Author: Alyssa Day

Review: The Cursed by Alyssa Day

Posted October 23, 2019 by Holly in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: The Cursed by Alyssa DayReviewer: Holly
The Cursed by Alyssa Day
Narrator: Xe Sands
Series: League of the Black Swan #1
Publisher: Berkley, Self-Published
Publication Date: May 7, 2013
Format: Audiobook
Source: Audible Escape
Point-of-View: Alternating Third
Cliffhanger: View Spoiler »
Content Warning: View Spoiler »
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Fantasy
Pages: 282
Length: 8 hours and 1 minute
Add It: Goodreads
Reading Challenges: GoodReads Challenge, Holly's 2019 GoodReads Challenge
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
two-half-stars
Series Rating: three-stars

New York Times bestselling author of the Warriors of Poseidon series Alyssa Day returns with a thrilling new series of paranormal romance and a heated battle between good and evil fought to the death on the streets of New York…

Bordertown private investigator Luke Oliver’s beat is the dimensional fold in Manhattan between the human and supernatural realms. But now a secret from his past—the League of the Black Swan—has surfaced. Because Luke isn’t any ordinary P.I. He’s the Dark Wizard of Bordertown, and he never backs down from a fight.

But this time the fight threatens his life and his heart. Rio Jones, the only woman he loved, needs his help against a deadly menace. Luke pushed her away once before, so she’d never fall prey to the curse that threatens to destroy him. He swore he’d never let her go again.

Luke and Rio, with the help of the newly reformed League, must keep evil forces from taking over Bordertown—all the while battling a passion on the razor’s edge between danger and desire. And going to take everything they have just to stay alive.

I discovered The Cursed by Alyssa Day while browsing Audible Escape and decided to give it a go. Shortly after I checked the author’s website to see the series had been cancelled by the publisher and no follow up book has been released. The description says this does not end in a cliffhanger, so I continued on with it. While there isn’t technically a cliffhanger, the story is left open and I’d have liked answers to some of the questions left open.

When Rio Jones witnesses a young girl being kidnapped in Bordertown – a place full of magical beings between the Realm and San Francisco – she knows she needs help. She goes to Luke Oliver, the Dark Wizard of Bordertown. The PI is sexy as sin, but has made it clear he isn’t interested. She doesn’t want to go to him, but she knows he’s the only man who can help. Luke turned Rio down for her own good, but he knows he isn’t strong enough to walk away from her twice. When she requests his help, he knows he’ll do anything he can to keep her safe – and to keep her around.

The world was interesting and the early chapters really pulled me in. I enjoyed Rio and Luke, both, as well as the secondary characters. As the story wore on, I became more and more frustrated with the way Rio and Luke both put their heads in the sand and refused to deal with all the questions concerning Rio’s past. Everyone but her seemed to know who she was and what was coming, but rather than follow up they both just sort of ignored everything. Plus, the way things were glossed over about Luke’s “curse” and how quick both of them were to storm off in a huff was annoying.

I really liked certain aspects of the book, and I would have read another had it been available, but overall this was a pretty underwhelming listen.

Rating: 2.75 out of 5

League of the Black Swan

two-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Throwback Thursday Guest Review: Vampire in Atlantis by Alyssa Day

Posted August 15, 2019 by Tracy in Reviews | 2 Comments

Throwback Thursday Guest Review: Vampire in Atlantis by Alyssa DayReviewer: Tracy
Vampire in Atlantis by Alyssa Day
Series: Warriors of Poseidon #7
Also in this series: Atlantis Awakening (Warriors of Poseidon, #2)
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: June 7, 2011
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 311
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
three-stars
Series Rating: four-stars

The most unexpected of all allies to Poseidon's warriors has proven to be the fiercest-Daniel, a vampire and Night Guild mage. But even the strongest alliance can be destroyed when a vampire's oath crosses paths with a maiden's quest, and an eleven-thousand-year-old desire is reborn.

Ready to face the dawn and die after 11,000 years as a vampire, Daniel walks into the Reflecting Pool on the Washington Mall and ends up in Atlantis, at the mercy of Serai, a long-dead warrior princess he could never forget.

Yet Serai is not dead. Centuries earlier she and several others had been magically put into suspended animation to ensure the continuation of the Atlanteans. But the magical jewel that keeps them safe has been stolen, and, now awake, Serai must find it to save the other sleeping women.

Together, Daniel and Serai search for the stone and renew their relationship, stalked by an evil that isn't about to let them succeed.

*** Every Thursday, we’ll be posting throwback reviews of our favorite and not-so-favorite books. Enjoy! ***

This review was originally posted on Nov 15, 2011.

Daniel was just a blacksmith’s apprentice in Atlantis when he met the beautiful Serai. It was love at first sight and they longed to be together. Unfortunately many things happened to keep them apart. Atlantis was attacked, Daniel turned into a vampire, Atlantis submerged into the ocean and Serai put into stasis to one day be awoken to marry High Prince Conlan.

Eleven thousand years have passed since that time. Daniel is ready to face the dawn and end it all when he finds himself not only alive but in Atlantis and facing the women he thought long dead. He is mesmerized once again and eager to help her with whatever she needs.

Serai broke out of the stasis but she doesn’t want to be put in and knows she must get out of Atlantis immediately. She was told that Daniel died all those years ago and when he appears before her she’s shocked. They fight together to find a gem from Poseidon’s trident, the Emporer, and try to save the other women in stasis.

This is book 7 in this series and my least favorite of the bunch. While it was an interesting story to a point and continued the overall story arc that will be concluded in future books, it just lacked that extra something that made it captivating. The story was good but I found myself kind of well, bored at points.

I really liked Daniel and of course Serai was a strong female character but they were a bit melodramatic for me. Yes, I know that they’d been apart and thought the other dead – I would probably be very vocal about my feelings too if that happened…but it just didn’t have a truly realistic feel to me.

While the story was good and had a bit of an extra romance with the vampire Nicholas and the witch Ivy it unfortunately just fell a bit short from the other books in the series.

Rating: 3 out of 5

This book is available from Berkley. You can buy it here or here in e-format.

three-stars


Tagged: , , , , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ autographed Alyssa Day Giveaway)

Posted July 6, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 6 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I just started Vampire’s Faith by Rebecca Zanetti which is the final book in the Dark Protectors series. I didn’t realize that there was a four year gap between the seventh and eighth book. It does make me wonder if this series is going to continue. I so adore it and I will be crushed if it doesn’t. It always works out that way, though, doesn’t it?

After I’m done with this book I have to start the books in the Summer Reading Challenge. Unfortunately.

Holly: I finished listening to Diamond Bay by Linda Howard. I enjoyed the narrator and the story itself is always wonderful. It’s surprising how well it holds up considering it was first published in the early 90s. I also re-read Saving Grace by Julie Garwood. I’m currently rereading Cry No More by Linda Howard. I forced talked Tracy into reading it for the first time and said I’d read along with her. I love this book so much, but man does it hurt to read it.

For new reads this week, I finished Midnight Valentine by J.T. Geissinger finally. I started it weeks ago but kept getting distracted by other things. I really loved the first 3/4 of the book, but it took a dark turn there at the end I didn’t really expect. It was a good book overall, but that last 1/4 was…kind of a lot. I didn’t finish it feeling as warm and fuzzy as I thought I would. I also finished Iron and Magic by Ilona Andrews. I kept putting off reading it because I was afraid of how Hugh’s story would turn out. He’s a villain. Kind of. Definitely an anti-hero. In the end I loved it, though. He’ll always be bad, but the story was really good.

For our Summer Reading Challenge, I read Raphael by D.B. Reynolds and The Trouble with Love by Lauren Layne. I did’t care for Raphael at all. Why Casee thought I’d enjoy that TSTL heroine is beyond me. I did enjoy the Layne, however. It was a cute contemporary romance. Now Rowena is trying to convince me I need to read all the other books in the series. Like my TBR pile isn’t big enough? I did start listening to Someone Like You, though.

I think I’m going to start Archangel’s Prophecy by Nalini Singh next. I got an ARC yesterday. I was hoping to save it until next week when I’m on vacation, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. I can’t wait that long.

Rowena: It’s been a busy week for me so my reading suffered a bit but I did get some books read. I finished The Accidentals by Sarina Bowen and enjoyed it. I knew that I’d enjoy it because Sarina Bowen is always fire. After that, I started my first book in our Summer Reading Challenge. I read Coming Undone by Lauren Dane from Holly’s list and I’m happy to report that I thoroughly enjoyed that one and have put the rest of the series on my TBR list.

I’m getting ready to start The Real Deal by Lauren Blakely and I’m hopeful that it will be good. Oh, I’m also listening to The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas because I want to watch the movie (my Samoan boy KJ Apa is in this one). This book is intense. After this, I’ll be reading Every Time You Go Away by Beth Harbison and A Duke by Default by Alyssa Cole. I’m excited.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ autographed Alyssa Day Giveaway)January in Atlantis (Poseidon's Warriors #1) by Alyssa Day
Series: Poseidon's Warriors #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 172
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

When Poseidon’s elite warriors gear up to train a new generation of fighters, they have no idea that Atlantean Queen Riley has secretly taken on a new role: Matchmaker. By the end of the year, she plans to find soul mates for all twelve of Atlantis’s fiercest warriors... whether they like it or not.

Twelve all-new adventures in the hotly anticipated world of Poseidon's Warriors, coming once a month from New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Day. These books are sexy, romantic, and wickedly addictive —welcome to 2018! And welcome to: A Year in Atlantis!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What Are You Reading: January in Atlantis by Alyssa Day

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Kieran Kramer Giveaway)

Posted June 22, 2018 by Holly in Features, Giveaways | 5 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: I am obsessed with the Dark Protectors series by Rebecca Zanetti. Obsessed. I took a break to read Ocean Light by Nalini Singh, but went right back to the DP series. I’m currently on the fourth book which is Consumed. I can’t put it down. I’m an early to bed type of person (to which Holly and Rowena can attest), but I’m actually staying up late to read. I haven’t done that in years. Nothing has held my interest that much.

I’ll be sad when it’s over.

Holly: This week I finished up my re-read of the Kate Daniels series with Magic Binds. I’m all caught up and very eager to read Magic Triumphs in August.

I read Shadow’s Edge and Edge of Oblivion by J.T. Geissinger, an Urban Fantasy series. I enjoyed book 2 more than book 1. I almost started book 3, but I ended up starting Midnight Valentine instead. It’s a contemporary romance and I’m loving it.

I also reread Giving Chase and Taking Chase by Lauren Dane. I snagged the refreshed version of Giving Chase (along with the audio add-on) a few weeks ago when it was on sale for $0.99. It’s been awhile since I read the series and I ended up falling right into it. So good! I’ll probably read the next two books right away.

Rowena: My reading slowed down some this week but it’s all good. I finished up Ocean Light by Nalini Singh, which I enjoyed a lot more than I was expecting considering all of my friends didn’t love it the way we normally do but it was good to me. After that, I started Wicked and the Wallflower by Sarah MacLean and I’m almost done. It’s Felicity from The Day of the Duchess and I so love Felicity. I still completely adore her and am enjoying this read so I should be done tonight.

Next up is One Small Thing by Erin Watt. I really enjoyed the last standalone of theirs that I read so I’m really excited about this one.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Kieran Kramer Giveaway)A Wedding At Two Love Lane by Kieran Kramer
Series: Two Love Lane #2
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: January 2, 2018
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 346
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

Never say never when it comes to love.

Greer Jones has made a real name for herself at the elegant matchmaking agency Two Love Lane. For a lot of reasons--including a past engagement she broke off--practical tech expert Greer is more interested in the business of love than the experience of it, but she can't help but covet a gorgeous wedding gown that's the prize in an upcoming cocktail-party contest. In a moment of brazen inspiration, Greer asks a handsome Brit she's only just met to accompany her to the party. He agrees--and Greer believes her date is a starving artist. Little does she know the truth. . .

Ford Smith, as he calls himself, is actually Stanford Elliott Wentworth Smythe, the Eighth Baron of Wickshire. Fresh off a breakup with a money-grubbing siren who deceived him all the way to the altar, Ford has no desire to fall in love--especially with Greer who, like the desired wedding gown, is beautiful but only skin-deep. But soon Ford realizes that there's more to Greer than meets the eye. Her professionalism is matched only by her passion for life and love. . .and, best of all, she has no idea that he's to the manor born. Could it be that true love is priceless after all?

What Are You Reading: A Wedding at Two Love Lane

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , ,

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Paranormal Giveaway)

Posted May 4, 2018 by Casee in Features, Giveaways | 8 Comments

WAYR-New

Casee: This has not been a strong reading week for me. I have a lot of things going on this month and I don’t think that I will get a lot of reading time. I’m still reading Order of Protection by Lexi Blake. I haven’t gotten any further into it then I was last week. Which is about two sentences.

Holly: I was traveling over the weekend and unable to read. Which is a total bummer because spent about 90 billion hours in the car. I get really carsick, so I can’t read, and my poor husband feels abandoned when I listen to audiobooks. All that wasted reading time.

I read The Hookup by Erin McCarthy. It wasn’t bad, but I did struggle with the short time frame of the romance. It was something like 5 days. I liked the angst, however. I also read Planet Dragos by Thea Harrison, an upcoming novella. I love Dragos and Pia, and I’m always happy to return to them as a couple. The events in this book make me very excited for the next full-length installment. Right now I’m reading Rock Chick Reborn by Kristen Ashley, a novella featuring Shirleen Jackson, whom we met in earlier Rock Chick and Chaos novels. I was really excited to see her get an HEA, but I’m struggling with the story. She was written a certain way in all the other books, and her personality is lacking here. I’ll finish it, but I’m not loving it.

I think I’ll read The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang next. I’ve been hearing wonderful things about it.

Rowena: My reading has picked up some and boy am I happy about that. I have review books that need to be reviewed so I’m glad to finally be making some progress on that. I finished The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo and that was as cute as can be. After that, I read Rumor Has It by Jessica Lemmon which was another great read in her Real Love series. Barrett and Catarina were fun.

Right now, I’m finishing up Regrets Only by Erin Duffy and it’s an interesting story about a woman finding her way after catching her husband cheating on her. She’s got a small child, she can’t move back home to Chicago (she’s in Connecticut right now) and she’s got to deal with what’s in front of her, find a way to move on. I want to pull her hair most of the time because she does a lot of stupid shit that doesn’t help her at all but I know she’ll get it. She’ll get there. I’m also reading Airports, Exes, and Other Things I’m Over by Shani Petroff and so far, that one is cute too.

Up next is Hooked on You by Kate Meader. I can’t freaking wait to dig into Bren and Violet’s romance. I’m so anxious.

Giveaway Alert

We are very fortunate here at Book Binge. We have loads and loads of books to read and we want to share the wealth so each week, we’ll be tacking on a Freebie Friday giveaway to our What Are You Reading posts. This week, we’re giving away…

What Are You Reading? (+ Autographed Paranormal Giveaway)January in Atlantis by Alyssa Day
Series: Poseidon's Warriors #1
Publisher: Self-Published
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Point-of-View: Third Person
Genres: Paranormal Romance
Pages: 172
Add It: Goodreads
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books

When black sheep Flynn returns to Atlantis after more than a decade away, he discovers that his brothers thought he was dead and moved on with their lives. But before he can wrap his brain around that problem, Poseidon himself taps Flynn to be one of a new generation of elite warriors. Now he only has to: learn how to be part of a team, rescue a group of kidnapped girls from the Hell’s Dark Angels motorcycle gang, and try to understand why a certain red-haired bartender with an affinity for animals is driving him mad…

Eva Calandar needs to run. Again. Her ex-boyfriend, a black magic practitioner, has tracked her down. Again. But she might be the key to rescuing a group of girls from becoming human sacrifices, and there’s a certain astonishingly hot Atlantean warrior with a fierce protective instinct who is making her think longing thoughts of finally making a stand.

Together, they’re so much stronger than they were apart, but the heat between them may be enough to burn down the world.

No matter what the temperature is in January . . . in Atlantis.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What are you reading this week? Any new favorites or books that drove you crazy? Share!


Tagged: , , , ,