Author: Catherine Anderson

What Are You Reading? (+ Catherine Anderson Giveaway)

Posted March 22, 2019 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

Casee: I am currently in between books. I finished Ride Steady (Chaos #3) by Kristen Ashley yesterday and OMG you guys. Joker. Sigh. I know he’s absolutely going to be in my top five heroes of 2019. I adored him. I haven’t had time to start a new book since I finished it, but I plan to start Sweet Dreams (Colorado Mountain #2) by Kristen Ashley today. I love/hate Kristen Ashley. I’m not even questioning it (much) anymore. I’m binging her.

I’m listening to Getting Schooled (Getting Some #1) by Emma Chase. I love this book. It is hysterical! Garrett is so freaking funny. I love his inner dialogue. It’s all so perfect. I have zero complaints about this book thus far and I’m almost finished with it. I’m going to start listening to Magic Burns (Kate Daniels #2) by Ilona Andrews after I’m finished with Getting Schooled. I plan on listening to several audiobooks over the next week as I’m going on a road trip. I’m excited.

Holly: I finished Magic Bites and immediately started Magic Burns on audio. Then went right into Magic Strikes. Curse Casee and Rowena for starting me down this path. I plan to take a break after this to read some new books, though. I haven’t read anything new since I finished xo, Zach by Kendall Ryan (it was pretty bad, the heroine got on my nerves something fierce). I’ve just been re-reading. I finished Ride Steady by Kristen Ashley and read the Curran POV shorts and 2 KD novellas. That’s it. I need to dedicate some serious time to reading this weekend.

Rowena: I’ve been in Utah this week for a short getaway from my real life. I’m spending time with my nephew Caiden who turned 2 yesterday. I thought I would have read a lot more since I’ve had a lot of time on my hands this week but that didn’t happen. I chose to spend as much time as I could with Caiden so I only finished Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton. I did start The Right Swipe (Modern Dating #1) by Alisha Rai. So far, it’s good so I’m hoping to finish it up this weekend. Wish me luck.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Catherine Anderson Giveaway)The Christmas Room by Catherine Anderson
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 25, 2018
Format: Print
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 400
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Mystic Creek series comes a standalone contemporary romance novel full of homespun holiday cheer--now in mass market!

Maddie McLendon hasn't had a new relationship since the loss of her beloved husband two years ago. Broken by grief and desperate for a new start, Maddie moves to Bitterroot Valley, Montana, with her adult son and her grandson. But despite the natural beauty of her new town, not every change in her life is a welcome one. Maddie's new next-door neighbor, Sam Conacher, used to be a pillar of the community, but he has driven old friends and new acquaintances away due to a recent heartbreak of his own. He seems to intrude on her life at every turn.

As Christmas draws closer, Sam's and Maddie's grown children begin to fall in love, but Maddie and Sam's interactions are punctuated by an increasingly bitter attitude. Under unexpected circumstances, the other townsfolk of Bitterroot Valley band together to show both Maddie and Sam that moving past their grief is possible, and burdens are lightened when you have someone else to depend on.

What Are You Reading: The Christmas Room

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Review: Summer Breeze by Catherine Anderson

Posted October 18, 2018 by Holly in Reviews | 1 Comment

Throwback Thursday Review: Summer Breeze by Catherine AndersonReviewer: Holly
Summer Breeze (Keegan-Paxton #3) by Catherine Anderson
Series: Keegan-Paxton #3
Publisher: Signet
Publication Date: January 3, 2006
Format: Print
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Genres: Historical Romance, Westerns
Pages: 421
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
five-stars
Series Rating: five-stars

The year is 1889, and Rachel Hollister hasn't set foot outside her house in five years. Ever since a savage attack left her family dead, she's cordoned herself off from the outside world, afraid to let anyone into her home—or into her heart. But now trouble has appeared on her doorstep—and suddenly she has no choice but to let a handsome rancher invade her well-guarded existence ...

Confirmed bachelor Joseph Paxton grudgingly offers to take up temporary residence at the Hollister ranch—even though it's obvious Rachel doesn't want his protection. But once he catches a glimpse of his beautiful young ward and her remarkable spirit, he'll do anything to break through the dark spell that's walled off her heart. It may take a miracle, but he's determined to make her see the refuge he's offering in his embrace—and the splendor that exists beyond her front door. Otherwise he'll just have to build a safe haven big enough for the both of them ...

Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy!

While looking through old posts I came across this one for Summer Breeze by Catherine Anderson. I remember the warm, sweet feeling I was left with after I finished this book. I’m not sure it would work as well for me if I read it now, but it will always hold a special place in my heart.

This review was originally published August 7, 2006

What an amazing love story.

We all fear something. Whether we have a true phobia – such as my fear of ‘S’ words (don’t ask) – or just something that makes us break out in goosebumps, we all know what it’s like to be afraid of something.

Rachel Hollister’s fear is that of being in an open space. Her family was brutally murdered right in front of her while they were out for a picnic. As a result, she hasn’t stepped outside her home in five years.

Her faithful friend, the elderly Darby, has done everything in his power to make her a sanctuary inside her home. He barricaded all the windows and doors and converted her kitchen into as comfortable a place as possible for her.

Though Rachel knows her fears are irrational, they’re there all the same, and she can’t overcome them. She refuses to leave her small kitchen for any reason, and can’t even open a door or window to allow sunlight in. For five long years she lived in absolute silence, with no natural light.

To keep herself occupied, she read books and crocheted. She spoke with Darby through the door of her home and that was the only company she had.

Until Darby is shot in the back and manages to ride to the neighboring Paxton ranch in search of help. Joseph Paxton finds him and promises to look after Rachel. Darby is convinced his being shot has something to do with the murder of Rachel’s family and fears for her safety.

As Joseph breaks into Rachel’s home, he expects to find a crazy young woman, and instead encounters a lovely creature he’s immediately taken with. He comes to realize that Rachel isn’t crazy at all, only frightened.

Watching this story unfold has been a wonderful experience for me. Seeing Joseph do everything in his power to make Rachel’s world one filled with sunlight and birdsong really touched me.

Since Rachel’s fear is based on open spaces, Joseph hits upon the idea of installing metal doors with bars on them so she can enjoy the sunlight and still feel enclosed. Then one of the town’s populace hits upon the idea of building her a stone-walled courtyard with an iron-work ceiling so it’s completely enclosed, therefore allowing Rachel to be outside. They called it:

“Sunshine for Rachel.”

Watching Rachel emerge from her self-imposed prison and into the sunshine for the first time in five years made my heart swell and my eyes sting with tears. Joseph’s reaction to Rachel in the sunshine touched me more deeply than any other tender moment in a romance novel. I could feel their emotions as she turned her face to the sun for the first time in so many years.

She was halfway across the courtyard before it struck her that she was outside. Oh, God, outside. She staggered to a stop, frozen in her tracks. Her heart pounded violently. But nothing else happened. She could still breathe. She just felt a little dizzy and disoriented. “Joseph?”
“You’re fine, sweetheart. You’ve got walls all around you. Look at them. Name me anything that can go through that rock.”
She let her head fall back to put her face up to the sun. The gentle warmth on her skin was beyond wonderful. She held her arms wide and turned again, filling her lungs with fresh, cool morning air.

Joseph asks Rachel to marry him and the following scene is so touching. Rachel refuses him, saying she can’t have a family living the way she does.

“What would I do? Push them out the wood safe to see them off to school?” She gestured with her free hand the encompass the kitchen. “A family can’t live in one room.”
“I’ll make it work,” he whispered. “I swear to you, darlin’. I can make it work. No hallways to frighten you, just a big room like this with water closets all around, only they’ll be bedrooms, with you in the big room, living as you do now, never needing to go outside unless it’s to sit in your courtyard or work in your flower beds.”

The murder of her family was left unsolved all those years ago, and Joseph and his lawman brother David set out to find the missing pieces of the puzzle, hoping to keep Rachel safe and finally give her closure.

The story was sweet and amazing and one of the most touching I’ve read in a long time. It’s not very often that you read a murder-mystery that’s sweet and compelling as well.

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the book. Something Joseph said to Rachel that touched my heart.

When I first met you, I thought I was opening up the world for you, but I was so wrong. You were the one who opened up all of my windows so I could see the beauty beyond the glass.

5 out of 5

Keegan-Paxton

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Contemporary Giveaway)

Posted May 18, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I love Lexi Blake, but I just wasn’t getting into Order of Protection. I know it’s going to be a good book, but I’m really into paranormal right now.

Last week Holly sent me an email about Faith’s Vampire by Rebecca Zanetti which is an upcoming book in her Dark Protectors series. That series has always been on my radar, but I have never started it. I decided that I should give it a go so I went onto Amazon to buy Fated, the first book in the series. Imagine my surprise when Amazon told me that I purchased Fated in 2015. That was a pleasant surprise. It only took me three days to read it. I love Dark Protectors world! I’m reading Claimed now, which is the second book in the series. Zanetti also has another paranormal series called the Realm Enforcers. I’ll probably glom that after I’m done with the Dark Protectors. I’m pretty excited right now. I have a lot of paranormals to read.

Holly: I finished listening to Burn for You by J.T. Geissinger this week. The narrator was fabulous and really made the book for me. I loved it. I re-read Ride Steady by Kristen Ashley. After that I spent the week reading The Warrior Chronicles by K.F. Breene. So far I’ve read Chosen, Hunted, Shadow Lands, Invasion and I’m listening to Siege now. I’m really enjoying the series. The heroine is a kickass warrior and all the novels are action packed. I am starting to become irritated by some small things, however, so I’ll probably take a break after I finish this book.

Rowena: It’s a slow reading week for me. I haven’t finished any books but I am reading Speakeasy by Sarina Bowen. It’s slow going, but I’m reading it. It’s not the book at all but my mood. I’m just not in the mood for books. Send help!

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Contemporary Giveaway)The Christmas Room by Catherine Anderson

Publication Date: September 26, 2017
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 432
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

The beloved author of the Mystic Creek series gifts readers with a novel of homespun holiday cheer, as two families discover the joy of hope and redemption....

Widow Maddie McLendon has uprooted her life to move to Rustlers Gulch with her son and grandson. But as a brutal Montana winter looms on the horizon, contractors have yet to break ground on their new house, leaving them to live in a makeshift camp of trailers, tents, and sheds....

Since his wife died six years ago, millionaire rancher Sam Conacher has been content to wallow in his grief alone while keeping a tight rein on his twenty-six-year-old daughter. But now the girl has gone and fallen in love with his foolish new neighbor's no-good son....

Maddie and Sam will never see eye to eye on anything, until a near-tragedy gives them a true glimpse into each other's souls. And as the first snowflakes begin to fall, they'll discover that an open heart is the biggest gift of all....

 
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

Guest Review: Coming Up Roses by Catherine Anderson

Posted February 24, 2016 by Judith in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Coming Up Roses by Catherine AndersonReviewer: Judith
Coming Up Roses by Catherine Anderson
Publisher: Signet
Publication Date: May 1st 2012
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
five-stars

1890, Oregon. Recently widowed Kate Blakely is struggling to make ends meet on her small farm while trying to heal from the scars of her late husband’s cruelty. When her handsome, brawny neighbor, Zachariah McGovern, almost dies while saving her four-year-old daughter from a near fatal accident, Kate is deeply wary of the man she brings into her home to nurse back to health.

Gradually Kate realizes that underneath Zach’s rough exterior is a gentle, loving soul who is fiercely protective of her and her daughter. But as much as Zach longs for Kate’s love, she knows she can’t open her heart without revealing her darkest secret—a shocking truth that, if discovered, could destroy them both.

This novel was first released in 1993 but was re-issued with a new look and some re-editing in 2012.  It was a book I read many years ago but having just been re-introduced to it I felt it was worth bringing it to the attention of romance readers and especially those who liked historical romance set in 19th century America.

Ms Anderson is very open about the fact that this novel was originally written because of her social concern regarding abused women and children and the historical reality that still exists in American society that women bring such abuse upon themselves.  It is her continuing concern that those who have the training to counsel such women often have prejudice against the very victims they should be helping.  The historical context of this story is such that help for abuse victims just simply didn’t exist and after being abused by parents and/or spouses these same women and children were held up to further abuse by society itself.  Such was the case of the widow whose story unfolds in this novel.  Given in marriage to what turned out to be an emotionally and mentally unbalanced man by her concerned uncle, Katherine Blakely lived in hell for five years until her husband’s accidental death.  Because her husband had hidden his abuse behind words of defamation of Katherine as a “weak-minded, hysterical” female, her efforts to flee his abuse were thwarted time and again.  She was dead set against ever marrying again when her neighbor Zachariah McGovern came into her life and saved her daughter’s life when the little girl fell down a dry well that was populated by an entire colony of rattle snakes.  An extended time of nursing Mr. McGovern back to health literally from the brink of death meant that these two individuals had time to take each other’s measure and their lives slowly became involved.  However, her brother-in-law, Ryan Blakely, a man who is just as unbalanced as his dead brother, continues to make Katherine’s life a fear-filled and difficult thing.

This is a truly wonderful read.  There is no way a reader can be exposed to these characters without feeling their anxiety, fear, sense of hopelessness, even their glimmers of hope that possibly there was a new beginning for them.  Yet it seems that life continually smacked them down and readers will be experiencing those disappointments right along with Kathering, Zach, and her daughter.  There are unexpected developments and twists and turns in this story that keep the reader well involved in the story.  There is never the sense that it is all unrealistic.  A careful study of this time will support the happenings here and readers will catch a good look of what it was like to live in 19th century Oregon as a widow with a small child.  Their sense of safety, their legal rights were almost non-existent.  It is these realities that make this story so riveting along with Zach McGovern’s absolute determination to protect and be a part of Katherine and her daughter’s life.

If you haven’t read this story before, it is one all historical romance lovers need to read.  It you read this novel previously, it needs to be re-read.  It is a wonderful piece of writing, a story well told, and people worth meeting.  It is, quite simply, a splendid read.

I give it a rating of 5 out of 5

five-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,