Review: Against the Wall by Jill Sorenson

Posted February 3, 2016 by Rowena in Reviews | 0 Comments

Review: Against the Wall by Jill SorensonReviewer: Rowena
Against the Wall by Jill Sorenson
Published by Random House Publishing Group
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
Genres: Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 278
Buy on Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Goodreads
four-stars

Fans of Katie McGarry, Simone Elkeles, and Tammara Webber will love Against the Wall!

As teenagers, they fell for each other despite the odds. But now that Eric and Meghan are all grown up, they’re reunited by fierce passion and dangerous secrets.  

Eric Hernandez is the bad boy of every schoolgirl’s fantasies—and every mother’s nightmares. But after serving time for manslaughter, he’s ready to turn his life around. He just needs a chance to prove himself as a professional tattoo artist. The one thing that keeps him going is the memory of the innocent beauty he loved and left behind.  

Meghan Young’s world isn’t as perfect as it looks. The preacher’s daughter is living a lie, especially now that Eric is back. Tougher, harder, and sexier than ever, he might be the only person she can trust. But there’s no telling what he’ll do to protect her if he learns the truth, and that’s a risk Meghan won’t let him take. And yet, back in the arms of the troubled boy with the artist’s soul, Meghan can’t help surrendering to the man he’s become.  

Praise for Jill Sorenson   “Jill Sorenson’s sleek sensuality and fresh new voice are sure to score big with readers.”New York Times bestselling author Cindy Gerard   “With Jill Sorenson, you are guaranteed a dangerously addictive, gut-wrenchingly fast-paced read.”New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Tyler  

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

That was what I looked like when I first heard that Meghan and Eric were getting their own book. When I heard that they were a little older, Eric was out of jail and they were finally going to get their shit together and work toward that happy ending.

happy sigh

I was a fan of their secondary romance in The Edge of Night and I hoped that that wasn’t the last we saw of both Eric and Meghan so this was like a dream come true for me.

I’m happy to report that Jill Sorenson won me over yet again with Eric and Meghan’s story. I loved their characters so much from The Edge of Night that getting their story front and center was such a treat for me and I thought Sorenson did a fantastic job of bringing their characters into the lime-light because they shined.

Eric just got out of jail for manslaughter and is staying with April and Noah until he can figure something else out and he’s staying in Meghan’s old room. Noah isn’t too happy with the situation since he’s not wild about Eric and how Eric broke his sister’s heart but April’s happiness is high on Noah’s priority list and she wants Eric there so Eric is staying, whether he wants it or not. Eric isn’t too happy about the arrangement either but he’s got nowhere else to go so he’s just as stuck as Noah is.

Eric is still in love with Meghan but knows that that ship has sailed, considering she’s in a relationship with some new guy named Chip. He knew that he lost her the minute he shut her down, making sure she didn’t wait for him but he wasn’t prepared for the intense feelings to resurface as if they had never gone away, just from seeing her again after all of these years.

He tries to move on from her but they’re destined to be together and the chemistry that sizzled between them all those years ago is still there and after a while, it’s dumb to keep fighting it so seeing them get back to where they were all those years ago warmed my heart. These two had their own issues they needed to figure out and while it was hard to read through at times (Meghan’s whole deal with Chip and seeing Eric struggle to find his footing and trying to stay straight after being in prison), I just enjoyed the entire thing. I loved seeing these two figure their issues out way back in The Edge of Night but seeing them as grown ups now and seeing them find each other again and fall in love again? LOVE!

Eric and Meghan’s story wormed its way into my heart and I’m so happy with their story. I definitely recommend.

Grade: 4 out of 5

four-stars

Leave a Reply