Author: Anne Gracie

Guest Review: Marry in Scandal by Anne Gracie

Posted April 16, 2018 by Tracy in Reviews | 1 Comment

Guest Review: Marry in Scandal by Anne GracieReviewer: Tracy
Marry in Scandal by Anne Gracie
Series: Marriage of Convenience #2
Published by Berkley
Publication Date: April 3rd 2018
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 320
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Shy young heiress, Lady Lily Rutherford, is in no hurry to marry. She dreams of true love and a real courtship. But when disaster strikes, she finds herself facing a scandal-forced marriage to her rescuer, Edward Galbraith, a well known rake.

Despite his reputation Lily is drawn to the handsome Galbraith. In the gamble of her life, she agrees to marry him, hoping to turn a convenient marriage into a love match.

As heir to a title, Galbraith knows he must wed, so a convenient marriage suits him perfectly. But there is a darkness in his past, and secrets he refuses to share with his tender-hearted young bride. All Lily's efforts to get close to him fall on stony ground, and in desperation she retreats to his childhood home—the place he's avoided for nearly a decade.

Must Lily reconcile herself to a marriage without love? Or will Galbraith realize that this warm-hearted, loving girl is the key to healing the wounds of his past—and his heart?

Lily is an heiress and while a husband would be nice, she definitely wants to marry for love.  Her brother married for convenience, but that match turned into true love. After seeing love at work in her home, she definitely wants that for herself.  Unfortunately there are others who have something else in mind.  Lily is tricked into thinking her sister needs help and kidnapped by a man who only wants Lily for her money.  She manages to escape and is saved by Lord Galbraith, a friend of her brothers.  Despite all the machinations to keep Lily’s identity a secret it only took one person seeing her to ruin her reputation.

Galbraith is a rake (at least we are told he is, we see no evidence of this in the book) and as such, not the marrying kind.  He is, however, the heir to a title so he knows he must marry eventually.  When he realizes that Lily’s reputation has been compromised, although they did nothing but kiss, he offers for her.  Galbraith tries everything he can to keep away from Lily because her softness draws him like a bee to honey.  He can’t let himself get in deep with the woman as he has serious secrets and guilt from his past. He can’t keep himself away for too long, however.

I loved Lily in this book.  She was clever and smart and tough.  She put up with a whole hell of a lot in the first part of this book but she didn’t just sit back and let it happen. She saved herself and I was so proud of her!  Her father had made her think she was an idiot because she couldn’t read (I’m assuming dyslexia) and that had been carried with her throughout the years.  She had a good head on her shoulders.  When it came to Galbraith I was happy that she stood up for what she wanted (him) and didn’t let him get away.  I liked her strength of character.

Despite Galbraith supposedly being a rake he was actually quite a gentleman and honorable.  He helped Lily when she needed it and made every effort to protect her.  When he couldn’t he stepped up to the plate.  He had some issues that were worked out in the book and they played a part in the making of his personality, but they got smoothed out in the end.  He really was a good man and I liked him a lot.

Another great book from Anne Gracie!  I’m not sure how I missed the first book in this series when it released but I did.  Despite that I didn’t feel like I needed to read it in order to read this book.  There were a few times that events from the previous book were mentioned that I didn’t understand, but they were so minor I wasn’t worried I was missing anything.   Definitely a book I’d recommend.

Marriage of Convenience

Rating: 4 out of 5

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Spring Bride by Anne Gracie

Posted June 22, 2015 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Spring Bride by Anne GracieReviewer: Tracy
The Spring Bride by Anne Gracie
Series: The Chance Sisters #3
Also in this series: The Winter Bride
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: June 2, 2015
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

On the eve of the London Season, Jane Chance is about to make her entrance into high society. And after a childhood riddled with poverty and hardship, Jane intends to make a good, safe, sensible marriage. All goes according to plan until a dark, dangerous vagabond helps her rescue a dog.

Zachary Black is all kinds of unsuitable—a former spy, now in disguise, he’s wanted for murder. His instructions: to lie low until his name is cleared. But Zach has never followed the rules, and he wants Jane Chance for his own.

If that means blazing his way into London society, in whatever guise suits him, that’s what he’ll do. Jane knows she shouldn’t fall in love with this unreliable, if devastatingly attractive, rogue. But Zach is determined—and he‘s a man accustomed to getting what he wants.

Tracy’s review of The Spring Bride (Chance Sisters #3) by Anne Gracie

Jane Chance’s two older sisters are married to the men that they fell in love with. Of course those sisters want her to find love as well, but that’s not what Jane wants – at least that’s what she tells herself. Her parents came from good families but each of their families wanted them to marry other people. When they chose love over their families they were both disowned. Jane grew up knowing her parents were in love but they were destitute. Jane wants children of her own and as much as she appreciates that her parents were in love she wants to raise children with the security of knowing that they will never have to worry about where they will sleep at night or if they’ll have enough food. To this end Jane accepts a marriage proposal from a man that will give her the security she craves. She doesn’t love him but maybe she will grow to love him in time.

Zachary Black has returned to England, after 12 years, at the behest of his best friend. He finds that his cousin is on the cusp of having Zach declared dead. He can easily prove who he is but finds out that when he does he will be arrested for a murder that he supposedly committed 12 years earlier, but did not. He’s been a spy for his government for the past eight years and has had to blend in constantly so when his friend tells him that he needs to lie low so that no one will recognize him he stays in his gypsy disguise.

While in disguise and out walking in London Zach saves Jane from some street thugs. She was in an alley rescuing a dog and the thugs turned on her. Zach is mesmerized by Jane so when she asks him to walk the dog to her house he accepts. From then on every day that Jane walks the dog in the park by her house Zach is there waiting to walk with her. He loves talking to her and he soon discovers he has feeling for her. Unfortunately he has this whole murder thing hanging over his head and then he finds out that Jane is engaged. He decides that he needs to do whatever it takes to get the woman he loves to be with him but there might be too many obstacles standing in his way.

The Spring Bride is a relatively simple story but so very sweet I just loved it. Yes, there was the murder charge hanging over Zach’s head and the ease which he believed it would be cleared didn’t exactly pan out, but other than that there wasn’t a whole lot of angst in the book and I really appreciated that.

Seeing Zach and Jane getting to know each other and seeing their feelings for each other grow just warmed my heart. Yes, Jane was stubborn at times but I understood her fears that had to do with safety and security. She really wanted the whole package – the love and the security – but was too afraid to let herself hope for that. Because of that she believed that accepting the proposal of Lord Cambury – who was a bit of a jerk – was the right thing to do. Even when she finally figured out that Cambury wasn’t who she wanted to marry she let him down very nicely and I admired her even more.

Zach was a wonderful hero. He was an intelligent man who had been blindsided by a woman and I loved seeing him felled by Jane. He had a good heart and I admired his strength as well. He’d been abused as a child but he had become a good, honorable man who definitely did not take after his father.

Overall the book was a lovely romance and one I very much enjoyed reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5

This title is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Review: The Winter Bride by Anne Gracie

Posted April 2, 2014 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Review: The Winter Bride by Anne GracieReviewer: Tracy
The Winter Bride by Anne Gracie
Series: The Chance Sisters #2
Also in this series: The Spring Bride
Published by Penguin
Publication Date: April 1st 2014
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Four young women face a life of destitution—until a daring act changes their fortune and turns them each into a beautiful bride.

Damaris Chance’s unhappy past has turned her off the idea of marriage forever. But her guardian, Lady Beatrice Davenham, convinces her to make her coming out anyway—and have a season of carefree, uncomplicated fun.

When Damaris finds herself trapped in a compromising situation with the handsome rake Freddy Monkton-Coombes, she has no choice but to agree to wed him—as long as it’s in name only. Her new husband seems to accept her terms, but Freddy has a plan of his own: to seduce his reluctant winter bride.

Will Damaris’s secrets destroy her chance at true happiness? Or can Freddy help her cast off the shackles of the past, and yield to delicious temptation?

Damaris is determined not to marry. Her guardian wants her to have a season but she’s not sure it’s a good idea. She has her reasons for not marrying and she’s sticking to her guns.

Freddy is a friend of Damaris’s brother-in-law and was asked to look after Damaris and her sisters while he’s on his honeymoon. Freddy wants nothing to do with it all but agrees anyway. As much as he says he wants nothing to do with the girls he’s been pretty much smitten with Damaris from the minute he saw her.

Freddy finds out that his mother is planning a house party and inviting tons of eligible women. She insists that he WILL get engaged during the party and on the last night, at the ball, announce his engagement. Freddy normally would just ignore his mother but she deviously planned the house party around the only day of the year he ever sets foot at home – the day of his brothers yearly memorial service. Freddy knows he can’t stay away from his home on that day but he doesn’t want to get engaged. What he does is ask Damaris to play his fiancé and act like they’re engaged so that his mother will cancel the party and it works.

Damaris is excited that Freddy plans on buying her a cottage in payment for the fake engagement but she hates lying to her sisters and guardian. In order to get away from it all Freddy makes an exception and takes her to his home (two weeks before the memorial service) to meet his parents.

During the time that Damaris and Freddy are at his home Damaris gets closer and closer to Freddy. She finds out info about him that puts new light on the way he acts in public and her heart opens to him and she falls in love. Unfortunately she still won’t allow herself to marry because of something horrible that happened in her past. Fortunately she finally tells Freddy and it all works out in the end.

This was such a great yet highly emotional book for me. I really love Gracie’s writing and this proved to be just as good as the other books of hers I’ve read.

The reason this one was so emotional for me, I think, was because of Freddy and all he’d gone through in his life. The guilt he’d carried around due to the death of his brother when he was just 12 and the nasty way his parents had treated him. His parents are HORRIBLE! They are vile and condescending and were two people who should never have had children. They treat Freddy like he doesn’t even exist in the world except to create an heir. Freddy is used to being treated as such – even though he doesn’t like it (he tries to hide that fact), but Damaris is appalled at the way that he’s treated and takes it upon herself to tell his parents what she thinks of them. I was totally cheering for Damaris when she did this, let me tell you. They deserved that and so much more!

Damaris’s background was also something that was not the greatest and the telling of her story made my heart hurt. She had been through so much and survived. She really was a strong woman and I admired her so much for that.

The romance between Freddy and Damaris was sweet and loving and I thoroughly enjoyed reading about it. This story is one, imho, that is not to be missed.

Rating: 4 out of 5

Anne Gracie

four-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Guest Review: The Autumn Bride by Anne Gracie

Posted February 26, 2013 by Tracy in Reviews | 0 Comments

Guest Review: The Autumn Bride by Anne GracieReviewer: Tracy
The Autumn Bride (Chance Sisters, #1) by Anne Gracie
Series: Chance Sisters #1
Published by Berkley Sensation
Publication Date: February 5th 2013
Genres: Historical Romance
Pages: 310
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
three-stars

Anne Gracie is “always terrific,”* and now the award-winning author delivers a brand-new series about four young women on the verge of destitution—until a daring act changes their fortune and transforms each of them into a glowing bride…

Governess Abigail Chantry will do anything to save her sister and two dearest friends from destitution, even if it means breaking into an empty mansion in the hope of finding something to sell. Instead of treasures, though, she finds the owner, Lady Beatrice Davenham, bedridden and neglected. Appalled, Abby rousts Lady Beatrice's predatory servants and—with Lady Beatrice's eager cooperation—the four young ladies become her “nieces,” neatly eliminating the threat of disaster for all concerned!

It's the perfect situation, until Lady Beatrice’s dashing and arrogant nephew, Max, Lord Davenham, returns from the Orient—and discovers an impostor running his household…

A romantic entanglement was never the plan for these stubborn, passionate opponents—but falling in love may be as inevitable as the falling of autumn leaves...    *Mary Jo Putney

Abby is an orphan and is a governess. She’s shocked when she’s on her way back to her employers house one day after her half day off and is stopped by a woman saying that she knows Abby’s sister and she’s come to Abby for help. It seems that Jane, the sister, was on her way to be a vicar’s wife’s companion when she was drugged and kidnapped and taken to a brothel for auction. Abby gets her out in time along with another girl, Damaris who helped Jane and Daisy, the cockney girl who worked at the brothel (as a maid) and had gotten Abby.

After Abby has to leave her job the four girls are living together and trying to survive. They try to get jobs but it doesn’t work out and when Jane gets sick Abby gets desperate. She’s seen the house next door and there’s a window open and no light ever goes on in it. She thinks to climb over, get into the house and steal something that she can then sell to help Jane. When she gets to the house she finds nothing of value to steal and a little old lady in the bedroom who is slowly dying from neglect and starvation. Things happen and next thing you know Abby and the girls are living with the little old woman, Lady Beatrice Davenham, and there’s lives have changed considerably. The girls consider themselves sisters and Lady Bea tells everyone they’re her nieces.

Lord Davenham has been away for 9 years when a letter about his aunt has him heading back to England. He finds the girls and of course assumes that they are the ones that are hurting his aunt. Matters get worked out but the trust isn’t high between the girls and Max – especially with Abby. Abby and Max have an attraction to each other but Max promised himself in marriage to a girl 9 years ago and now he has to honor his word and marry her – even if he wants Abby.

The majority of this book, for me, was taken up with Abby, her sisters and Lady Bea. That was actually A-Ok with me as I liked the five of them so very much. Lady Bea had pluck and she wasn’t afraid to tell people what she thought. Now she did get taken advantage of and had hit a low spot but with the Chance sisters help she was able to get back on her feet, so to speak, and flourish.

Max and Abby’s relationship, if you can call it that took a back seat for me. Max and Abby weren’t together very often in the story and that a bit frustrating. He saved her at one point and they kissed but other than some small talks and a few heated looks there wasn’t much too it. He was running all over doing this and that and I’m sad to say that while I liked their characters I didn’t feel the connection between the two of them.

As I normally like Gracie’s books so much I will be reading the next book in this series to see what happens next.

Rating: 3 out of 5

You can read more from Tracy at Tracy’s Place

This book is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format. This book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,