Review: I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

Posted October 31, 2018 by Casee in Reviews | 1 Comment

Review: I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren LayneReviewer: Casee
I Wish You Were Mine (Oxford, #2) by Lauren Layne
Narrator: Lucy Malone
Series: Oxford #2
Also in this series: I Think I Love You (Oxford, #5), Irresistibly Yours (Oxford, #1), Someone like You (Oxford, #3)
Publisher: Loveswept
Publication Date: February 2, 2016
Format: Audiobook
Source: Purchased
Point-of-View: Third
Genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 260
Length: 8 hours, 43 minutes
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Ripped Bodice | Google Play Books
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Perfect for fans of Alice Clayton and Emma Chase, Lauren Layne’s Oxford series heats up in this story of forbidden desire as a brooding jock hoping for a comeback falls for a woman who’s strictly off-limits.

A year ago, Jackson Burke was married to the love of his life and playing quarterback for the Texas Redhawks. Now he’s retired, courtesy of the car accident that ruined his career—and single, after a nasty scandal torpedoed his marriage. Just as he’s starting to get used to his new life as a health and fitness columnist for Oxford magazine, his unpredictable ex shows up on his doorstep in Manhattan. Jackson should be thrilled. But he can’t stop thinking about the one person who’s always been there for him, the one girl he could never have: her younger sister.

Mollie Carrington can’t say no to Madison. After all, her older sister practically raised her. So when Madison begs for help in winning her ex-husband back, Mollie’s just glad she got over her own crush on Jackson ages ago—or so she thought. Because as Mollie reconnects with Jackson, she quickly forgets all her reasons to stay loyal to her sister. Tempted by Jackson’s mellow drawl and cowboy good looks, Mollie is sick and tired of coming in second place. But she can’t win if she doesn’t play the game.

I’ve only read the first three books of this series, but this is my least favorite of the three. It wasn’t that I disliked the characters, because I didn’t. I liked Jackson. I liked Mollie. I liked Jackson and Mollie together. Until I remembered that they used to be in-laws. Then it kind of gave me the ick factor. I don’t know why. It just did.

Jackson Burke was a first round draft pick, all star, loves the game of football, football player. That all changes when a truck hits a car he’s in when he is heading to practice. Now he is stuck with an injury that forces him out of the game he loves and into a new life that he doesn’t love. Moving from Houston to New York is only a temporary thing. Working for Oxford as the editor of their Fitness column is only something he is doing until he can go back and coach the Redhawks.

Mollie Carrington fell in love with Jackson the day her sister married him. She was only eighteen at the time, but she knew he was the only one for her. That didn’t change during the time he was married to Madison. Not blind to her sister’s faults, Molly knew it was Jackson that was responsible for the invitation for her to move in during grad school. Knew it was Jackson that bought her Christmas gifts. As much as she loved her sister, she knew exactly who she was.

When his career ending injury brings him to New York, Mollie doesn’t see it as anything other than a chance to reconnect with a friend. Then she finds herself moving into his apartment. Being the roommate of Jackson Burke is the last thing she ever thought she would find herself being. Now she has a front row seat to her sister trying to win Jackson back while she falls even deeper for the man himself.

As Jackson and Mollie find themselves more attracted to each other each day, neither can deny what they feel for each other. As they start an affair, Jackson knows he needs to tell Molly that he’s not in New York for good. Mollie needs to tell Jackson that she feels more than lust for him.

Then it all blows up. Of course it does. There were a few things. Although Mollie knew Madison’s faults, she was blind to a lot of things. Like Madison looked at Molly as a burden. She was a raving, selfish, shrew. Omg, I wanted to smack the bitch. Seriously. Jackson did come to his senses faster than I thought he would, which was a relief because if he didn’t, it would have dropped my grade for this book. The narrator was pretty good, so that was also a plus. All in all, I would suggest you don’t skip this book.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Oxford

three-half-stars


Tagged: , , , , , ,

One response to “Review: I Wish You Were Mine by Lauren Layne

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.