel (Dark, #30), Dark Legacy (Dark, #31), Dark Slayer (Dark, #17), Dark Sentinel (Dark #28)
Publisher: Harper Collins, Avon
Publication Date: June 26, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 400
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads

Julian Savage was golden. Powerful. But tormented. For the brooding hunter walked alone. Always alone, far from his Carpathian kind, alien to even his twin. Like his name, his existence was savage. Until he met the woman he was sworn to protect…. When Julian heard Desari sing, rainbows swamped his starving senses. Emotions bombarded his hardened heart. And a dark hunger to possess her flooded his loins, blinding him to the danger stalking him. And even as Desari enflamed him, she dared to defy him - with mysterious, unparalleled feminine powers. Was Desari more than his perfect mate? Julian had met his match in this woman, but would she drive him to madness…or save his soul?

We have a couple of paperback copies to give away to two lucky readers. Please use the Gleam giveaway widget below to enter.

Good luck!

 

Order the Book:

AMAZON || BARNES AND NOBLE

Dark Series

Giveaway Alert

Re-Release Day Spotlight: Dark Challenge

About the Author

Christine Feehan

WEBSITE | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | GOODREADS

Christine Feehan is a #1 New York Times bestselling author multiple times over with her portfolio including over 70 published novels, including five series; Dark Series, Ghostwalker Series, Leopard Series, Drake Sisters Series, the Sisters of the Heart Series and Torpedo Ink. All of her series have hit the #1 spot on the New York Times bestselling list as well. Her debut novel Dark Prince received 3 of the 9 Paranormal Excellence Awards in Romantic Literature (PEARL) in 1999. Since then she has been published by various publishing houses including Leisure Books, Pocket Books, and currently is writing for Berkley/Jove. She also has earned 7 more PEARL awards since Dark Prince.


Tagged: , , , , ,